We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A downtown BC landmark”

Clara's on the River
Ranked #4 of 163 Restaurants in Battle Creek
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A downtown BC landmark”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Casual or formal, this restaurant has the ambience to accommodate either. Open tables, booths, private rooms and bar seating! Friendly service and good food. Beef barley soup was delish! Only complaint: no Vernors! Come on people--this is Michigan.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzales_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    129
    53
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful Decor Cannot Fix the Service”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is the old Battle Creek train station ungoing renovation several years ago. The atmosphere is unique and lovely. Unfortunately despite a large menu, the food is very standard, sometimes served cold. I recently had a BLT with enough mayonnaise to choke Snap, Crackle and Pop. In addition, the portions are on the small side. We recently ate there on the restaurant's busiest night of the year. Despite allowing us to make a reservation, they were clearly under prepared. The food was so late arriving to our table, we had already paid the bill, asked for to-go boxes and tipped the poor stressed waitress. At one point the owner came over and apologized for the delay. He said he had checked with the kitchen and our food was due to arrive in 3 to 4 minutes. It took another 20 minutes before we even saw an appetizer. If you are into atomosphere, then check it out. If you want a dining experience then skip Clara's for one of the other unique Battle Creek venues, such as those specializing in microbrews.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“unique”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a old train station. I have never seen such a huge menu! It is also nice in the Summer to sit outside on the patio.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shelleytodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, MI
Level Contributor
224 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant is located in a restored train depot. Lots of great parking. We stopped here on our way to the Gilmore car museum in Hickory Corners, MI (20 miles away). The décor is fantastic, with Tiffany lamp shades, and windows. Lots of interesting items on the wall and ceiling. The salads were very good. We had the fried chicken salad (full) and Michigan cherry and chicken salad (full). They were large but gigantic. The service was top rate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michigan193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wedding rehearsal dinner review”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were from out of town and were at this restaurant for a rehearsal dinner. Waitresses were very courteous and attentive. Food was good. Atmosphere is outstanding. Love the old railroad station. If you get a chance to walk around the properly, definately do so. Very pretty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clara's on the River also viewed

Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 

Been to Clara's on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing