We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Worcester”
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Worcester
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed at the hotel while visiting WPI. The hotel was easily accessible and the front desk was attentive. The room was big enough that you could sit and watch TV on chairs rather than your bed. The Continental breakfast was in the restaurant and was fresh, but initially when we went to the breakfast, there was one hour remaining and the fruit was almost all gone. It was not replenished until another two sets of tables came in. Also, the breakfast is completely cold food only (you can toast bagels), so if you want anything hot, you have to order off the menu. Last of all the breakfast required you to sit down and eat as opposed to grabbing and going. This is problematic when you check out early. However, I would still stay here again and had a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USTraveler0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 325 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

We traveled to Worcester for a wedding in nearby Princeton, Mass. The Beechwood has an attractive exterior and interior, with plenty of free parking and a nice driveway near the front door and covered entryway.

In an executive junior suite in the round building we had plenty of room for a couple and young adult. In fact, we were very pleased with the length of the room. The fold-out sleeper sofa is comfortably distant from the king bed. Nice mini-fridge and coffee area; great window shutters with ac vents, ample closet and drawer space and big flat-screen tv. The bath was nice and had plenty of amenities.

The fitness room was small but adequate; however we stuck with walking as our form of exercise for the 3 nights of our visit. There was plenty of room in our suite to lay down a towel and do some crunches and Pilates exercises.

The restaurant, Ceres, is pretty and well designed. We enjoyed the continental breakfast twice, taking our coffee outdoors one time to enjoy on the spacious, nicely appointed patio. Fresh-squeezed OJ always gets high marks in my book, but the selection of food, although adequate, was fairly lacklaster. On Friday evening, the happy hour crowd in the bar seemed to be enjoying themselves. We were in Ceres' large private dining room for a rehearsal dinner, at which the food was very tasty, especially the swordfish and lamb.

Front desk staff and housekeeping were all welcoming, pleasant and helpful. Entry to the hotel and lobby area are very attractive and nicely decorated. Check out the hallway entrance to Ceres. The one downbeat to our stay in Room 302 was that the party, we think in 301, came home late from another party, perhaps a wedding since there were several going on that weekend, and had a little drunken rampage, the evidence of which was strewn about the hallway in the morning. If we'd called downstairs I'm sure someone would have quelled the storm; fortunately it ended after about 15 minutes. I was kind of hoping there were closed circuit hallway cameras that would have prompted someone to act, but maybe that's unrealistic.

The business center was useful for maps and boarding passes. We're not familiar with Massachusetts' roadways, so each of our ventures out required a lot of detail. We had brought several sets of directions with us, but were glad to be able to access computers and printers for the add-ons.

Room Tip: If your party is 3 or more, choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJHSViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

From the front desk to the waitress at the restaurant, we were very satisfied with this hotel.
Room was comfortable and clean except for the 2 chairs by the window. It needs to be professionally cleaned. Like other reviews, the beds were super comfortable. I would stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizu41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff at the front desk of this hotel were super friendly, really helpful and outgoing. The room was nothing special - standard hotel furniture and decor. The bathroom had a tub with a shower curtain. The hotel provides a complimentary Continental breakfast in the restaurant. The breakfast was sufficient but nothing special. We ate in the restaurant, Ceres, for dinner and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank americantravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great to stay at a local hotel. AAA Four Diamond property. My room was excellent with a sitting area, sleeping area, large bathroom and plenty of space in a entry closet. Not sure how the GPS got me there, seemed round about, but I made it.

Restaurant was disappointing. My server had tables in the main area, behind a bank of booths, and an area outside. The restaurant was full inside and outside with locals, a good sign. Too many tables too far apart to give the service expected.

I told him I wanted eat and go back to the room to work. I had an entree and dessert and I was there an hour and a half. Finally a manager saw the gelatto melting on my dessert and brought it.

Also chef had a new entree. . Farro "risotto" of lobster. I didn't see any reason to use the farro grain to make an entree that would have been perfectly fine with risotto. Some times a chef tries too hard to be innovative. The creamy texture of a risotto was missing and so was any will to call it good. It was O.K.

Other than a disappointing dinner, the hotel was top notch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownSouthUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

An hotel of quality and distinction. The room was very well appointed with plenty of wardrobe and shelf space and a good sized bathroom. All staff were most courteous and helpful. This was a fleeting visit on business so all I wanted was comfortable, efficient accommodation. This hotel ticked every box. I will be returning to Worcester MA in the not too distant future and I will definitely return to the Beechwood.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

On June 9 we had our wedding ceremony and reception at the beechwood. The food was fantastic, the service was great, and Laurie parks was a wonderful event coordinator. I couldn't have asked for the night to be more perfect. Truly a great place for functions and weddings. The outside patio for the cocktail hour is the kicker!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Worcester
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Worcester Downtown
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Worcester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Worcester
Residence Inn Worcester
#5 of 10 in Worcester
298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Worcester
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Worcester
Courtyard Worcester
#6 of 10 in Worcester
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Address: 363 Plantation St, Worcester, MA 01605-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Worcester
#4 Business Hotel in Worcester
Price Range: $215 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only Full-Service 4-Diamond Hotel in Central Massachusetts, The Beechwood Hotel in Worcester offers its guests luxury boutique hotel lodging with spectacular visual delights both inside and out. The Beechwood Hotel is dedicated to going above and beyond for our guests' expectations to make your stay nothing that you expect, but everything that you deserve. Whether you are looking for relaxation after a long day of meetings, or a romantic getaway for you and your special someone, our 73 overnight rooms and suites offer the luxury that you can only find in a 4-Diamond Boutique Hotel. From our spacious Executive Rooms, to our more luxurious Junior or Fireplace suites, all of our rooms are sure to satisfy the most exquisite tastes. Each room is outfitted with a pillow top mattress and premium bedding that ensures each guest will have a relaxing rest each night of their stay. A plush robe and upscale bathroom amenities are sure to compliment your unique experience. For your convenience, an Honor Basket and refrigerator that offers soft beverages is located in every room. For our tech savvy business and leisure travelers, each room offers an in-room IPad that is equipped with a Virtual Interactive Concierge Service (ICE), enabling our guests to order room service, extra towels, or explore local attractions, all from the convenience of your room. Other amenities include plenty of complimentary self-parking, an on-site fitness center, weekday newspapers, complimentary wireless internet offered throughout the entire property and a 24-hour business center located in our lobby servicing the needs of every traveler. Our award-winning restaurant, Ceres Bistro, is our casual fine dining restaurant, lounge and bar, open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our chefs work hard to provide our guests with food made from fresh, seasonal ingredients. Wherever possible, our products are sourced from local purveyors contributing to a farm-to-table casual fine dining experience. From 24-hour room service to a complimentary continental breakfast for each overnight guest, any dining experience at Ceres Bistro is sure to delight every palate. As the best luxury boutique hotel in Worcester, Massachusetts, the staff at The Beechwood Hotel is better able to accommodate the needs of all of our guests so that we can provide a memorable experience and a more relaxing stay. With exceptional service, luxurious accommodations and an award winning restaurant, The Beechwood Hotel brings world class hospitality to Central Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing