We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Sail”

Schooner Appledore IV BaySail
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Schooner Appledore IV sails on public excursions, private charters, group tours, K-12 education programs, corporate team building, dinner cruises, and stargazer sails on the Saginaw River and Saginaw Bay of Lake Huron. All sails depart from downtown Bay City. Sail with us and experience beautiful Lake Huron from the deck of an 85ft. Tall Ship. Space is limited. Reservations required. Feeling more adventurous? Contact us about Windward Bound, our weeklong youth Tall Ship training voyages -- your chance to leave the land behind and experience life on the Great Lakes!
Lebanon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sail”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We really enjoyed the lunch cruise. The crew was full of great stories and experiences and knew all about the area. The "lunch" itself (brown bag sandwiches, chips, cookie and drink) left a bit to be desired but wasn't horrible. Their educational mission is to be commended and would encourage anyone who hasn't been sailing on a tall ship to give it a try. This was a great introduction to it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sailing Bachelor Party”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

One leg of my friend's bachelor party was with Appledore IV BaySail, and we had a great time. We didn't get the cartered package, but they let us bring our own cooler with beer and water on board. The crew were great; friendly, outgoing, helpful... they let us participate in some of the rigging and putting sails up, taught us some knots, and even let several of us steer the ship for a while. We had lots of time to relax and goof-off too.
We were lucky it turned out to be a beautiful day, but joked that if it had rained we all would have just gone below deck and plays games in the galley. Terrific four hour tour. We kept joking that the groom should ask about overnight honeymoon packages...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Albakinesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My friends and i decided to do a "stay-cation" and explore all that Michigan has to offer. Going sailing was on the "do to" list. After much research we found Bay Sail. The sail boat was clean and being out on the water was very peaceful. I have a few suggestions that could improve the quality of the trip. I was really excited to read on their website that a history tour of Saginaw Bay would be shared. But quickly became very disappointed because the person who was sharing the info did not have a mic and it was very difficult to hear her. Also we were given bag lunches with out the option to choose. The choice randomly given was either turkey or ham. My friend who does not eat pork was told that they did not have any more lunches for her to get a turkey sandwich, luckily i'll eat either so i did not mind trading with her. Overall the trip was relaxing and we did take some great pics and i would go sailing again with this company.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Trip for the Family”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a beautiful day on the bay, and the crew was really great! Two adults and two 17 year olds and we all had a blast raising the sails, steering the ship and learning more about the area waters and challenges they face.
If I had any suggestion for improvement, it would be to hold the history section until the trolling motor is off as it was heard to hear Emily speak.
Bag lunch is included.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ci0cia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great outing for the whole family”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I went on the day sail. We had an awesome time on the boat! The information shared during the trip was hard to hear. Microphone would have helped. I would do it again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Appledore IV BaySail also viewed

 

Been to Schooner Appledore IV BaySail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing