We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in so many ways!”
Review of Optimist Cafe

Optimist Cafe
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Yarmouth Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Perfect in so many ways!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our first visit to the Optimist Cafe. Beautiful building on Rt. 6A, the Old Kings Highway in Yarmouth Port. Very open and airy inside. Artwork from local artists adorn the walls. Breakfast is served all day long along with a great lunch menu.
My husband ordered the Cape Cod omelet....lobster, red onion, tomato, gruyere cheese
and topped with lobster cream sauce. It came with well seasoned home fries and toast. He raved about it while he was eating it...and for the rest of the day. Very filling, more lobster than expected.
I ordered a lunch special, lobster quesadilla. It was accompanied by a lobster cream sauce, sour cream, salsa and shredded lettuce, all served on the side. Very yummy also, although I think when I return I will probably try that omelet!
Our waitress was attentive and friendly. A great afternoon and a place we will definitely return to!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    60
    28
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior, great character”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I went alone to do some work with the free wifi and have some scrumptious breakfast and Optimist Cafe delivered. The service was excellent, something you can always tell by if you dine alone and the food was large portioned and fresh. I ordered the Cape Cod Delight which wasn't as good as I expected it to be, but with all their menu options it was hard to decide anyways. The decor struck me as both beautiful and kind of modern in a refreshing balance of old and new. They were even kind enough to let people walk around and view the various artwork. They also offer a free meal in your birthday month and I can't wait to come back and take advantage of it. Definitely worth going for a good meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarkSideHasCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our lunch”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was our first visit to Yarmouth Port and we were happy we found The Optimist Café. The menu has a great variety. We had a yummy carrot-ginger soup along with quesadillas and fish tacos. It is a relaxing atmosphere and the owners were right there along with their staff. They told us they have owned the restaurant for about one year and are continuing to fine tune the menu and all that goes along with running a business. They serve breakfast and lunch along with an afternoon tea. We definitely would go there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shebamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Atmosphere good Food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Have gone here for several years, new owners now. Still super service in cozy setting, food is good, although menu has changed a bit. Breakfast is still one of best around. Will return to try new lunch offerings. Hope the tea service is still the same.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
1 review
“Awesome Food!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The food and service there is awesome! We go all of the time. Someone in our group needed something gluten free and the owner made it herself. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Optimist Cafe also viewed

Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
South Dennis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Optimist Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing