We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Everything!”
Review of Optimist Cafe

Optimist Cafe
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Yarmouth Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Boston, MA.
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Everything!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just happened upon this place today! My mom and I loved it! BIG selection of dish choices, breakfast served all day, tea time, smile with a service, clean, food is excellent. We got the fish tacos, chicken quesadilla, and a side of bacon- all awesome and the bacon isn't fatty or overdone! Its nice and bright in there with lots of tables and rooms and even a bar area. They even serve mimosas and alcoholic beverages. Do yourself a favor and stop in for breakfast or lunch- check out their menu items! TOTALLY RECOMMEND and I'm not that easy to please!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GordonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    60
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, CA
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cute Place - Long Wait”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived at this cute little Victorian building on a rainy Sunday on our way through Cape Cod and decided to give it a try. We got there right about noon and had to wait 15 minutes for a table. The interior is very vintage and is decorated with lots of charm.

We went for lunch, but when we placed our orders, I asked for sweet potato fries instead of chips or fries. The server told me they don't actually fry the potatoes, so it would probably be a 15-minute wait, so I told her I'd take the chips instead. She offered to pack up the fries to go and put in our order for lunch. After about 20 minutes, the manager came by with samples of their home baked scones and told us our order would be right out. Another 15 minutes went by, and still no food. When the server came to apologize, she offered to do a song and dance to keep us entertained while we waited.....that's how awkward it was to be sitting there for over 30 minutes. At 45 minutes, we were just getting ready to pay for our sodas and leave when the food finally arrived. I'm sorry, but 45 minutes to make a tuna melt and a turkey wrap is a little unreasonable, if you ask me.

I must admit that once the food arrived, we were pleased with it. The wrap was filled with lots of turkey and served with a cranberry mayo, while the tuna melt was one of the best I've ever had. I even got the sweet potato fries!

I think this place is very hit & miss, which you can tell from the various reviews. I'm sure their breakfast and afternoon tea are a big hit, but I'd probably never go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaBaker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tea Time!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Perfect for luncheon or tea.
Even for men!
This establishment gets it right with the hominess of Irish flair and artistic flair in the decor. So many restaurants of this nature are stuffy and old fashioned but not this...love the juxtaposition of updated decor w/ old school tea. The soups and sandwiches are tasty and I think you will enjoy your time here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent service- had late breakfast-spinach & potato fritatta w/ fresh fruit-so delicious. Just loved the historic house. I am now excited to go back & try the high tea they offer-just a great place! The prices are on the high end for breakfast/lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I had seen the restaurant a few days before and it looked like it might be a good place. We looked at the rating on TripAdvisor and thought we would give it a try. We both ordered the Ruben which was referred to as "The Best in Town". My guess is that no other restaurants in town have the Ruben on their menu, because it was really nothing special. The sandwich was a little skimpy and the Sweet potato fries were a little burned on the ends, but the middle was soggy. On the positive side, the service was great and the prices were very reasonable and the place itself has a lot of charm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Optimist Cafe also viewed

Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Optimist Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing