We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week-end in Worcester”

Ceres Bistro at Beechwood Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
Ceres Bistro at Beechwood Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 574 Restaurants in Worcester
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Belmont Street
Description: Serene, sophisticated, and inspired by the Goddess of the Harvest, Ceres Bistro celebrates the seasons and delivers only the freshest ingredients to your table. Ceres is open seven days per week for casual fine dining during breakfast, lunch, and dinner and serves a late night menu in the bar. The décor is warm and inviting with soft curving booths and beautiful views to our outdoor gardens. A floor to ceiling glass wall brings the outside in and opens to the patio for dining or enjoying a cocktail at the outdoor bar. The main dining area seats 90 and features a magnificent stained glass ceiling dome from the late 1800's that transcends time.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“week-end in Worcester”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

First rate food in fabulous setting. Modern and designed for a muffled ambience. Great destination even if you are not staying at the hotel.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francoise337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    61
    36
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Food was very good and so was the service...really like the round high backed booths, gives a nice warm feeling and make conversation easy. Also, blocks out noise from other tables.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food, but bad service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I took clients to dinner Saturday night. The food was very good, but the service was terrible. The time between courses sometimes was over 45 minutes. The empty dishes sat on the table way too long and our water was never refilled, not even once. The waitstaff seemed very inexperienced for such a high priced restaurant. Even though we enjoyed the food, we will not be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank codyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent food, but not cheap”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were too tired to go out the night that we stayed at the Beechwood Hotel (where Ceres is located) so had dinner there. Not cheap but the food was tasty. We liked that they had a couple of different vegetarian entrees and ended up getting the vegetarian bento box, which was both tasty and unusual. Nice idea because there's variety and each individual item seemed to be prepared with care. especially liked the roasted butternut squash, one component of the bento box. we also had the spinach-beet-goat cheese salad and that was quite tasty and not overdressed. Service was fine. we were a bit under-dressed in our jeans but nice tops and sweaters. Many people in suits and dressier clothing; felt a bit old fashioned in that sense (and the service felt kind of old fashioned and stiff) although the space, which is nice, is aggressively modern.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Surprise inthe Middle of Worcester”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had been talking about going to Ceres for sometime but only made the effort after buying a Groupon a few months back. Went on a Friday night and the restaurant and bar were hopping. Great lively atmosphere and nice ambience in the restaurant. Started the dinner waiting in the lounge for a better table and scoped out our dinner selections.

My wife started with a greek salad which she said was good, but on the salty side. I started with the butternut squash and lump crab soup which was exceptional. Sweet and tasty. For the main course, my wife had the cajun swordfish which was moist and excellent. I had the ribeye with au poivre sauce which was good. While the steak had a few sections on the tough side, it was tasty and cooked to perfection.

If you're looking for an upscale restaurant with a nice ambience for a special night or with friends, Ceres meets those requirements.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howardru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceres Bistro at Beechwood Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Ceres Bistro at Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing