We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trusted Trip Advisor - and would stay here again”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Trusted Trip Advisor - and would stay here again”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This placed really looked questionable from the outside - an old motel next to a 7-Eleven! The lobby was clean and neat. Interior hallway carpeting could stand replacement or steam cleaning BUT the room was VERY CLEAN, freshly painted, huge! and had a VERY comfortable bed! I'm looking for CLEAN, cheap and convenient and this place excelled in the first two and was only 4 miles from downtown Bay City.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuckwud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarendraP657, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aashish Patel
GM
Econolodge, Bay City
989-402-1505
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
30
30
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

An economy motel that is right off the interstate. Be aware of bridge construction on I-75 southbound in Saginaw. As of May 2013 when we visited, the bridge southbound was closed, but despite signs saying expect a long delay, it was a breeze using the short beltway around Saginaw. As for the motel, it is worn, but clean. There were stains on the chairs in the room, and some on the worn carpet, but the room was clean, and it turned out to be quiet. The only downside was the smell of cooking! We saw someone leaving with a pressure cooker. That was a little disconcerning, but explained the cooking smell.WiFi worked ok for checking email, get the code from the front desk. The continental breakfst was typical fare, cold cereal, waffle machine, assorted fruit, and pastries. Looking to save a few bucks in a clean motel, this place works. As the saying goes, they all look alike when your eyes are closed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendra P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Bay City.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This one looked like a dud from the road - actually it looked abandoned - but no it is a going concern. It seems to be in the midst of a modest renovation. My room was clean and well sized. The older TV worked fine and had a good range of channels. For good and bad it is close to the highway - but not that close to other things - such as restaurants. I like to review these places because I often wonder - is that $50 place going to be OK? This one was.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank localguy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendra P, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
GM
Econolodge
989-402-1505
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is an old Howard Johnson's property in need of work but at a rock bottom price it gets the job done if you are traveling interstate 75 and need clean bed and shower.
Pros:
Clean room and bath, hot water at pressure, micro/fridge, iron, table and chairs, comfortable king bed with new style sheets and blanket without old style comforter that never gets cleaned, TV 25 inch, coffee maker, all day coffee in lobby, quiet and cool A/C.
Cons:
Hallway moldy odor, no locks on exterior doors, TV OK but could have more channels, old property.
Conclusion:
We had room 108 and there were no complaints. Comfortable bed and good nights sleep. This hotel came in at half price of another property down the highway. Don't let the outside looks move you on. Ask to see a room before making a decision. This property is feet from the interstate 75 ramp and there is a 7-Eleven next door.

Room Tip: Always ask to see a room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank George_and_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendra P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
GM
Econolodge
989-402-1505
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bay City hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#4 of 14 in Bay City
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 6285 Westside Saginaw Rd, Bay City, MI 48706-9385 (Formerly Valu Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econolodge Bay City is one of the better hotel choices in Bay City. The amenities are first rate with very comfortable accommodations.Easy access on/off Interstate 75, exit 54 rooms with both interior and exterior entrances, and business class rooms, free incoming/outgoing faxes, and free continental breakfast with 3 kinds of cereals, orange juice, 24 hours coffee, donuts, muffins, honey bun, bread ,peanut butter, Bagels, Hot waffles. All rooms offer free high-speed Internet, free HBO and expanded cable, and free long distance calls in US. The hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants like The Bergers, McDonald, Burger King, Subway, etc., And few miles to several downtown restaurants, waterfront and shopping four miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bay City
Bay City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing