We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mexican Food”
Review of Plaza Azteca

Plaza Azteca
Ranked #92 of 574 Restaurants in Worcester
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was about the 4th time we had been here. Mostly for lunch( VERY good taco salads), but tried for dinner this time, after a very busy, hot day. Greeted and seated promptly. Lovely little waitress (from Equador), brought menus and took our drink order. It's a very large menu, with many pictures and explanations of the items. While we were waiting, we were given a heaping basket, of fresh, warm chips with 2 kinds of salsa. Both a little tangy, but very good. Resist eating the whole basket...they are addicting and very filling. We passed on the table side guacamole....huge amt, enough to serve 5 + people. Our dinners came rather promptly, nice and hot! I had seafood quesadillas (good, but not outstanding), and my husband has Veracruz talapia (very good). Kitchy "Mexican" decor, but cute. Overall a good - very good dining experience!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank memlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Almost... needs a little work”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Good but not great food. Salsa was very good, the table-side made guacamole was worth every penny. Margaritas were almost all ice, very little alcohol. Service was slow but eventually everything came nice and hot. Flan was not real Mexican recipe. More gelatinous than custardy. Menus were old and grody like they'd been used for years. Music playing in background started out loud hard head-banging rock, but switched to latin when asked to turn it down. TV overhead played infomercial. Why do we need a TV in a Mexican restaurant??? Almost... but just not quite there: room for improvement, especially with all the good restaurants within 30 seconds walking distance from this one they need to bump it up a notch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowtiebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Giggy 55”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I went back to Plaza Azteca yesterday to try it one more time, because my last experience was not favorable. I ordered the Enchilldas. To say the food is terrible is an understatement. The serving size was small, the wrap was cold, and the rice had no taste. I have eaten there 3 times, and each time was worse thatn the previous visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shamrocks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Nebraska
Level Contributor
387 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Not authentic but good”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is another place we stopped at because it was busy. Knowing what authentic Mexican is like this isn't it but it was still good, from the fajitas to the quesadillas to the enchiladas. The chips and salsa were pretty good as well. I've had better but I've also had much, much worse.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Letsroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
315 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I think this restaurant belongs to a small chain but don't let that keep you from trying it. We've had 2 excellent dinners here and love the guacamole they prepare at your table as well as their mysterious white dipping sauce? The menu has plenty of choices - I love the Pollo Relleno(?).

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cottonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Azteca also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing