We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GORGEOUS!”

Worcester Art Museum
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This central Massachusetts museum houses a collection that includes works by European and American artists as well as Asian, Greek and Roman art.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
630 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Small, eclectic collection, that is a place to be lost in art and thought on a rainy or snowy day. The cafe is really nice. Sundays are free!

Helpful?
Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    115
    8
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Worcester Art Museum”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

As a youngster, I went there often. As an adult, I made sure my boys had the opportunity to classes as toddlers, youngsters and young adults. Recently, the Photography of Matthew Brady came as a traveling exhibit and it was fantastic. I'd like to get my granddaughter to a class for the youngsters.

The adult School of Art has graduated a goodly number of advertising and graphic arts students. Our Art Museum has a worldwide reputation and allows other museums to borrow exhibits and Worcester is able to bring in some great traveling exhibits from various parts of the world.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank write2earn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
180 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Art Museuem Outside of Boston”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Worcester Art Museum provides an opportunity to see some great works of art, well displayed and organized with great commentary posted nearby, without feeling overwhelmed by the size and number of galleries that a visitor to the Boston Fine Arts Museum might feel. However, any museum requires multiple visits with limited number of galleries to visit in order to fully appreciate the artwork. We went on a Sunday and had a leisurely tour of galleries we hadn't seen before. Free parking and easy access makes this trip to Worcester from the Boston area very worthwhile.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NeedSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a museum”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just had time for a quick run through. Not very big, but each piece in the museum was wonderful. Nice range from ancient Egypt through modern art.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdzlaw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Woo's little treasure”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This place is huge so you can definitely spend a whole day there. It's free the first Saturday of every month and it has an amazing collection from all over the world.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brocolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Worcester Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Worcester Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing