We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show was great, facility less than substandard”
Review of DCU Center

DCU Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Nottingham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
169 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Show was great, facility less than substandard”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We saw the Michael Jackson THE IMMORTAL World Tour by Cirque du Soleil here and we're very impressed by the show. We parked across the street and 'thought' we strategically took a great spot .
This facility looks great from the outside but needs some serious updating in the way of bathrooms, be prepared to wait.
After the great show it took us 1 hr to leave the parking garage. Zikes!
Next time park at St Vincent's it will be a better option.

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    15
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
644 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
“Small place but scary patrons! Be careful walking to parking”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you have to see something here like a concert or worse a hockey game the only good part is the cheap parking. Other than that you will see some really scary sights meaning the locals that frequent the place and actually some pretty rude inconsiderate people. The place is pretty tiny and no seat is really bad. The big problem I saw was mostly the scary clientele, which looked like they came out of the back woods of Worcester to have that "big night out" with tons of cold Coors light and plastic cups of White Zin. Be mindful of your surroundings leaving the place since some of the parking areas look like they are in the middle of a war zone.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Monsterjam”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited last year show was crazy loved it diet track and how nice everyone is comming back in 2014 this event is a must for everyone

Helpful?
Thank timinleb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It felt like they were playing in my backyard!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited the DCU Center earlier this month for Pearl Jam. Their set was incredible, the sound was pretty good (could've have been better according to my musician friend. Although I couldn't tell) and the convenience of the show location was perfect. Traffic was a breeze and pales in comparison to Gillette or the Garden. Beers and food were a bargain and we were out of the city and back on the highway in less than 10 minutes which never happens anywhere else. Will definitely revisit next time they have a concert I'd like to attend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmcgonigle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We saw Pearl Jam at the DCU Center last week. I will agree that the concessions lines were unreasonably long and that serving warm beer from cans to patrons is really bad form. Also - cash only at concessions! Really?!? I will also say, though, that all the staff we encountered, from the concessions workers, to security/house, to the guys at the garage next door, were very friendly and seemed to generally want us to enjoy ourselves. In addition, the band sounded great. Also, there was a late ticket drop and we were upgraded by an employee to much better seats than our original location (we were on the side of the stage in just about the last row - nosebleeds). So, there's room for improvement for sure but it still beats the way I've been treated at Fenway Park or other places.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bostowyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DCU Center also viewed

 

Been to DCU Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing