We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fabulous Stay at Crook' Jaw”
Review of Crook Jaw Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crook Jaw Inn
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Stay at Crook' Jaw”
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We stayed at Crook' Jaw again this November and it was, true to form, a wonderful experience. The inn is immaculately kept (you literally could eat off the floor), beautifully decorated, and as charming as ever. My husband and I and our two children stayed in two adjoining rooms - Fireside and Captain Crocker. The working fireplace in Fireside is such a special touch on a chilly fall evening, and the kids get such a kick out of having a fireplace right in our room. The beds in both rooms are fantastically comfortable, and we always get a great night's sleep. Brian was as gracious a host as ever, and we really enjoy his company. He is a wealth of information, and always has great ideas about how we can spend our time on the Cape. Additionally, he stocks a small refridgerator with complimentary sodas and water. It's a very thoughtful touch. And of course the breakfasts that Brian prepares are delectable. It's something different every morning, and the presentation is always lovely. All in all - it's a wonderful time staying at Crook Jaw, and it's the only place we stay when we are visiting the Cape. We love it and we would recomend it without hesitation to anyone looking for a very special B&B experience.

  • Liked — Brian (the innkeeper), the great location, and the whole amtomsphere of the inn
  • Disliked — Not a single thing...
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank andi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at the Crook Jaw Inn during our whistle stop tour of New England last week. We had a wonderful trip and without a doubt the highlight for us was staying at the Crook Jaw Inn and we greatly regret not booking a longer stay.
We stayed in the Fireside Room which was immaculate and so cosy. Breakfast was delicious and as the other reviews have stated Brian was a genial host.
We are already planning our next trip and a longer stay at Crook Jaw Inn will be guaranteed.

  • Liked — The beautiful house and Brian's breakfast and the fire in the room and ....
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

I've stayed in many B&Bs around the world. The owner of the Crook Jaw Inn, Brian, is the epitome of what a host should be. He is there when you need him, friendly and helpful; he is invisible when you just want to hang out in "your home". The house itself is quaint and welcoming. Our bedroom was a bit small, but what do you expect when staying in an old "Sea Captain's Home"? We throughly enjoyed our bedroom for its quaint ambiance nonetheless. The rest of the house was magnificent. It had large common areas that were comfy and inviting. My wife loved the ambiance, but what made the stay exceptional for me was Brian himself. He is, simply, the perfect host. I extend the Crook Jaw Inn my highest, unqualified recommendation.

  • Liked — The host
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravlnDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Crook Jaw Inn. It was wonderful, truly a home away from home. The house is warmly decorated, very clean and relaxing. Brian is a great host. One night we brought home pizza for dinner and he was right there setting the table for us. The breakfasts are delightful and when it is chilly outside the fire is lit in the fireplace in the dining room. The location is centrally located in the Cape Cod area. We couldn't have asked for anything more. You will love it.

  • Liked — Homey, historic atmosphere, great breakfasts
  • Disliked — size of the room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STEAMBOAT SPRINGS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

All of the raves on the Crook Jaw Inn are correct. We stayed in the Yarmouthport room on the first floor for three nights.. It was large and well decorated.. There was a Jacuzzi in the spacious bathroom. Brian was great as an innkeeper. We are from Colorado and traveled with relatives from California and New York. We all enjoyed our stay at a great B&B.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

I cannot tell you how much my fiance and I loved the Crook Jaw! We stayed on a Fri and Sat night in August - both nights were wonderfully comfortable and relaxing. Plus, I got engaged that weekend - what a perfect place to stay on such a memorable weekend!

Arrival

When we arrived at the Crook Jaw on Friday night we were greeted by the owner Brian. Let me tell you - Brian is everything a good host is supposed to be! He welcomed us into his beautifully laid out living area, talked with us like we were friends, and then showed us to the Captain Crocker Room.

Rooms

I think this Inn has maybe 6 rooms or so and we peeked into 2 other rooms - in addition to staying in the Capt. Crocker one. The 3 that I saw were so adorable and romantic and just epitomized what a Cape Cod B&B should be - has that beachy, New England, romantic feel to it. I would rather stay somewhere like this, what that sorta feel, than have the sterile feel of some random Cape Cod chain.

As for the Capt. Crocker - super HUGE king-sized bed, quaint bathroom, great reading chair by the window and tastefully decorated pics, lamps, furniture, etc. There is also a CD player with romantic burned CD's (I presume the work of Brian) that you can fall asleep to. There wasn't a TV in the room but there was really no need for one at all.

Breakfasts

Brian made an outstanding breakfast for us. It wasn't your standard breakfast fare - IE eggs, toast and bacon. The morning we had it he served a delicious egg vegetable fritata with sausages, homemade muffins, OJ and this great fruit dish. It was filling but also seemingly healthy.

Proximity to Nantucket/Martha's Vineyard Ferry

This place is in a perfect location to get to the ferries in Hyannis. I think it took us about 15 minutes max to get to our ferry to Nantucket. Make sure you call ahead for tickets to the ferry and then set your alarm. Worth a trip on the ferry since they are so close and Nantucket and M.V. are fun places to venture to.

Overall

I give this place 5 stars for its charm and for the warmth and extra touches that Brian provides. He took the place over just 3 seasons or so ago and he has made this place great! He seems like such a nice and knowledgeable guy which goes a long way in my book. Plus, the rooms are so beautiful and homey and his breakfast is delicious. Definitely check this place out for a few nights - relaxed, clean, and beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank meggiepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

The Crook Jaw Inn is the most perfect inn on Cape Cod. We couldn't have asked for a better host or a cleaner, more charming house. Brian was always hard at work to make his guests' stays the most perfect they could be. His breakfasts were delicious... We wouldn't mind some blueberry french toast right now! We stayed in the Voyager room and it was just adorable. The nautical theme was tastifully done and extremely cozy. If you are looking for a comfortable, clean, and enjoyable stay on the Cape, we highly suggest the Crook Jaw Inn!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank metsfans333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth Port
3.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.4 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Cape Cod
The Inn at Cape Cod
#2 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kings Inne
The Kings Inne
#5 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blushing Oyster Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crook Jaw Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crook Jaw Inn

Property: Crook Jaw Inn
Address: 186 Route 6a, Route 6A, Yarmouth Port, MA 02675-1712
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Yarmouth Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crook Jaw Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully restored Cape Cod style home located in the historic district of Yarmouth Port. Conveniently located to fine dining, beaches, ferries, whale watching, nature trails. The inn has 5 tastefully decorated guest rooms with AC and private bath. A full breakfast is served daily consisting of fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, main course, freshly ground coffee and assorted teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Crook Jaw Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crook Jaw Inn Cape Cod/Yarmouth Port, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing