We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK stay, not much in the area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Worcester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Worcester
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“OK stay, not much in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed here one night because we were attending a wedding nearby. We arrived early and had no problem getting into a room at 2 o'clock to get read for the wedding. There is an Uno's attached to the hotel and a parking garage across the street. The hotel wasn't very crowded so I think they spread the guest out you are not on top of each other and hearing each other's TVs playing.

The place looks like a standard business type hotel and if you're doing business at the DCU across the street you couldn't get any closer. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I thought there was that temperpedic foam on the top of the mattress however, I saw the next day that you could adjust the firness of the mattress via some mechanism at the head of the bed on each side. The bathroom was large.

My biggest complaint would be the air conditioner in the room. When I went to sleep it didn't bother me much, more like white noise however during the eveing I woke up very hot (apparently it wasn't going on much during the evening and I even notice a motion sensor on the thermostat so I didn't know if that was the casue) however, at about 4 am the air conditioner went on and was so loud it woke up up. Even after we were up and watching TV we had to turn up the sound on the TV because the noise from the air conditioner was overpowering everything.

High speed Wifi was great and fast. They offered free printing too.

There was a small snack store open 24/7 which you could pay at the front desk and the hotel offered a pool and a work out facility. The gym appeared to only have cardio equipment in it (I didn't actually go into the area, just looked through the door). They also have an area on the main lobby that you could get a breakfast buffet for 9.95. It appeared to offer omletes and bacon. We didn't try it out since you were essentially eating in the lobby area and it wasn't exactly a restaurant, more like a fast food dining area with food on the side.

if you are only having a short stay I would recommend it. It would be a great hotel if you were seeing a concert and didn't want drive too far.

Also, while the bed was incredibly comfortable, the comforter looked a bit bizarre with lumps all over it (check out the pictures I've attached.)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    248
    102
    43
    32
See reviews for
219
115
53
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

I stayed here for my boyfriend's graduation. Many people stayed here for the function. The UNO's on site was a great meeting place. There isn't much around the hotel within walking distance, but driving 1 mile south there are a lot of restaurants. I would highly recommend McFadden's for young people looking for a place to hang out - the best bartenders ever! Because the area relies heavily on the college kids, it was kinda dead when we were there.
There is a nice business center - all free. A nice pool/hot tub. The breakfast wasn't included which was annoying.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ak335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

The staff at this hotel was pleasant and attentive - great attitudes across the board. Unfortunately, this hotel seems to get a lot of traffic - carpeting was visibly dirty, stained and worn in the elevators and hallway. The rooms also showed signs of heavy use - carpeting was soiled and the chairs and bedspread were slightly stained. While not horrible, I'm used to a higher standard of cleanliness from HGI. The air conditioner sounded liek it was ready to shake itself out of the wall - I had to turn it off.
Breakfast service was also not typical - smaller selection and no real service from the staff beyond asking if everything was okay. No offer of coffee or other beverage.
Parking is $8.95 for self parking, and is located across a 4 lane road. I would suggest Valet ($12.00) for solo travelers arriving late.
Again, not terrible, but below par for HGI. There are numerous other hotels within a block - I think I'd try one of the others before returning to this property.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medicalalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

There is a degree of expectation with a Hilton even the garden variety that is just not fulfilled in Worcester. The rooms are fine and the rates competitive. But rests remains in the "what were they thinking category. Parking - who in the world wants the schlep across the street to a dark and questionable parking lot to park your car each time you go in and out. With five or six parking slots - all marked valet parking - this place is a disaster for access. If you have someone with special needs - try somewhere else. The staff is accommodating but the whole layout of this hotel is ill-conceived and will never change given the location. Second, the food offered is like the parking so substandard as to surprise you for a hotel chain of expectations. The breakfast buffet was stale as a japanese window display of the plastic stuff - yuk - and for ten bucks!! Internet access seemed like it fed into a dialup line so don't expect much there. The rooms were comfortable, clean and lived up to expectations. The cable - hotel minimum - but adequate - not seen a hotel bother with a tube HD TV and this Phillips unit looked like someone dropped it off the truck - slightly out of focus somehow. The hotel staff was generally helpful with the exception of the buffet area where they were rude but since the product they are pushing is so bad, I am sure that this is likely due to all the complaints. the business center was one thing that worked well with a nice color laserjet printer, fax machine and two PCs. The fitness center was bare bones but all the equipment worked - elliptical, treadmill, and cycle.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

The hotel room itself is great. The bed is comfortable, the decor is contemporary, the view is nice as these things go, the lobby is fantastic and there is even an attached restaurant. The pantry is fairly diverse, although cold medicine selection is limited. Housekeeping does it's job promptly, and does it well.

So the basics, nice room, competitive price, decent housekeeping, centralized location are all good, and if that's all you're looking for, than this place is fine.

Now we get above and beyond the basics and start to have problems.

The front desk service is anything but prompt and knowledgeable about anything from where to find a drug store to setting a wake up call.

The valet service is nothing less than a joke. This isn't the part of the valet, mind you, it's how the service is setup. A sane valet stand employs two people: one to take your keys and a second to run the cars back and forth to the lot. They may rotate positions,but there are two of them. On weekends, with events happening at the arena across the street, said stand should probably be open later than 11 p.m. If a guest pays for valet services, they should get valet service. Not be told by the front desk (after the front desk clerk eventually ends a personal call) "the valet is not available, you'll have to park it yourself."

The hotel has no free parking, understandable, and your alternative to the valet is a pay lot with no in or out privileges. Provided you know where the valet parked your car to begin with.

And of course, because there's one valet, when their should be two, the valet temporary parking is constantly full, leaving you no place to pull your car for the valet to park it, assuming he's there to begin with. So you have to double park, risking a ticket, to walk in and have the front desk clerk tell you you have to park the car yourself.

If you are a business traveler, doing in and out during the day, you either eat the lot cost or use valet. But the valet system is untenable.

It's great to have an attached restaurant to the hotel at which to eat, even if it is an Unos. And it's a nice Unos. Filled with waitresses who insist they cannot bill your meal to your hotel room. Again, not a big deal unless you have to track receipts for business travel. So, my advice - get room service.

I would love to give you a comprehensive review of the breakfast area. However, the breakfast people fail to realize that milk, once it has gone sour, does not magically unsour itself if you put it back under ice. One drink of sour milk more or less ruins my appetite, and to have it happen on consecutive days is unacceptable. Had I actually had to pay for breakfast, I would have been really upset.

Maintenance's idea of assisting you with a stopped up toilet is to leave a plunger outside your door and run in the opposite direction back down to the lobby so he can resume flirting with the front desk clerk.

The front desk will neither notify you nor deliver your dry cleaning/laundry to your room when it's done.

The business center is sub par. The computers are roughly four years old and run like it.

The essentials, the room, the location, are fine. Even great. Housekeeping does a great job. Everything else in this hotel is a complete failure. And that may not stop you from staying there, which is fine, but within two blocks are a Hampton Inn and a Crowne Plaza which offer almost as much for roughly the same price, without the incompetence.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cromartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2009

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn during one of my many business trips. When I arrived the front desk staff was excellent and fast! My room was cleaned and comfortable. The beds were very comfy and I felt right at home. Breakfast was delicious the chef cooked my favoirte type of omlet and hand delivered it....having UNOs Chicago Grille attached to the hotel is a great feature, after my long and stressful day I enjoyed a nice beverage and some dinner in the lounge...great environment!! I told the valet that I was checking out very early the next morning so he kept my car behind the hotel so I would be able to leave quickly as I had an early flight in Boston. Front desk staff understood my need to leave quickly and had my bill ready for me when I came downstairs.....I will most certainly be returning to this hotel for my next visit to Worcester! Keep up the good work HIlton!

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Garycran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

Came to a concert last year at DCU and leaving was a NIGHTMARE - stuck in parking garage for almost an hour before I parked the car again and walked out with my daughter to Uno's for another hour to wait it out (and use restrooms). Then we drove home. It was late and miserable. That is when I was convinced that NEXT time, we are staying at this Hilton Garden Inn. So we did :-)

We had excellent seats at DCU for the Jeff Dunham show and decided to make a night of it with the kids (age 12, age 19). Not to mention, the remnants of Hurricane Hannah was coming thru that evening (Sept 6th). Excellent choice that we decided to stay overnight.

We arrived 3pm and checked in right away. Room was clean with comfortable beds on 2nd floor. No noise problems at all.

Had early dinner at Pizzeria Uno's - food was decent enough. We took a dip in the pool and jacuzzi. Very small area - but enough for a little diversion before getting ready for the DCU concert.

Quick walk across the street to DCU. EXCELLENT show with The Guitar Guy and Jeff Dunham (he had all new material - for his new DVD coming out before the holidays). A full 3 hours with the 2 comedians. Some excellent laughs !!

Coming back from DCU at 11pm in TORRENTIAL RAINSTORM. Thankfully, not too far a walk. Would not have wanted to try to leave the parking garage and drive home in that - ugh. Went up to room, watched a movie and had a great night rest. Did not do the breakfast downstairs. Instead, walked out of the main entrance, took a left and then went across the street to the Convenience Store that had a HoneyDew Donuts shop inside.
Love their coffee over DD any day !

Getting out of Worcester was a breeze at 10am. The valet parking is a bit slow. But worth it. I think it was $12.95 for the night.

The hotel with a AAA discount was under $130. A good deal.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness and comfort of room
  • Disliked — Improve the pool area to make it more inviting
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BL4330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Worcester
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Worcester Downtown
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Worcester
Residence Inn Worcester
#4 of 8 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#7 of 8 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard Worcester
#5 of 8 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Worcester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Worcester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Worcester

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Worcester
Address: 35 Major Taylor Blvd, Worcester, MA 01608-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Worcester 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Worcester hotel. This comfortable and convenient Worcester hotel boasts an ideal location in the heart of downtown Worcester, Massachusetts. Situated adjacent to the DCU Convention Center, our Worcester hotel offers proximity to 13 major Massachusetts colleges and universities and an array of fantastic shopping venues and dining opportunities. Discover comfort and convenience at this bright and airy Worcester hotel. From our oh-so-comfortable beds, to cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary WiFi, the Hilton Garden Inn Worcester hotel has everything you need for a successful stay. Indulge in a cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® or grab a takeaway meal from our 24-hour Pavilion Pantry®. Choose from refrigerated and frozen microwaveable items that you can prepare with your convenient, in-room microwave or simply relax with evening room service in your inviting guest room. Host a meeting or event in our eight meeting rooms or enjoy a grand reception in our beautiful lobby - this magnificent atrium can host up to 175 guests. After a long day in the complimentary business center, unwind with a refreshing swim in the indoor pool or rejuvenate in our fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Worcester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Worcester
Worcester Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing