We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the Young One in All of US” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Higgins Armory Museum - CLOSED

Higgins Armory Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Higgins Armory Museum is the most extensive arms and armor collection in the Western Hemisphere. Constructed in 1930 by John Woodman Higgins to house his elaborate and eclectic collection of arms and armor, Higgins Armory Museum displays arms and armor ranging from ancient Greek Corinthian helmets to ornate suits of armor crafted at the height of the Renaissance. The artifacts are arranged gallantly in a spectacular two-story Medieval Great Hall arranged with more than 35 suits of armor and a stunning array of arms amidst tapestries, stained glass, and soaring ceilings. Demonstrations and programs bring to life arms and armor from around the world and across centuries.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“For the Young One in All of US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I visited this museum as a child and it was great. As a an adult I could appreciate this unique and FUN location. The museum will close at the end of the year, so take advantage seeing the AMAZING location. The collection will move to the Worcester Art Museum but the location will be lost forever. Take advantage now. If you go after 3, tickets are half price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeriSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    3
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More amazing than I could have thought!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Although I've been to Worcester several times, this past July was the first time I'd visited the Higgins Armory Museum. It never sounded all that interesting to me before, but I wanted to go with my husband, who'd been there a number of times. Well. I had the best time! Higgins Armory is a private collection of armor and weaponry from all over the world - especially Europe and surrounding regions. The pieces gathered here are from throughout the centuries, and have been meticulously maintained. There are even fencing lessons that can be watched while touring the museum, along with a great 20-minute orientation demonstration given twice a day. I could have spent at least another hour beyond the two that we were there. There is a lot to take in and learn.

IMPORTANT NOTE: The Higgins Armory Museum IS NOT going away at the end of this year. The building itself will be closing, but we were told by the staff that the entire collection will be moving to the Worcester Art Museum. We learned that an entire library is being renovated at the art museum to house the Higgins collection of armory and weaponry. Also, we were told that while in the current location only about 1,500 pieces of the collection can be seen at any one time, at the new Worcester Art Museum location, all 4,000 or so pieces will be visible at any time. While it will be sad to see the old museum location close, the good news is that the entire collection will be on view after the move. In 2014, while the library renovation is being finished, there will be a temporary exhibition available. So, do not despair! By 2015, you will be able to see everything.

Article about the Higgins Armory closing and move, The Boston Globe, March 8, 2013:
http://www.bostonglobe.com/arts/2013/03/08/higgins-armory-museum-close-arms-and-armor-worcester-art-museum/3Y4p45OpkfMrQxSGmlP3NP/story.html

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJH532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Inspiring and Amazing Collection; Visit while you can!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Higgins Armory Museum has a truly stunning and inspiring collection of armor from around the world. There is a great representation not only from Europe, but from Africa and Asia as well. The structure of the Museum is awe inspiring. The main armory levels create a scene straight out of medieval castles from Europe.

The museum hosts a lot of activities from children, and adults alike, and does a fantastic job of bringing life to this incredible collection outside of the museum cases. There are some great hands on exhibits for the kids (and adults who want to relive their childhood) that cannot be missed.

The most depressing thing about this museum is that it is closing down at the end of 2013. The collection will be moved to the Worcester Art Museum but it has yet to be determined what will happen with the amazingly unique steel building that currently houses the collection. And let's face it.. Higgins and the collection will never be the same again.

Visit while you can. Visit for the first time or simply for nostalgia's sake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JNATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Gem in Worcester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A wonderful adventure into the past for young and old. Sadly they are closing due to funding at the end of 2013. Visit while you can.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome place for children.... of all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fantastic place..... better get there before it closes for good.
What a disappointment they'll be closing their doors.
My grandsons and I have spent many a day there when they are in town. Fantastic, things to see, learn, do, create.....
Don't miss it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank info4you123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higgins Armory Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing