We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sole Proprietor

Sole Proprietor
Reserve with OpenTable
Sole Proprietor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 566 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Street
MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Sole Proprietor can be relied on to supply good food, good service in an upscale atmosphere. The menu is well stocked with fish selections, as well as others for eaters that do not enjoy fish. We were there as they were finishing up thier Crabfest, with Buster the Crab adorning their roof. Prices tend to be on the higher side, though not out of line with what would be expected at a restaurant of this caliber. Often gets very busy for lunch and dinner, and the bar is a crowded waiting space. You won't often be disappointed at the sole!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    215
    85
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A bit too loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The food and service were great but it was just too loud. If you are looking for a quite dinner, this is not the place for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
Level Contributor
153 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mom's birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Drove just over an hour to go to Crab Fest! Buster the crab is always fun to see! Service is great, staff is friendly! The meal is always great! Went last month for lobster fest. If you like fish or shellfish, this is the place!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DonMacL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
264 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“good food but really noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My stuffed flounder was pretty good. My wife's Salmon Oscar was terrific. The clam chowder was too bacon-y -- we just had better in a no-name shack in Maine. The noise level was a problem. We were seated next to a large group and couldn't hear a word said at our table. They should really put groups like that in private rooms.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Watsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

One of my favorites and I'm surprised I've never reviewed it! Always busy is a testimonial on its local popularity. Seafood is super fresh especially the raw bar. I usually get a half dozen oysters (4-6 varieties) but today had a fabulous Clams Casino. Perfectly done and not boiling hot. My main course was a special at lunch of broiled scallops with grilled prosciutto, sun dried tomato, onion and buttery sauce over rice pilaf. Huge for only $11, but ate it all. No room for deserts but they always great. My wife had a favorite of mine, trout in a baked potato crust with a spicy red sauce and veggies. Service is great. Only criticism is that because its popular the noise level can be high. There are waits at peak times.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sole Proprietor also viewed

 

Been to Sole Proprietor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing