We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Floaters in the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Would never stay here again. Hotel is advertised along Bay City "River Walk". Literally it is 1 block of pavement by the water like any other street. Town is run down - a lot of businesses are closed. Only found 3 stores which were open. River walk is through the town, not by the water. On a good note: putt putt golf on the other side of the river was fun - has ice cream, hot dogs by the marina. Staff were rude and there was feces floating in the pool. Worst start to a vacation! We only stayed one night and left. Nothing to do in Bay City. AC is so loud in the room you can't sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank relnrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieThompson, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for taking some time to provide feedback on our hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not absolutely thrilled with your stay. It sounds like you may have tried to visit the shopping areas in the evening. It is very typical of downtown businesses to be closed on some evenings, but our restaurants and pubs typically stay open late every night of the week.

As far as your complaint about "feces in the pool"- I will tell you that it is completely out of our control when an accident occurs but we do everything in our power to drain the pool, disinfect and get it back up and running as soon as possible, as we did in this particular occurence.

I am also a bit baffled on your complaint about the riverwalk. It is a beautiful area on both sides of the river that compliments our hotel quite nicely. It will continue to extend well past the bridge as our newest area of downtown is developed over the next year called "Uptown at Rivers Edge". We are looking forward to that and hope maybe that would be a feature you will be interested in checking out again in the future.

Please feel free to contact me direct at Leslie.Thompson@hilton.com if there is anything I can do for you when considering a return visit such as checking our special events schedules, forwarding information on our downtown shopping, keeping you in the loop on future developments or simply making sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. I am happy to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 918 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel has the best service, best location and best rooms. Everyone you meet at this hotel is friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and clean and filled with everything you could possibly need. We booked this hotel for the view and it location near downtown, we will come back because of the service and it's quality rooms an ammenities. Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Carroll K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

excellent service in restaurants. great couples package with dinner and breakfast with no strings attached. interesting views of boardwalk and riverfront! nice little down to earth town to stroll around in. great catholic bookstore nearby. will definitely go again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice hotel and water view. Room wasn't ready at 3 pm but only had to wait an extra 10 minutes before checking in. Wedding reception there that evening was very nice. Room was comfortable and quiet. Always enjoy the warm chocolate chip cookies.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank kelly2085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was prepared to be blown away by this hotel. Its web site and pictures were wonderful. I drove to the parking lot and was not disappointed by the hotel However, I - contrary to what so many others have reviewed - thought the front desk staff was somewhat indifferent and borderline rude. There was no smile in the eyes or warmth in the voice (check in 6/23 early evening).
My room was so comfortable and the extra price for a river-view room was worth it. Room service was efficient and the food was very good.
My bed was so comfortable. I agree with an earlier post about the excellence of the pillows.
Bay City is an incredibly beautiful and historic city. I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are worth the extra charge.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieThompson, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

kate16
Thank you so much for your feedback. It sounds like overall, we met your expectations except for how you were greeted at our front desk. For that, I do apologize and want to assure you that I immediately contacted our Front Desk manager and let her know. We absolutely try our hardest to give our guests warmth and smiles when they walk through the door, so I am disappointed that you did not have that experience. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further if you have a quick moment. I can be reached at leslie.thompson@hilton.com or you can call my direct line at 989-460-1702. We sincerely hope to "blow you away" on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This Doubletree is great for service, location, friendliness, cleanliness, and of course the best warm cookies!! You can walk to a number of places for food, drinks, entertainment, or just sit by the river and relax!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mary Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It's not to often you can go to a Hotel and be met with friendly greetings from the entire staff, have the most comfortable bed to sleep in and pillows that are so comfortable you don't have to worry about taking your own. The river view is site to behold. You might not want to leave. If you go there on a business trip, take an extra day or two on your own to take in the sites and enjoy the town. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Nila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#5 of 14 in Bay City
57 reviews
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#6 of 14 in Bay City
144 reviews
17.9 mi away
The H Hotel
The H Hotel
#1 of 11 in Midland
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront

Address: 1 Wenonah Park Pl, Bay City, MI 48708-5658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range: $152 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Bay City-Riverfront on the east bank of the Saginaw River in the heart of historic downtown Bay City, Michigan, offers the perfect location and ambiance for business and pleasure travel. Centrally located within the greater tri-city area of Midland, Bay City, and Saginaw, just two miles east of I-75 off of US-10, our hotel provides easy access to MBS International Airport, area corporations, and leisure attractions. Historic and prosperous, Bay City has retained its charm and is known for its antique shops, boutiques, pubs and eateries which are all within walking distance from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bay City Riverfront Hotel Bay City
Bay City Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing