We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanover Theatre”

The Hanover Theatre for the Performing Arts
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hanover Theatre continues to draw over 170,000 patrons annually with world-class performances and headlining acts including touring Broadway hits ("Les Miserables," "Mary Poppins," "Jersey Boys"); comedians (Steve Martin, George Carlin, Dave Chappelle); musical acts (Neil Young, Aretha Franklin, The Moody Blues, Diana Ross); and everything in between ("A Christmas Carol," Maya Angelou, Rudy Giuliani, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theatre).Consistantly ranked by POLLSTAR as one of the Top Theatres in the World, the theatre opened in March of 2008 following a $32 million historic renovation. Since opening, the theatre has established its place as a world-class performing arts venue, acting as a catalyst for the economic development of downtown Worcester. Worcester Center for Performing Arts, is a registered not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization, owns and operates The Hanover Theatre for the Performing Arts. All donations are tax deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hanover Theatre”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went to Hanover Theatre in worcester to see a Christmas ballet.NUTCRACKER..food and drinks available,
Parking reasonable across the street $10.00; arrive 1/2 hour prior for good parking
Seatings were great selections......all should try it

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    65
    6
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Theater”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hard to believe this is in Worcester. Place was reconstructed and now has great shows coming through.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big city atmosphere in Worcester”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I have been to over 25 shows at the Hanover since its opening and have always been more than pleased with the quality of the show and the atmoshpere of the theatre. This is a real gem of an experience and you can feel the committment to quality in the small details. You are always greeted with a smile from the volunteers and they are more than accomodating to ensure a great experience. I have also gone to various kids performances and my 3 and 4 year olds have a blast!
The only issue we have ever had was quickly rectified. Our seats were the first row balcony and we were distracted by the safety bar that obstructed out view. I walked over to the ticket window and explained the situation at which point they upgraded us to better seats. Wonderfully handled! We are returning tonight for American Idiot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happymamaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

wonderfully restored theatre; an opportunity to see touring shows at a significantly lower price than Boston. Park in the surface lot near the Worcester public library

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great intimate theater”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love this theatre, it is large enough to attract some of the larger acts, but small enough that there really is not a bad seat in the house. We hope it stays open always and continues to bring the best entertainment to Worcester.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hungrygirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hanover Theatre for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to The Hanover Theatre for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing