We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Craftsmanship”

Shrine of the Pines
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Baldwin
Attraction details
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Craftsmanship”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

No words written here can truly describe this wonderful work of art. I had been here about 20 years ago and decided to take a friend to see this while staying in Ludington (about 30 miles or so). It is still amazing even 20 years later to see this. Although the exhibits are all in one room, you could spend a considerable amount of time taking it all in. The tour guide was wonderful, entertaining and very knowledgeable. Be sure to tip as this is run by volunteers. He also told us to go around to the back of the lodge and down to the deck to watch the salmon spawning. There were about 6 or 7 right there in front of us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RichandMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middle Tennessee
Level Contributor
218 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fascinating!! One could spend hours just looking all of the wood objects!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We decided to stop by the Shrine of the Pines because of the great reviews and we were not disappointed. We were the only visitors at that time and we got a really good tour. It's definitely worth the detour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGrandma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a one time stop”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

great wood tables, hand made wood stuff from the 20's if you stop one time there is not any new stuff added ever! It is a good one time stop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Classic must-see when in the area”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

At the end of June, my family and I were staying in Ludington for a long weekend and I made sure we'd stop in Baldwin and wait the 1:30pm Sunday opening here. Been here about 30 years ago and decided to bring the family and have them educated on the history of this memorial of the white pine. True nature lovers will appreciate all the furniture handmade without power tools, nails, hinges, etc. We had a great caretaker guide us through the half-hour tour. A true treasure!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Neat Historical Landmark”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

They have limited hours and close for the winter but everyone should check it out! You have probally never seen anything like what this landmark offers. It is a tribute to old time craftsmanship and woodworking. Amazing stuff!!! It is run by volunteers who are totally amazing...check out the gift shop too. I always come away with a few nice gifts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank countrytreasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrine of the Pines also viewed

Been to Shrine of the Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing