We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Cape stay!”
Review of Liberty Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Liberty Hill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We just returned from a weekend visit to the Liberty Hill Inn. Not only was the Inn beautiful, comfortable and conveniently located, but the Inn keepers (John and Kris) were beyond welcoming, gracious and accommodating. My husband and I both are vegan, so finding an appropriate bed and breakfast can be difficult. John and Kris insisted this would not be a problem and proceeded to make us the most wonderful vegan breakfasts. Not only that, but they also requested that we send some of our favorite recipes so that they could be even more prepared for the next folks who arrive with the same request! I cannot recommend Liberty Hill enough, it was simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 881 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently spent a wonderful six nights at the Liberty Hill Inn and stayed in a lovely, sunny ground floor room called Normandy. We have stayed in a lot of B&Bs throughout the years, but never have we stayed in one so utterly perfect in every way. Our innkeepers, John and Kris, welcome you so generously and make you feel so comfortable you just don't want to leave.

When we arrived early on the day we were checking in we found that our room was already available, and Kris made us lattes and served us fresh raspberry muffins. John is extremely knowledgeable about the area and gave us lots of good suggestions for restaurants, beaches, places to see and routes to take. We were welcomed, encouraged, in fact, to make ourselves comfortable in the large living room with a piano, overstuffed chairs, and a gas fireplace. He also told us to help ourselves at any time to the assorted beverages they leave out for their guests.

Our room was large, the king bed was unbelievably comfortable with a firm mattress with a cushy pillow top and four big, soft pillows. Our room was continually stocked with bottled water, fresh fruit and granola bars. The bathroom was a decent size for a B&B and our towels were changed every day. Everything was immaculately clean.

Kris's breakfasts were simply not to be missed. Everyday there are fresh muffins, a creative fruit dish and a breakfast entree that might be oatmeal pancakes, or spinach and egg strata, or French toast. In the six mornings we were there, no breakfast was repeated. We also had our choice of about six juices, coffee, tea, cappuccio, or latte.

Kris also makes fresh baked cookies every day. We would return from a day's outing to the smell of cookies hot out of the oven! There are always cookies available, in the jar in the front hall or in the kitchen.

John and Kris are warm, interesting, caring people who just want their guests to be comfortable and happy. We were, and so were the other people we met while staying there. Often at day's end we guests would wander into the living room and share stories and laugh over a glass of wine. These were very special evenings spent with diverse and interesting people from all over the world, and we enjoyed them very much.

We simply can not wait to return to the Liberty Hill Inn just as soon as possible!

Room Tip: There are five rooms in the main house and four in the adjacent cottage. Normandy is the only room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are a lot of good things to say about the Liberty Hill Inn. It is really easy to get to off Route 6 and in a nice central location to reach the rest of the Cape. The Inn has been kept up beautifully and the rooms are clean and modern. The rooms have snacks and water. John and Kris are welcoming hosts, their assistant Ellen is very helpful, and the breakfasts are delicious and filling enough to skip lunch or at least go very lightly. There is a very decent restaurant within walking distance from the Inn and it has a piano bar with a fabulous singer, the owner, Ann. This was my 3rd time to the Cape this summer staying in a B and B/Inn. After a disapppointing stay in Chatham, I glad I could find a place that was really worth the money I spent.

Room Tip: The Chase room in the carriage house has a door directly outside to a private stairway to the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReadytogoPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The reception was very warm and friendly. It really felt like coming home.
Kris and John are wonderful Innkeepers and were very helpful in suggesting all the great things the Cape has to offer.
Breakfast was amazing and the freshly baked cookies were fantastic .
We will come back for sure en we will definitely recommend it to our friends.

Warm Regards,
Monica & Hans

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having been there multiple times and Kris and John are some of the best inn keepers. Not to mention the variety and quality of the breakfast. The property is conveniently located and gives you a quiet getaway from the city life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDZHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just like all the other reviews say, Liberty Hill Inn is an excellent place to stay, with great hospitality. I specifically want to mention breakfast. This was one of the highest quality dining experiences I have had, not just in hotels or B&Bs but anywhere. The service and meal quality are better than most fine restaurants I have been to. Delicious, healthy, and filling - I didn't realize you could get all 3 in one meal.

One morning we had pancakes, and the maple syrup tasted like real, natural maple syrup, not some artificial syrup. I asked Kris later when I caught him returning from a grocery run, and he confirmed my suspicions by showing me the bottle. I appreciate their attention to detail here, because most people might not notice the difference, so it would be a tempting corner to cut. No, Kris and John are obviously passionate about hospitality and do a great job.

John gave us some advice about where to go after breakfast. The first day we said we were interested in biking and he pointed us to a great bike trail. The second day we said we were interested in kayaking, and he recommended a river to go on. He's been in this business a while; he knows the area well.

When we were leaving John said we should take all the cookies in the cookie jar because they were going to be "refreshed" that day anyway. We also ended up buying two of the hand-thrown coffee/tea mugs they have at the inn. They are gorgeous mugs and well-made. So we have souvenirs, some edible and some long-lasting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hws4kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our second year staying with John & Kris, so my review is well overdue. Staying at the Liberty Hill Inn is as good as it gets. The efforts that John & Kris put forth to make my family and other guests feel comfortable and special is unsurpassed. The early-19th century building, which is set back from 6a, is beautifully preserved and the decor is comfortable and elegant. Most B&B's of this caliber do not embrace children, yet John & Kris always make them feel welcome and go out of their way to spoil them and us. The memories of the Cape for my kids will always be associated with the Liberty Hill Inn on the historic side of the Cape. Breakfast, which is several courses, was always phenomenal. Kris even went out of his way and made me some eggs one of the mornings because his oatmeal pancakes with fresh fruit were too sweet for me. All these small details, from the quality of the coffee, to sounds from the grand piano resonating through the inn, to the staff (Ellen), make us look forward to returning next year. It won't be long till my kids will ask, “are we staying at the Liberty Hill Inn?”

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew-Aly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth Port
15.7 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
21.5 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
395 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#1 of 63 in Provincetown
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Cape Cod
The Inn at Cape Cod
#3 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
304 reviews
6.1 mi away
Captain David Kelley House
Captain David Kelley House
#1 of 6 in Centerville
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hill Inn

Address: 77 Main Street, Yarmouth Port, MA 02675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Yarmouth Port
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth Port
Price Range: $194 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by shipwrights in 1825, set back from the historic Old Kings Highway on a little knoll with lilacs, roses and centuries old rhododendron. This majestic inn reflects the charm and elegance of a bygone era. Yarmouth Port, is the "heart" of Cape Cod. Our central location provides easy and convenient access to all Cape Cod's attractions. You are invited to relax and enjoy nine spacious guest rooms - it's the ultimate Cape Cod experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Liberty Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hill Hotel Yarmouth Port
Liberty Hill Inn Cape Cod/Yarmouth Port, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing