We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it looks better then it is”

Firekeeper's Casino
Attraction details
Crown Point
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“it looks better then it is”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I know I know, if you expect to win you shouldn't go. But No one in our large party won anything. I remember watching some of my family who were so excited to go, disappointed enough that they didn't even stay to eat. I understand that the odds are in the houses favor, but could a little bit of a win have changed the tide of our visit? Probably. Instead we left after only two hours (a record for my husband) and went to Michigan City. Ok, we didn't win much there either but at least a couple of people told us about the wins they put back into the machines (which is why it is FUN). Expect to not win anything and expect to leave early. It just wasn't fun, and guys if you don't like smoke stay away from this one, I think the ventilation is not working so good. Thanks anyway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kilgorerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    202
    116
    39
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a new casino! It was very nice. It seemed the pay out was good also. We will go back. It's a 5 hours trip from our house. Very nice and staff was helpful

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kleiman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Such a Surprise!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Never visited a casino outside of Vegas and this was a diamond in the ruff! Wide variety of slots and tables - nice floor not too crowed and easy to maneuver. Went first for drinks at Nibi and had some appetizers recommended by the bartender. Then we stopped a second time for the hotel as it had just opened. Rooms were crispy and new, nice appointments - very modern. Bar service at Nibi again was excellent and had an acoustic guitar player who was over the top good. Dinner at Nibi was lovely and the service was excellent there as well. Breakfast was delish. Parking was interesting - you can't walk thru the casino with luggage from the parking structure so use the valet at the hotel - it's free and easy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Busy casino”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited Firekeepers on a Saturday afternoon. The casino is large with a lot of slot machines. It was a gift day so patrons were walking around with boxes. It was very crowded in the casino...but I guess that's to be expected on a weekend. But, people were just sitting around with their boxes not playing machines... and were not happy when asked if they could please move. We did end up winning some money (which is a good thing)... but the music was very loud for a casino. The employees were friendly except for the casino hosts. Just a tip for the casino hosts... if someone wants to meet you because they are thinking of becoming a regular there.. it's always a good idea to meet them.. you never know what kind of player the person is.....I would think it is a part of your job to build relationships.

The buffet was good for lunch with many selections. The food was fresh. Overall, a large casino with a nice selection of machines.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mistylee95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lost but still had a great time!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is nice and the pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room are great. The Friday night buffet is fantastic, great crab legs and seafood for a very reasonable price. The hotel bar is great, we really enjoyed the bartender.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank myckii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firekeeper's Casino also viewed

Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 

Been to Firekeeper's Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing