We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flexibility - there in the afternoon when needed!”
Review of Oliver's Tavern

Oliver's Tavern
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great flexibility - there in the afternoon when needed!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

A gig "shout out" for Oliver's! We needed somewhere to meet at about 3 pm on an August afternoon. We'd planned on afternoon tea at Optimist Cafe, but they shut just before 3 pm (duh!) and had no ideas for us. We tried Old Yarmouth Inn, but they turned us away - they had many staff around, but still would not even seat us just for tea or coffee. Oliver's saved the day!

There was no one else in the restaurant, and they had no 'afternoon' menu, but they happily served us drinks and snacks (the breaded fried clams were excellent). Our waitress never bugged us, but was always there when something was needed. Buy the time we left at 5:30 pm, the restaurant was full! We'll definitely go back to Olivers.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peasmould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    50
    31
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good portions, good variety, good service”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

A group of 5 of us went to Oliver's Tavern on a Thursday evening and were delighted there was only a 20 minute wait. The bartenders were courteous and friendly. When seated, the waitress brought rolls and checked if any of us had questions about the menu. The menu has a selection for everyone's taste. The Mahi that I had was very tasty, but the Haddock with maple was overpowering in maple flavor.

Overall, I'll go back but look forward to seeing what else is in the area in the same price range.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
“awesome!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great food, great service. Not sure what the previous review was all about, but sounds like a typical new York a-hole with a bug up his butt. (Probably doesn't have any friends) If youre looking for a good time, good drinks, and good food, try Olivers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lance c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Stay Away”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you like terrible food with terrible service in a cafeteria atmosphere, this is the place! Our waitress was thrown off by a table of 7 ( we were a table of 2) whose order she got wrong! Bread did not come with the salad, the shrimp cocktail was over done, the salads ordinary and dirty dishes and glasses were left on the table. After a long wait my wife's order was wrong! How anyone goes back to this place with all the choices there are on Cape Cod is a mystery. We will never go back and will warn all our friends and guests to "stay away"!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
197 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Oliver's Has Slipped Into Average”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

There was a time when Oliver's was a place where you could get consistently very good food. Their duck was the best around. The time before this visit, the duck was dry and quite tasteless. Not sure what happened there, but we have shied away since then.

We dined out with friends the other night (they chose the restaurant) and although the service was good, the food was about average. Some people in our party had the Lobster Pie, an old recipe from the Cape Half house days. They all said it tasted very good, but there were an awful lot of crumb topping in the dish, rather than lobster for the price. One person in our party left most of their salad, so I'm not sure what was going on there.

I had the smothered burrito and it tasted just fine, but I have to agree with some of the other contributors, it just doesn't seem the same.

Maybe a big menu change is in order, not sure, but Oliver's is just another restaurant now. Too bad, a few years back it was a must and would have rated an "Excellent".

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Tavern also viewed

Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
Dennis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Oliver's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing