We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Favorite!”
Review of Gumbo - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gumbo
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
crappymcgee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My New Favorite!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Gumbo is by far one of the best new restaurants in Worcester! The food is consistently creative & delicious, and you'd be hard pressed to find anything else like it in the area. The decor & building are charming - exposed brick, fireplaces, lots of nooks & crannies. And the menu is fabulous - tons of choices, always good. The drinks are great too -- you've GOT to try the Bourbon Iced Tea! Parking can be a bit tough, but no worse than all the other up-and-coming spots on Water St.
Absolutely worth a visit (or two!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crappymcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, MA
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had heard mixed reviews of Gumbo, so we were a little hesitant to go. But, we were all pleasantly surprised. The decore in the dinning area is differnt, under ground with the walls made of brick and natural stone. It was decorated tastefully for the holidays.

Wine selection was ok. My favorite Malbec tasted as though it had been open for a while.

Dinner was very good. The shrimp corn chowder was served hot and full of shrimp. Not too heavy. Dinners included their house Gumbo, Chicken Etouffee, Apricot Glazed Chicken and Haddock Czarina. Make sure you order the haddock sauce on the spicy side (great suggestion from our server). I think it would be over powering if served directly on vegetables and/or the haddock.

It is nice to have a New Orleans/Cajun restaurant in Worcester!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PWDGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic N'Orleans food in Central MA. Who Knew?”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went there last night for the 2nd time in a group of 8 people for a holiday dinner. Food and service were excellent for the 2nd time.

Below street-level restaurant with two bars in the main area and one dining area. One has a small band or solo player playing Cajun music or similar themed. Our first trip there, I had the seafood Etouffe and my wife had the Jambalaya.. Very tasty and authentic tasting in large portions served with excellent cornbread. Portions were large enough to take half home.

Last nights trip I had the blackened catfish with creole greenbeans while my wife had the seafood etouffee. Both meals were excellent and served with authentic N'Orleans taste. Others in our group (first time there) had blackened steak tips, grilled scallops and the Ahi and indicated that Gumbo is now their favorite restaurant in Worcester. A few of us also had the Gumbo appetizer which was served nicely in a bowl split in the middle with half rice and half gumbo. I heard the pear salad was also very good.

As the dining area is not very large, I would recommend reservations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howardru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Finally!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were so happy to find a place in Central Mass that finally offers great New Orleans/Cajun food. I really like the Blackened Salmon, but you can never go wrong with one of ther Jambalay choices. The decore is really different as the main dining area is underground and the walls are made out of natural stone. In addition to a regular bar where they sometimes offer live music, there is also a whiskey bar with an extensive menu of whiskeys, scotches, etc. Definitely a thumbs up and we will be going back for a 3rd time very soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went there about three weeks ago and was surprised at how good the food was. i would suggest checking this place out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FACTMAN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing