We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the DEQ out of our State Parks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay City State Recreation Area

Bay City State Recreation Area
MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get the DEQ out of our State Parks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

All the mandates the DEQ imposed on this park have totally ruined it. The ducks and geese can hang out in the Tobico Marsh. There's plenty of room for them there. As a kid I recall laying on a sandy beach that stretched for hundreds of feet along the park. Now we look at cat tail swamp and can barely catch a glimpse of the Bay. The cat tails catch all the silt and sludge that further contaminate our shore line in Bay City! The DEQ has prohibited them from cutting and maintaining the beach shore line. Thanks to the efforts of Ernie Krieger and the SOS group (Save Our Shoreline), they have returned some rights to the private property owners along the Bay. Suppoprt them! The stretch of beach you see here is WAY down on the north end of the park, almost out of the park. The shore is often filled with sediments and pollutants from farm run offs and highly contaminated Saginaw River. Be aware of ecoli alerts before swimmng there. Flint and Saginaw sewage plants overflow into the Saginaw River, bringing it to the mouth of the Saginaw River at the Bay. It's 2012 people!!! Who's paying off who, to avoid fixing the problem that has ruined our waterfront at this otherwise lovely park. The new splash zone is very nice. This way the kids can stay cool, have a blast and not contract a deadly disease from the Bay.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DeceivedinMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    41
    21
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newborn, Georgia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Free is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Not sure if they usually charge to get into this state park, but there wasn't anyone manning the gate when we came through = FREE.

We took a trail through the woods to the beach at Lake Huron. Beach is comprised of large grains of sand and bunches of crushed small shells. There was also a "MUCK" warning posted. Apparently this "muck" is a mixture of fecal bacteria and other nastyness that they advice not exposing to skin. We avoided this foamy/mucky stuff, but still walked along the chilly shoreline. Workers were there errecting another pavillion and/or playground. Overall the park was clean and very well kept. Worth a trip just to walk along the shore on a lazy afternoon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank garliclover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a great place for a quick mile walk around the lagoon. Highly recommend a visit. Paved trail with lots of birds.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kle2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Camping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We camped at Bay City this past weekend. Although the attendant seemed uninterested when we checked-in, the time spent at the campground was very good. The sites are very large and shaded. Please note: Due to sharing the electrical boxes, you may need 50' of power cord to plug in.

We were in the area for the car show in Frankenmuth, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the campground. Bring your bikes as the campground is very level and the paths out to the bay look very pretty.

The best part was the restrooms. Very modern, extremely clean and a pleasure to use.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RJSJCSCamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good for camping or day visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This state park offers a lot: off-road bike/hike trails, a connection to a fun-to-ride bike path along the river and into the city, a wonderful nature center, and a good campground.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay City State Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Bay City State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing