We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Bay City State Recreation Area
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a great place for a quick mile walk around the lagoon. Highly recommend a visit. Paved trail with lots of birds.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kle2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    45
    22
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Camping”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We camped at Bay City this past weekend. Although the attendant seemed uninterested when we checked-in, the time spent at the campground was very good. The sites are very large and shaded. Please note: Due to sharing the electrical boxes, you may need 50' of power cord to plug in.

We were in the area for the car show in Frankenmuth, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the campground. Bring your bikes as the campground is very level and the paths out to the bay look very pretty.

The best part was the restrooms. Very modern, extremely clean and a pleasure to use.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RJSJCSCamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good for camping or day visit”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This state park offers a lot: off-road bike/hike trails, a connection to a fun-to-ride bike path along the river and into the city, a wonderful nature center, and a good campground.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We take the opportunity to camp a few times a year and this is one of our "must stay" places. I have become fond of the Bay City area and this campground is convenient to everything. The sites are very large, the showers clean. The restroom seems to get abused, but that is hardly the fault of the staff who are very friendly and knowledgeable. The visitor center is one of the best I've experienced in a campground.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Texas
1 review
“Beautiful Campground”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stopped here for the night. Our hitch for the 5th wheel broke so we will be here longer than expected. People here are very friendly and helpful. The park has lots of shade. Some sites are paved. Large sites so you don't feel like you're right on top of your neighbor.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SLGROAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay City State Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Bay City State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing