We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My jewelry was stolen at the Hilton Garden Inn =(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Worcester
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My jewelry was stolen at the Hilton Garden Inn =(”
Reviewed November 13, 2007

We stayed for 4 nights in October for a local wedding. We were actually really excited about this hotel - we were planning on staying here again when we go back to Worcester for Christmas.

Unfortunately, on our third day there, Saturday, while we were at the wedding, two pieces of my jewlery were stolen from the room. The housekeeper (who seemed quite suspicious because she left a very strange note in the room AND called in sick the next morning) claimed that she did not take it. The weekend staff were quite apologetic, but said it had to wait until Monday (when we were back in LA) to go to the General Manager.

Unfortunately, we did not have a very good experience with the manager. He did not call us back on Monday as promised, and on Tuesday only called after we contacted his higher ups at Hilton. Wednesday we heard from the hotel's insurance company that they would not cover the theft. He was not very responsive.

In the end, we were able to negotiate with the hotel manager to get 2 of the 4 nights refunded (he originally only wanted to refund 1 night) which didn't even cover the deductable on my renter's insurance policy. Fortunately I did have insurance so I was at least able to replace the physical items, but not the sentimental value ( they were anniversary gifts).

The worst part is, to my knowledge, the housekeeper is still employed there. If this hadn't happened, I would give the hotel 4/5...it was clean, new, good location, etc. BUT the loss of the jewlery combined with the poor response from the manager knocks it down to a 1/5...

If you stay here, LEAVE YOUR VALUABLES at home!!

  • Liked — Good location, clean and new
  • Disliked — Theft from room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DiaEmerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    256
    107
    43
    33
See reviews for
229
121
55
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

I stayed for three nights to visit a sick relative staying in the nearby St. Vincent's Hospital. I chose it because it is so close to the hospital.

The hotel is new and fresh and very clean. Everything functioned properly in the room. The bed was very comfortable, though I prefer natural fibers and the comforter and pillows were poly-filled. It would be nice to have a choice.

I ate at the hotel's Uno Restaurant twice. It was convenient, and the waitstaff were mostly young college students who were upbeat and seemed to like their jobs. The menu is large and the prices reasonable.

I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank NowVoyager63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

This is a late review, but finally had a chance to come back to tripadvisor. Stayed at this hotel last Feb. '07 for 4 nights will at a trade show at the convention next door. We used to stay a few blocks away at the Crown Plaza for years, but figured we would try something different.

We are glad we did!!!

Everything is brand new, clean and convenient. Just across the street and you are at the Centrum (or whatever it is called now). Not much parking, but there is a valet there and they will park your vehicel in the parking garage across the street. Very centralized and convenient location if you are there on business. The new gov't center is being built right next door as well. There is also an Uno's Restaurant there which has a wide variety of food and a big bar area.

We have already booked our rooms to go back next year.

  • Liked — Convenient to Convention Center, Very Clean
  • Disliked — Soda Machines Were Out of Soda On All Floors...
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mainetoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We are a family of four who stayed here for one night in August '07.

Pros:
Of all the hotels I've stayed in, this one had the best free breakfast deal -- scrambled eggs, hash browns, sausage, yogurts, fresh fruit assortment, etc. The very nice chef will make your eggs to order, too. I had an excellent egg-beaters veggie omelet! It was delicious!

The beds were very comfortable - with nice white clean crisp sheets and towels. The room was a good size. They have a small indoor pool which was fine, since we were the only ones using it on a Sunday night. There is also a whirlpool, and across the hall, there is a business room with free computer use. I was able to check my email from there.

PIzzaria Uno is connected to the hotel and has good food, reasonably priced.

Cons:

Very confusing upon check-in. We were not sure where to park so we could check in. The young lady at the front desk was very serious - did not welcome me (although a gentleman next to her did, who then disappeared). She did not crack the slightest smile during the whole check-in process and kept repeating herself as if she didn't realize she already said it. "you have one room for one night for 4 people. " Then a minute later, she said it again. She did not make me feel welcome, and in fact, she seemed in a rush to get me out of there, even though I was the only person at the counter. She never offered information about where to park - I had to ask. They charge an extra $10 for parking, whether you use the valet or not. (Use the valet parking - it makes life so much easier if you have a lot of luggage and you don't have to tip if you don't want to.)

If you are a light sleeper, don't stay here in the summer. The A/C cyles on and off with a clunking noise, and there is a lot of noise from the bar across the street at night. (I asked for a room on an upper floor and could still hear it.)

  • Liked — The pool area was clean and the breakfast outstanding. Close to Clark University.
  • Disliked — We paid $161 for one night - pretty expensive, but I figure the breakfast offsets some of this.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms Patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Overall I would rate this hotel as above average. This hotel is new and the rooms are clean (as of Aug 2007). It is located across the street from the DCU Center and there is a Uno Chicago grill attached to the hotel. Every morning there is a breakfast served near the lobby. I could not tell you the exact price b/c it was different everyday but it was around $10. It is buffet style and if you ask the cooks they will make you eggs to order. There is fresh fruit, cereal, and all types of bread.
You have the option when arriving to have your car valet parked. I would suggest not doing this if you need to get out of the hotel at a certain time b/c they only have 2 people getting cars. Instead you can park at the public parking garage and take your ticket to the front desk, they will validate it and you can go in and out of the garage as many times as you want. There is a 10 per day fee no matter how you park.
There is a gym and a small pool with a Jacuzzi. The gym has the basics and the pool seemed to be about 20 yards long and 3-4 lanes wide.
Suggestions on rooms – even numbers do not face the street. There is a hospital up the road and I would suggest staying in an even number b/c I did not hear any sirens and people on the other side did hear some.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MeanGoldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

My fiancee and I stayed here for a few months back. The service by the staff was a joke! We repeatedly called for a simple request (scissors) explaining that we had to leave in a few minutes, first they said it was on the way-nothing came for 20mins, then they said it was on the way again-nothing for 10more mins, then they blocked our call!!! When we went to leave we called down to have our car brought around because we were in a rush. We got downstairs and they never bothered to call for the car. Some 20mins later the car arrived.

The hotel is nice. The beds are very comfortable. The TV is weird and
painful to use.

Overall, I saw another hotel near it, i recommend trying it.

  • Liked — the beds were great!
  • Disliked — the hotel service was horrific!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonasboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We needed a clean, comfortable room for just overnight to recharge our batteries and were pleased with our room at the Hilton Garden Inn. The beds were very comfortable, the wireless internet very easy to access and the food from the attached Uno Chicago Grill was very good. Just one fly in the ointment....upon checkout we needed to catch a cab to the train station. The city was repaving the streets in the area around the hotel that day and though the front desk clerk called for a cab, the cabbies were having a hard time figuring out how to access the hotel. Long story short, the front desk clerk was of no help (even though there was a way in and out, because the valet were bringing cars up from the parking area) and we ended up hiking two blocks with luggage to hail a cab off the street.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Footloose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Worcester
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Worcester Downtown
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Worcester
Courtyard Worcester
#5 of 9 in Worcester
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Worcester
Residence Inn Worcester
#4 of 9 in Worcester
292 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Worcester
1.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#6 of 9 in Worcester
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Worcester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Worcester

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Worcester
Address: 35 Major Taylor Blvd, Worcester, MA 01608-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Worcester 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Worcester hotel. This comfortable and convenient Worcester hotel boasts an ideal location in the heart of downtown Worcester, Massachusetts. Situated adjacent to the DCU Convention Center, our Worcester hotel offers proximity to 13 major Massachusetts colleges and universities and an array of fantastic shopping venues and dining opportunities. Discover comfort and convenience at this bright and airy Worcester hotel. From our oh-so-comfortable beds, to cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary WiFi, the Hilton Garden Inn Worcester hotel has everything you need for a successful stay. Indulge in a cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® or grab a takeaway meal from our 24-hour Pavilion Pantry®. Choose from refrigerated and frozen microwaveable items that you can prepare with your convenient, in-room microwave or simply relax with evening room service in your inviting guest room. Host a meeting or event in our eight meeting rooms or enjoy a grand reception in our beautiful lobby - this magnificent atrium can host up to 175 guests. After a long day in the complimentary business center, unwind with a refreshing swim in the indoor pool or rejuvenate in our fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Worcester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Worcester
Worcester Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing