We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Bay City.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was freat. The restaurant was great....Although they did make one mistake on an order by a coworker. We had a group of over 30 so it was a small oversight. The hotel rooms were spacious with a great view of Saginaw Bay. The weight room needs updates and adding a sauna would be a huge plus!!!

Still a great hotel in a great location!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firsttimeSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 928 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed at Doubletree By Hilton Bay City - Riverfront on a Saturday night for a wedding at this hotel. The staff were excellent and the hotel inside and outside was absolutely beautiful. The only issue I had was with the overly rude security. They were rude and it was completely unnecessary. I cannot believe how they treated guests.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a lovely facility, very clean and the employees are very friendly. We stayed a different brand hotel the night before, for the same rate, and they were not even comparable. I would recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lauren K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Your personnel are polite and generally efficient. They make up for a lack of clear understanding of how to serve and clear tables with their smiles and a good attitude. Major deficiency : while the installation is clean and well-kept it is not built with the highest quality in terms of design and materials. You can hear through the walls and the structure just looks a bit cheap. Hilton could invest more in quality building. Otherwise it is a very pleasant location and we enjoyed our stay. Thanks and best of luck to Doubletree Bay City. - Mason Duede

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Mason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieThompson, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Mason Duede~
Although typically I thank our guests for taking some time to write their reviews and then take action and address specific complaints if made, I feel that your review is a bit unfair and does not represent our hotel well at all. We are very proud of the condition of our facililty and it is, in fact, a great representation of our DoubleTree brand. We have been inspected by Hilton representatives at least once per year, every year, and always receive the highest marks compared to our own counterparts. Our restaurant is also listed in the top 5 restaurants in our area on TripAdvisor. I did relay your comments to our Food and Beverage director as far as your experience. I am truly dissappointed that you didn't feel that we were up to par with our service levels and we will continue, as always, to work towards exceeded expectations for 100% of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Very limited options in Bay City so we chose this hotel. $130 per night for 6 nights.
Surprised upon check in to find the room with two beds were double beds not queen. We have not actually ever seen this before, but we went with it and my wife and I shared a double bed which is slightly tight for two adults.
Room large and clean (more than enough room for two Queen beds) with the "city view"
Quiet enough (Bay City is not exactly a hot spot for evening entertainment) but our East facing room took a lot of bright sun in the AM and the black out curtains needed a chair in front of them to stay closed.
$12 (with 20% tip included) will get you a pot of weak and luke warm coffee in the morning, the food at the restaurant is marginal and certainly nothing worth noting. The musical entertainment for Thursday evening played for only one hour and folded up and left. They were not very good.

I went to the front desk and bought some feminine products for my wife this morning only to get back to the room and find that it was not of the type that she was able to use, so back out to the nearest convenience store to get the proper type. When we left I asked the desk of we could return the unopened package and the clerk had to check with the manager who said "no returns for gift shop purchases". We laughed and told the desk clerk to keep them when he tried to hand them back. Only a $5 or $6 item but very disappointing that they would not think enough of their guests to allow the return of an unopened package after less than one hour.
I am sure that the box is back on the shelf and the manager is happy for having improved the bottom line for $5 for the day, quite a wise move.

If you are going to come to Bay City stay at Bay Valley Resort. It is only about 20 min from down town (what is left of it which is not much) the rates are better, there are more amenity's, the restaurant is better and they treat their guests as though they actually appreciate their business. I know that we will not stay here at Double Tree again

Room Tip: pay for river view, city view sucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterHill001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieThompson, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear MisterHill001~
Thank you so much for taking some time to write your review. We always pass along feedback throughout the various departments in our hotel so we can work to improve guest service.
I did want to address your statement regarding the complimentary patio entertainment. We have a couple of different acts that we hire on a regular basis and they always play at least two hours. You may have come at the tail end of Empty Canvas' performance. We have received rave reviews from our guests and plan on having them continue in the Fall and return next year. I know that entertainment is not going to appeal to everyone all of the time, so I am sorry you didn't care for them.

I passed along your concerns regarding your gift shop purchase of feminine products and we will reconsider our return policy, although we do clearly state that all purchases are not returnable.

I am happy to discuss your stay and concerns more in person if you choose. I can be reached at 989-460-1702 or at Leslie.Thompson@Hilton.com Of course, we would love to have you come back and prove to you that we are truly the best option to stay with in Bay City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

It is called location, location and they do not have to worry about how they treat their guest. We travel extensively (200 nights minimum a year) and I have never been treated so shabbily!! We stayed using hilton points and for some reason the hilton hotels will give you the worst of the worst of rooms. Hilton has a problem with people using these points at their resort type properties. And I am a diamond member with Hilton!! NEVER have this trouble at a Westin!! The hotel was well maintained and our room was clean/nice. Comfortable bed-linen.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a river view!! Do not get a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

A modern building in the center of down town Bay City

Surrounded by plenty of shops, bars and cafes

The building is a modern style and spotlessly clean

A warm welcome from reception greets you (and a warm cookie)

The rooms are huge, clean and tidy.

All staff met were polite and courteeous

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taur033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#5 of 14 in Bay City
62 reviews
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#6 of 14 in Bay City
146 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront

Address: 1 Wenonah Park Pl, Bay City, MI 48708-5658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range: $152 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Bay City-Riverfront on the east bank of the Saginaw River in the heart of historic downtown Bay City, Michigan, offers the perfect location and ambiance for business and pleasure travel. Centrally located within the greater tri-city area of Midland, Bay City, and Saginaw, just two miles east of I-75 off of US-10, our hotel provides easy access to MBS International Airport, area corporations, and leisure attractions. Historic and prosperous, Bay City has retained its charm and is known for its antique shops, boutiques, pubs and eateries which are all within walking distance from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bay City Riverfront Hotel Bay City
Bay City Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing