We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Much Potential But Underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Firekeepers Casino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Battle Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
446 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“So Much Potential But Underwhelming”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were excited to visit this new property. The casino has been open for four years and finally the hotel opened a few months ago. 260 rooms and suites on 8 floors. Spacious lobby. Check-in isn't until 4PM which is too late. We showed up at 3PM and although there were plenty of rooms available, they made us wait.

The rooms are Holiday Inn Express quality with low end amenities, pillows and shower head. Coffee maker and coffee is so bad, bring your own.

There is a pool albeit only 3' deep and not good for lap swimming. The pool area has a large whirlpool, steam and sauna. But only a few lounge chairs so tough to relax. No changing room, showers or spa.

The fitness center has 5 machines and no weights. It is an embarrassment.

The hotel restaurant Smokin' Fire looks right out of 70's and the comfort level is about the same. We opted for breakfast (how bad can that be?) and it is pretty bad. The second day we left the hotel for breakfast (Pancake House in Battle Creek). It is like the architect and designers got together and said "How uncomfortable can we make this for our guests?"

The casino is top notch and features Nibi, their upscale restaurant and lounge. This is the highlight of the property. The buffet and food court are way too small and the buffet is not open for breakfast. No live entertainment although there is a conference center that features top acts on a monthly basis. There is a cabaret but did not visit.

No doubt this could be a four-star resort but for now, it's an upscale Quality Inn. Let's see if management listens to its guests and makes the necessary improvements.

Room Tip: Ask for one closest to the elevator as the hallways tend to be long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LGspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireKeepersCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi LGSpartan--We're sorry to learn about your disappointment with our hotel. We feel the sparkling reviews we generally receive on Trip Advisor and elsewhere indicate most guests genuinely appreciate our comfortable rooms and outstanding service. We are glad you favored the casino and hope you return to give the hotel another look in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    98
    30
    11
    20
See reviews for
58
189
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest-USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Came here for a 1-night stay. My husband went to check in at about 7 p.m.and came back out to the car to tell me they didn't have our reservation and that they were completely full. I had my confirmation number, so I went in to show it to them. They asked us to bring it up online, and took us to a room with a computer. I promptly brought up my confirmation letter to show them only to read that we were confirmed for the night before we arrived! I must have hit the wrong key or something, but the manager offered to try to get us a room at the nearby Quality Inn. We quickly checked TA and found that it had some negative reviews so we told him we didn't want to stay there. He also told us he had 16 outstanding rooms that had been offered to "club" members and that they had until 10 p.m. to claim them. He suggested we go into the casino and play, then check back at 10 for any available rooms. It was a gamble because we were 2-1/2 hours away from home and didn't want to search for rooms at that time of night or drive home, but we said ok. At 10, I checked with the front desk and, not only did they have a room for us, they gave us a suite on the top floor! We were ecstatic! The room was absolutely beautiful and clean, with 2 baths, a fireplace, a kitchen area, a separate living area and a bedroom. After we checked into our room, we proceeded to go back to the casino and have a great time. The next morning, we had a nice breakfast in their restaurant and happily headed home. Thanks to their manager, we will return again and recommend them to our friends. Thanks, Firekeepers, for working with us to turn a bad situation into a positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grewgirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireKeepersCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello grewgirl4--We love taking care of our guests! Very happy that everything worked out well and you stayed in a luxurious suite. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night on our way to Mackinac Island.
Wonderful service, clean and comfortable room. All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful.
We were disappointed we had to pay for our alcoholic drinks in the casino, but I should have researched it better before we went. Grab a drink at the little bar just before the elevators to the rooms, fast friendly service and the drinks were good.
I would visit again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne-Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireKeepersCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Suzanne--we appreciate your review. We're glad to learn you enjoyed your stay, our caring staff and your cozy room. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We live in the area, so get to spend a little time here pretty regularly. Not big-time gamblers, but still have fun here (of course its most fun when winning!) We do travel a bit and have been to most casinos in and around Michigan, and Firekeepers is a cut above most for size, service, and attractiveness. Would say slot payouts are a bit above average. Haven't tried the hotel since we live close, but hear good reviews. And take it from a foodie person, food is very good here, especially the buffet! Would say it is one of the best, and there is a nice $5 discount with your player's club card!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddin458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireKeepersCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for the glowing review Daddin458! Please come stay in the hotel--the quality matches our staff's service and food in the casino--and the games are close by! Hope to see you soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times with my husband & never had a problem till this last time. On July 30, 2013 we stayed at the hotel had a nice room just like in the past, things were great. My husband & I went to dinner, gambled a bit, went over to Four Winds Hartford for a while then back to Firekeepers. We had a great night sleep, woke up, I made coffee, my husband took a shower put on his cologne & I showered & sprayed cologne on our clothes from the night before to get the smoke smell out of them. So imagine our surprise when we was charged for a $250.00 cleaning fee for smoking in our room when neither one of us smoked ever. Then just try & get someone to resolve this NOPE just the run a round. Told them to pull up their cameras. We have stayed at several hotels-casinos & have NEVER been treated so poorly in trying to resolve a problem. They would have to do a hell of a lot to get us to come back. I just want our money back, plus, this is such an inconvenience. So if you are a NON-SMOKER PLEASE BEWARE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pittzburgh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireKeepersCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hello pittzburgh7,
After speaking with the Hotel Manager, I learned that this matter was resolved to your satisfaction with the $250 fully refunded. We apologize for any confusion and hope you visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo, ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I drive an hour and a half to Firekeepers as opposed to gambling here in my own home town. The casino is clean, they have a huge variety of slots, the employees are extremely friendly, and the hotel is AMAZING! I really get that "Vegas" feel while here, and the rewards are generous.

That being said, the thing that I absolutely HATE about it is the constant blaring of the music. It doesn't matter if you are in the casino at 3 p.m. or 3 a.m., the music is just over baring and WAY too loud. At places it is even impossible to have a conversation with the person sitting on a slot next to you without shouting. It is even piped into the restaurants, the restrooms, and out on the valet parking area. I know this is a casino, and it is supposed to have an upbeat atmosphere, but turning it down about 3 decimals would make it much more pleasant at times. The last time I visited, I really wanted to gamble more, but after 28 hours of the thumping music, I had to leave just to get some relief. Advil and a 1 and a 1/2 hour ride home without the radio on was glorious. Please turn the music down some, especially in the wee hours of the morning,which is my favorite time to gamble!!

Besides the constant music, I love this place and hope to come back soon and stay longer!!!!

Room Tip: Stayed 3 times and each room I had was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linea1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireKeepersCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi linnea1115,
We appreciate your sparkling review of FireKeepers Casino Hotel, the rooms and friendly staff. Thank you for "Getting Your Vegas On" at FireKeepers. Thank you as well for making us aware of your concerns with the music level. Upper management has been included in your message. We hope to see you again soon so we can continue to dazzle you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed one night. The casino and hotel are the best we have been to in the state of Michigan. We have been to every casino in the state. The staff was the the best. Dining was very good also. Played slots didn't win anything. Would I go back again in a heartbeat. The only thing I wish they would change is to broadcast the Detroit Tigers games to the rooms, Fox Detroit. Who in this state doesn't root for the Tigers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjpiche66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireKeepersCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi mjpiche66--So happy to know your enjoyed your stay. Your rating of "Best in State" certainly doesn't get much better! Friendliest staff, great food, new and fun games and a lovely and comfortable hotel all on site. I will pass on your request for Tiger games for the room TVs but there is always Dacey's Sports Bar in the interim. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battle Creek hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of Battle Creek
6.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Battle Creek Downtown
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
#5 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
#2 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#4 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firekeepers Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firekeepers Casino Hotel

Property: Firekeepers Casino Hotel
Address: 11177 Michigan Ave E, Battle Creek, MI 49014-8904
Location: United States > Michigan > Calhoun County > Battle Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Battle Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-awarded AAA Four-Diamond 243 room hotel features a variety of rooms perfect for any occasion. Guests can enjoy one of 217 Classic rooms that feature an array of amenities. The hotel also features 24 Deluxe and Fireside suites that include separate sitting areas and expansive bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs. For the ultimate in luxury, stay in one of our Presidential Suites, loaded with extravagant features inducing a granite wet bar, full kitchen and even a baby grand piano. The hotel also features an array of indulgent amenities including a multi-level pool, steam room and sauna, exercise room, business center, room service, dry cleaning and laundry service, and ADA accessible rooms. The events center features a 2,000 seat flexible space that can be used for corporate meetings and banquets. FireKeepers Casino Hotel features 2,900 of your favorite slot machines, 70 table games, 15 table Poker room, 500-seat live Bingo Room, four exciting bars and lounges, and six sizzling restaurants. Try our Wine Spectator awarded fine dining restaurant, Nibi, and sample a superbly prepared filet mignon or a variety of succulent seafood. Chi Mon-ee's and Amazen Blazen' feature grab n' go food that satisfies. Mijem buffet features a variety of delicious offerings including seafood, Asian, Italian and an array of desserts. Enjoy great comfort any time of day at Cafe 24/7. Our newest restaurant Smoke n' Fire features interesting barbeque eats, great for any pallet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Firekeepers Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing