We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay with the family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameriway Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ameriway Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with the family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this hotel as a recommendation from TripAdvisor. The room sizes were large, front check-in area was welcoming with tea and candy on the counter. The fire was going and the staff member that checked us in was very efficient and welcoming. The pool and hot tub were clean and the breakfast was good for the whole family. Everything was clean and welcoming.

The only drawbacks were the condition of the roll-away bed (springs missing) and the overall comfort of the bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pasjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
16
14
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The pool was nice, breakfast was ok (waffles, toast, yogurt & cereal). Staff was excellent. Very dog friendly hotel. Big yard for our dog to run. The bar (The Gathering Place) had good food and nice employees. We stayed here during the Cheeseburger festival in Caseville. It was about 20-25 minutes to Caseville, MI.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Several friends were up in Caseville camping for the Memorial Day weekend. Because of the cold weather I choose to find a hotel room for a couple nights. We walked in around 8PM on Friday night and the front desk attendant was friendly and within minutes had our key ready for us. We walked down the newly carpeted halls and opened our door. Our double queen room was massive. There was enough room to add another bed if needed. My 3 year old found out they had a pool and wanted to go swimming. We were shocked to hear that the pool would be open until 11:00PM so decided to go take a quick dip before bedtime. The indoor pool was warmer than expected. Unfortunately after we dipped in the hot tub it was so much colder that we didn't want to go back in.

We stayed two nights and were on the bottom first floor. Somehow we didn't hear a single other guest our entire trip. We ate the continental breakfast both mornings and were satisfied with the waffle and fruits available.

Overal this was a great hotel and 30 dollars cheaper than the competition across the road. We will definitely choose this hotel again for any other trips we take in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I brought my Grandkid's here for a one night get away and we all had a blast!
From checking in, which Front desk was so helpful and friendly and even offered to help me carry stuff to my room. Our room was huge and very clean...Pool was the kids favorite of course and the water was crystal clear. They have a continential breakfast but that by far exceded a typical continential breakfast. the kids loved the hot waffles and being able to pick from 3 cereals. Yes they loved the donuts as well..I enjoyed the hot oatmeal.
Overall our experience was excellent and we will be back!

Room Tip: Recently renovated rooms and new beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nlangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Econolodge in early September and had an excellent time. The room was very nice and the breakfast was all we needed to start the day. The pool was enjoyed. For the money this was an excellent place to stay. For years we had been staying at the nearby Holiday Inn Express however, their rates had recently gone "through the roof". Econolodge was just as nice and much less expensive!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onaway, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I went to visit my Sister's and Husbands one of which lives in Port Austin, Mi. approx. 6 week,s ago. On our arrival in Port Austin we checked several location to stay for the night but could not find any in that area that was pet friendly
We went to the computer and found the Econo Lodge in Bad axe, Mi. and found it to be pet friendly and verry reasonable, but we had to drive the extra mileage to get there then back to Port Austin for breakfast before departing for our home.
Port Austin's motel's and hotel's should reconsider the pet friendly rooms as I'm sure they are losing business as many people travel with pets.
Our service at the Econo Lodge was great all the staff treated us great, the rooms were clean and bedding and towels we clean.
We later stay in a hotel in the Frankenmuth area for the annual car show and found my bill to be over 500.00 for two nights and believe me the rooms and service at the Econo Lodge took no back seat to the High Buck Hotel which I will never return to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Axe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Our stay at the Bad Axe EconoLodge was top notch. Excellent service, crystal clear pool, continental breakfast was exceptional, and the rooms were extremely clean. Our children were beside themselves when they realized they could bring the dog! Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Thumb Area. You won't regret your choice.

Room Tip: Pets are welcome here and treated with kindness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LunaBella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Axe
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe
15.4 mi away
Blue Spruce & Lucky Horseshoe Motel & Cabins
15.6 mi away
Lakeside Motor Lodge
Lakeside Motor Lodge
#5 of 5 in Port Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameriway Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameriway Inn and Suites

Property: Ameriway Inn and Suites
Address: 898 N van Dyke Rd, Bad Axe, MI 48413-9019
Location: United States > Michigan > Bad Axe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ameriway Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameriway Inn & Suites of Bad Axe, Michigan is located in the Thumb of Michigan, approximately 20 miles east west & south of Lake Huron. It is just a short drive away from a day at the beach with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ameriway Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bad Axe
Bad Axe Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing