We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, good value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Baraga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived on 7/1/2013 and departed on 7/5/2013. I paid $84.59 per night for a lakeside room (room 305). The view of the lake is beautiful. The room was clean and no glaring spots on the carpet. Also, the bathroom was nice and clean. The walls must be thin because I could hear lots of noise from room 304 for my first 2 nights. I had to wear ear plugs in order to sleep those nights. FYI...they play music in the hallway and the speaker was right outside of my door. I could hear the music in my room in the morning while trying to read. I asked them to turn it down and they turned it off which was nice. There is a business center (it is called the Pre-Function room) but it is not obvious to find. If you are facing the front desk, it is to the right of the front desk and next to the laundry room. There is 1 computer in there with a printer. It was nice to be able to print my boarding pass there. I found the WiFi to be slow and intermittent in my room. My biggest complaint was the mattress. It was pretty firm. I have problems with my lower back and I had a hard time sleeping. I talked to the front desk about the problem and they added 2 more pads to the mattress and that helped a little bit. The mattress and the box springs look old. I didn't make my review rating Average because the mattress in my mother's room did not bother her (it was the same firm mattress). Normally, I sleep on a pillowtop mattress. Also, the chairs in the room were uncomfortable. I like to spend time reading in the morning before starting the day and it was uncomfortable to sit too long in the chair. FYI...there is no free breakfast. For $84.59 per night for a lakeside room, you are probably not going to find a better value though. Unless, they replace the mattresses with more comfortable mattresses like pillowtop mattresses, I will probably not stay there again. That is too bad because I liked everything else about this place other than the mattress and chair.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinManTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. I have no complaints about this hotel. The beds were comfortable, spotless room, the bathroom looked like it had been recently updated. The lakeside view was beautiful! The restaurant attached was very good, nice staff members and fast food! I would stay there again! I read other reviews about people saying they dislike how there isn't a breakfast included; the rooms for how nice they are and lake view, it is a very good value. The room I was in had a microwave and a mini fridge. So I just went to the market and threw food items in the fridge.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thenims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable. Please stop in and see us again when you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had an excellent experience at the Baraga Lakeside Inn. A group of us were on a motorcycle trip around the UP and booked two nights here at the middle of our trip. After an unpleasant experience with the past hotel's restaurant, we were leary of what the next one had in store.

The hotel restaurant staff was pleasant and the food was great! Rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were nicely updated! I stayed back one day to relax and I felt safe and very comfy resting in and outside of the hotel area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us while in our area. We hope that you will be back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here during a work trip at the recommendation of a colleague. The rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. The staff was friendly as well. I didn't do anything other than sleep though so can't comment on much else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us while in Baraga. We hope that you will be able to come back an enjoy our area real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We needed a place for the night and while reading our Hunt's Map Guide to the Upper Peninsula, this hotel was mentioned as a Best Western. It was well priced and right on the water. The pool was great, but I agree with the other reviews there needs to be a continental breakfast offered, I didn't even think to ask upon check-in because most hotels include this. Clean room but did smell like cigarette smoke when we walked in. All and all nice place.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Kjmbdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We wonder how this place stays in existence. We had visited previously when it was under a different name. Drove into town without reservations. We needed 2 connecting rooms and were happy with the quoted price. The rooms were fine, we had no complaints. We had dinner that evening in the restaurant. On a Saturday evening we were the only family dining the entire time.
The meal was fine, again no complaints. Sunday morning again for breakfast we were the only people in the restaurant the entire meal. Upon checking out I noticed that there were only 3 other rooms rented in the entire 3 story building. Sad but true.
Our only suggestion would be to serve a complimentary breakfast. Due to the lack of lodging in the area, I am sure they can get away with not including breakfast with the room rate, but this day and age we certainly do base our stays on what is offered.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business during this slow time of the season. With Mother Nature playing games with our weather, travelers have been slow in coming to the beautiful Upper Peninsula. I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable and I do hope that we see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is an older hotel. Our room was very clean as was the rest of the establishment. The hotel has a lounge and resturant. We had drinks one night which were typical of a hotel bar. The hotel sits on Keweenaw Bay. Our room had a beautiful view of the bay. The hotel had many large windows in the hallways, etc. which also offered large scenic views. The rooms were quiet and unlike most hotels you were not awakened when people shower in the room next door. Next time I'm in this area I will stay here. The customer service was exceptional as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davcar1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am very proud of my staff for their care of the building and in making everyone feel very welcomed. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraga
23.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
24.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
42 reviews
24.6 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
4.8 mi away
Carla's Inn
Carla's Inn
#3 of 4 in Baraga
24 reviews
24.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baraga Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraga Lakeside Inn

Address: 900 US 41 South, PO Box 873, Baraga, MI 49908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Baraga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Baraga
Price Range: $81 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baraga Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 68 room property is located on the shore of Lake Superior's Keweenaw Bay. All rooms have either a King or Double Queen beds with all the amenities for you to enjoy. During your stay you will enjoy waking up to the most amazing sunrises over the lake. You will continue to enjoy the view with Breakfast in our dining room or when weather permits sitting on a swing out on our lawn with a cup of coffee. Our property is located on US Hwy 41 so you can travel with ease to the North, South, East or West to visit all the wonderful sites of Northern Upper Peninsula. While you in the area you will be able to visit waterfalls, lighthouses and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baraga Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Baraga
Baraga Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing