We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good BBQ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hogzilla BBQ pit

Hogzilla BBQ pit
Ranked #23 of 160 Restaurants in Battle Creek
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: At Hogzilla BBQ we pride ourselves on serving good, honest BBQ using locally raised meats and produce from local farms in season.Our BBQ is smoked fresh daily, please understand that we do our best to anticipate demand, but occasionally we are caught short of a particular meat.Enjoy your meal,Sonny
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Hogzilla has really good brisket and pulled pork. They have good sauce, cornbread, and baked beans. I always enjoy grabbing carry out on my way home. It's not fancy, and kind of a funny name, but good BBQ. Portions are pretty large.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RNP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Catering --- FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hogzilla BBQ catered our Son and Daughter-in-Law's reception this past weekend and it was fantastic. The food was delivered on-time, fresh, hot and the guests were telling us all night that the food was so good! Thanks Hogzilla for helping make our event very memorable. I would suggest this Restaurant and Catering service to anyone who wants the best!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazoo4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The outside is misleading. It looks very "cheap" so my expectations for BBQ were low. The inside is very small and casual. I was worried I had been misled by reviews I had read. As soon as we sat down we were promptly greeted and for the duration of our meal our server was ALWAYS attentive to our needs. The smoked wings came out....oh my. Who knew wings could ever taste so good. I may never eat at that other wing place again! Then the BBQ came. Both my husband and I were savages as we fought over the last rib. My hat is off to the chef. I have never been so thoroughly surprised and pleased with BBQ!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marriedahoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I am a little biased maybe here, because I am just not a fan of their sauce. Many people give this place rave reviews. Meat quality and sides are quite good, good service, and the owners are very nice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddin458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Ribs were cut apart individually when we received our take out order. They were not very tender. Got some pulled pork, too, not impressive. Really disappointed that this couldn't become our go-to place for ribs. Not sure if this is typical or not. Perhaps we will go to the buffet to have a taste of several things. So far it's just not very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hogzilla BBQ pit also viewed

Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 

Been to Hogzilla BBQ pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing