We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quaint Cape Cod experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crook Jaw Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crook Jaw Inn
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A quaint Cape Cod experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just got back from our 5 night stay at this B&B run by Brian. The moment we checked in Brian was a most hospitable host, recommending sites to see and places to eat. Never having been to the Cape we found his suggestions to be most helpful. I was glad I decided to choose the location of Yarmouth Port as our home base for the 5 day tour. The Main St. location is also known as the Old King's Highway and the homes have all been preserved and no lit signs are permitted so the area is very residential and relatively quiet. It is centrally located to visit the other towns on the cape. Brian will give you beach chairs and towels to take along to the myriad of beaches in the area.
Brian prepares mouth=watering breakfasts each morning and serves them in the small dining area right off his kitchen. This is a small inn with only 5 rooms. We stayed in the Captain Crocker room, the only room with a king bed. My suggestion - if you must have a king bed then by all means this room will be fine. The drawback,however, is the very small bathroom. It is literally the size of a small closet; just room enough for a sink and toilet opposite and a very small shower. Being up in a dormer-type room the in-room air conditioner and fan really had to work to keep the room cool. If you don't mind a queen bed, try to get the Yarmouth room on the main floor - big bathroom and very nicely appointed. The other rooms upstairs are also very nicely decorated and all had bigger bathrooms than ours.
The location, cleanliness, hospitality, and the value all made this location an excellent choice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjsharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
84
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Brian is the best host one could hope for--polite, friendly, and very attentive to his guests' needs and requests. His breakfast will be one of the highlights of your trip (bonus: he prepared a terrific gluten-free breakfast for my wife). He places high value on customer satisfaction, and it shows in his work. Clean and cozy room, with nice comfortable mattress. Crook Jaw Inn is within walking distance of a great book store, several nice restaurants, an ice cream shop, bank/ATM and more, plus we like its mid-Cape location. It's on our list for our next Cape Cod stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catonsvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Crook Jaw Inn is the perfect home base to explore the east cape. Brian's hospitality is topnotch,from directions to suggestions. The rooms are beautiful and his home is delightful.I wish we booked a week!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotrat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at the crook jaw Inn for 2 nights, we were made to feel very welcome, the room was good and felt homely, the breakfast was very good, something different each morning, it felt like a lot of time and effort had gone in to breakfast. If I went back to the Cape I would stay there. The only reason i have given sleep Quality 3/5 is because I was unwell and slept on the sofa, as far as I am aware my husband slept like a log!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We came to the Cape for a relaxing weekend. Brian was so warm & welcoming! The Inn is cozy and charming with a very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Brian is a wonderful host with an excellent knowledge of the area. I loved how the rooms are decorated and everything was "shipshape"! We were so comfortable it was difficult to leave! Oh, and the delicious breakfasts, tasty and beautifully presented. This is the best place to stay on Cape Cod, hands down.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We have stayed at the Crook Jaw before, and are incredibly pleased every time. Let me first say that the innkeeper, Brian, is an absolutely wonderful gentleman. He makes a delicious
breakfast, and the inn is decorated beautifully by him. He is helpful, and only wished to accommodate us at every opportunity.
The rooms are stunning and beautifully appointed, with all the accouterment. We've stayed in almost all of them, and they are all very cozy. The common areas are just as lovely and comfy. We have used the patio garden before, and I just love it out there!
In conclusion, I recommend the Crook Jaw Inn to you all. It is the best!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniek922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vendee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Brian gave us a great welcome. As well as showing us around his beautiful home, he suggested places to visit nearby and good local restaurants( the Old Yarmouth Inn just across the road was excellent). We were in the Fireside Room, which wasn't huge, but was comfortable, cosy, and had lovely decor. The sitting room downstairs was straight out of an interiors magazine, and was a great place to enjoy a glass of wine and a chat with the other guests in the evening. Brian's breakfasts were beautifully served and delicious, especially the oatmeal souffle for which I just had to have the recipe. They kept us going till dinner.
The Crookjaw Inn is suitable for a quiet break, or for a sightseeing visit to the beautiful Cape Cod and Brian is the perfect host.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth Port
3.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blushing Oyster Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Cape Cod
The Inn at Cape Cod
#2 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village Inn Cape Cod
The Village Inn Cape Cod
#4 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kings Inne
The Kings Inne
#5 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crook Jaw Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crook Jaw Inn

Property: Crook Jaw Inn
Address: 186 Route 6a, Route 6A, Yarmouth Port, MA 02675-1712
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Yarmouth Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crook Jaw Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully restored Cape Cod style home located in the historic district of Yarmouth Port. Conveniently located to fine dining, beaches, ferries, whale watching, nature trails. The inn has 5 tastefully decorated guest rooms with AC and private bath. A full breakfast is served daily consisting of fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, main course, freshly ground coffee and assorted teas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crook Jaw Inn Cape Cod/Yarmouth Port, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing