We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean and comfortable”
other travelers have booked this property
Front deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front deck
two kayaks with paddles are a fun way to get around the lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Front deck
two kayaks with paddles are a fun way to get around the lake
gorgeous view from the deck
grill sits on one side of the deck
back and west side of the cottage
view out of the sunroom
cottage sweet cottage!
double bed
plenty of fishing poles and tackle
open kitchen with cups, plates, cutlery, and any cooking utensils you'll need!
bathroom- always stocked with fresh linens
a campfire is a good way to finish any day!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bangor, Van Buren County, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nancy E
St clair mi
2 reviews
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My family enjoyed staying at Van Aiken lake cottage. The cottage was extremely clean and very comfortable. We were greeted as soon as we pulled in and made very welcome. We had fun kayaking on the lake and playing both indoor and outdoor games that were provided. I loved sitting on the deck in comfortable chairs watching the lake and wildlife with my morning coffee. The only minor thing was the tiny shower but that could not be changed LOL.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodienur...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cottage on the lake”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great view of the lake in a quiet neighborhood. We enjoyed the sunroom and the deck in the mornings and evenings. The cottage was clean. Although the kitchen was well stocked, we didn't cook there, as we spent most of our time exploring nearby towns. The daisies and the fresh baked cookies were a nice touch. Even though the owners were near, they respected our privacy. As others have mentioned, the only downside was the bed was not too comfortable. We bought a mattress topper and that helped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P
New Paris, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing lake side cottage”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Full view lakeside cottage sits back from lake a bit. South Haven is just a short trip away. There is a corner store but bring your bait because there is no where close by to get anything. The cottage is fully equipped. It is extremely clean and nicely decorated. The owners live next door but you would hardly know they are there. Unless you need something then they appear and handle anything. The cottage has 2 small bedrooms and a fold-out sofa. The master has a full size bed. The bed is very conferable, the sheets are to die for. There is a bookcase full of books to read. If you want to watch TV you can on the modern flat screen. It has a DVD player on the side and you will need to bring some DVDs because there is limited channels available. The second bedroom has bunk beds. There are no closets in the bedrooms but there are hooks to hang your clothes on. The cottage has an open airy feeling thanks to the many windows and the nice size front room. It has a full wall of windows that face the lake, the ceiling is raised and there are 2 ceiling fans. You can either open the windows or use the air conditioner. We enjoyed the cottage so much, that my husband and I are coming back in 3 weeks to relax alone. There are 4 kayaks which my son loved and I fell out of. Also the cottage has a rowboat for fishing and an paddle wheel boat. Life jackets are provided but if you have small children you might want to bring ones for them. I can't say enough good things about this cottage and the neighbors around it. The only thing I would have liked is a table outside to eat at but we will leave wanting to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FellowTra...
1 review
“Lovely!”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a fabulous time at the Cottage. It was quaint, it was clean and had everything we needed. The lake was beautiful and quiet. I would return again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
Thanks so much for the kind words! So glad you had a enjoyable stay. We would love to have you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin1108...
1 review
“Van auken lake”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Great place very clean! The only downfall was the bed was small and uncomfortable but otherwise would completely recommend. The host is amazing and gave great tips about the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing