We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anthony's Cummaquid Inn

Anthony's Cummaquid Inn
Ranked #14 of 22 Restaurants in Yarmouth Port
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I cringed when I read the bad reviews here of this restaurant. They seem totally unfair and undeserved. Anthony's Pier 4 in Boston has been a long-standing family favorite. Last year it closed and was torn down. We were heart broken. No more bouillabaisse? But during a recent trip to the Cape, we stumbled on this country version of Anthony's Pier 4. We were thrilled beyond belief. We marveled at the complimentary hors d'oeuvre of marinated mushrooms, the hot-from-the-oven popovers, and we ordered our favorite dish, their signature creation, the bouillabaisse, and it was to die for! Kept sopping up the delectable sauce with the delicious crostini. Our young waiter was possibly the most charming and best waiter we have ever encountered. Can't wait to go back when the days start to get longer, so we can see the lovely views across the pond and to the distant Cape Cod Bay.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CTNutmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    7
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wine list sucked, food and service saved the day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very old Cape Cod, kind of 70's. Our server was great and the food was really terrific. The wine list is chardonnay, chardonnay, chardonnay. We liked everything but the "sommelier"...he was an idiot who clearly knows nothing about wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The restaurant is old and tired so it has lost a lot of its charm which is a shame because the food is excellent. We felt welcomed as soon as we walked in. Our waiter, Andrew, was funny and very obliging to our requests. The marinated mushrooms are superb and the popovers are to die for. The four of us had Prime Rib and it was cooked perfectly. This is the second time eating at this restaurant and it was just as good this time as it was the first. We are looking forward to the next time. Upon leaving we question the lost charm and were told that they will be remodeling little by little using what they salvaged from Boston’s Anthony Pier 4.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank capecodder653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice to be Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Years ago, Anthony's was my parent's place for celebrations. Unfortunately, the years have not been kind to the reputation of this Old Dame. We had heard, from reviews and from friends who have visited more recently that yes, Anthony's Cummaquid Inn is still alive and well.
Last night, with a set of friends, we stepped back in time and we have no regrets. The ambiance is still there, fireplaces, soft lighting, dark wood, graciously set tables and a warm welcome.
Our meals were excellent and the service was perfect. Our waitress allowed us to enjoy our cocktails and wine before taking our order and we felt relaxed and happy as we dined on prime rib for three of us and a magnificent bouillabaisse for one of us. There was a pianist who played beautifully throughout the evening, adding to the overall charm. After dinner, the four of us took places in front of the fire in the lounge and were not pressured into making any further purchase of food or beverage. The staff seemed pleased that we were enjoying the ambiance.
Our fondest hope is that the Cummaquid Inn makes a huge comeback and that locals realize that for the same money that they spend on a "pub" dinner in Yarmouth, they could be enjoying an evening at this gem. What a perfect setting for the holidays. My parents always thought so. New Years Eve's were spent at Anthony's, my parents and their friends and family in full dress, the place packed with others who appreciated the place. Spread the word.....Anthony's
Cummaquid Inn is here to stay!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nonnalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old but great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

When driving by Anthony's Cummaquid I questioned whether it was open or not. The outside looks a little neglected without many cars. But, we were pleasantly surprised with the meal we had. We used to go to Anthony's Pie 4 in Boston for special occasions and this one has many of the same features. Waiters in white jackets, marinated mushrooms to start your meal, pop overs, manhattan served the same way. Plus this place has a wonderful water view. They have a special 3 course meal for $28 with limited choices but what we had was delicious. My husband and I both had the clam appetizer, filet mignon, and cappuccino dessert. All were really delicious and better than we expected. It is too bad that they don't fix up the outside, because when you go inside, the meal is wonderful. We look forward to going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Cummaquid Inn also viewed

Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
Dennis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Anthony's Cummaquid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing