We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "Go-To" Restaurant”

O'Connor's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 574 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Henniker, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our "Go-To" Restaurant”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This our "go-to restaurant! We eat here often (5-6 times a year for 10+ years). The bar and atmosphere is excellent. Brendon and Claire have turned this place into THE place for great food, drinks and a great time.

This is not just an Irish bar and pub fare! While there is certainly a fine selection of ales (love Murphy's Stout!) and some traditional Irish fare on the menu, you will also find some wonderfully creative dishes with Indian, Italian, French, and even Mediterranean influences. There is truly something for everyone on the menu, young and old alike. Be sure to try the "Potato Pizza" appetizer!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    201
    63
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barre, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic comfort food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you like good comfort food and a tall pint of Guiness O'connor's is your place. Went here with a coupld freinds after the 2013 Blizzard. They were very busy and we had a slight wait, but it is a big place and were seated in about 15 minute's.
I think everyone in our party had some sort of "pie" meal. These are big so bring your appetite. I enjoyed the meatball and mash pie (similar to a sheppards pie). When it come out in its own baking dish (that looked like it was big enough to food a small family). I was definitely intimidated by the meal. I dove in though an enjoyed every last morsel. I cant say the same for the side of veggies that came with it, those were left untouched as I can not eat another bite after finishing off that monster dish!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keepingbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great spot”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Livel bar, good appetizers especially the irish pizza. The place is huge with many side rooms and always crowded. I Recommend trying the bar as you can usually find a place within a few minutes. The plank salmonis delicious,as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank surfer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
335 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Very good food at moderate price! Must go!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had dinner here after 3h snow removal exercise after Nemo :-) .. nice atmosphere, great ale beers. We had the haddock fish & chips with coleslaw and tartar sauce, which was pretty good, and Lt Governor, which was kind of beef stew in a puffy pastry with mashed potatoes. Really great taste for pretty moderate prices. We need to go there again and try the remaining yummy dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KKBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable pub atmosphere”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went with friends after a day outing and stopped for supper. The pub is very interesting, broken up into smaller dining rooms which meant that the noise level was much quieter than other places we've been to enabling us to have easy conversations.

The pub has a great variety of beers, many on tap. For an appetizer we tried Dougal's Scotch Eggs--a nicely flavored meat coating. When we've had them in Wales the meat coating is a bit thicker.

The Entree I had was the Fish and Chips served with cole slaw. The fish (haddock) was moist and tender with a usual coating. French fries were hot and crispy. The cole slaw had too much vinegar and I couldn't eat it. My husband had stuffed fish fillet with mashed potato and roasted vegetable which he liked. We had coffee but couldn't have dessert because we all were full. The prices were reasonable for this kind of restaurant

The service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theConcordTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connor's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to O'Connor's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing