We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From excellent to entitled”
Review of Armsby Abbey

Armsby Abbey
Ranked #9 of 578 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“From excellent to entitled”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Like many other reviewers, I previously rated Armsby Abbey here as an excellent establishment. Unfortunately, their good reviews seem to have gone to their heads and made them forget that good manners go a long way in making customers return. And return customers are who keep restaurants going, particularly in a poor economy.

Tonight my family decided to once again enjoy dinner at Armsby Abbey. We arrived at about 7 PM on a Sunday night and were told that there would be a half hour wait for a table. We then walked to the rear of the bar and sat at a small table to order some appetizers and drinks while we waited for a table to open up. At this point, the hostess came over and told us that the table was too small for the four of us to have our dinner served upon. We explained that we were only going to have appetizers and drinks there and would move to a larger table for dinner when it became available. At this point we were told that we couldn't sit there because two people MIGHT come in who MIGHT want to eat dinner and MIGHT need to sit at this table. Since there was no one waiting behind us, and we were, essentially in the back of the bar, we were all taken aback by this statement. We again explained that we were buying four drinks, several appetizers and would then be having dinner. We were once again told to that we needed to vacate the table in case a hypothetical party of two arrived.

When we expressed our dissatisfaction about our treatment to the manager, he did nothing, although other patrons at the bar were equally aghast at how we had been treated.

Armsby Abbey has great food and great beer. However, it is in Worcester, not in New York or Boston where it can rely on a constantly changing tourist trade. Those of us who live in this city are the people who spend money in its restaurants. While we certainly don't expect anyone to fawn over us, we also don't expect to be treated rudely.

Being the hot place in town is nice... unless you become so hot that you burn all your bridges.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jggedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    94
    23
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice night out. F”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went on a Saturday night and amazingly got seated right away. My food was good, husbands was to die for (don't you hate food envy?!!) I've heard that brunch is the meal to go for. Looking forward to trying. This restaurant doesn't make my favorite of all time list, but the food was good and the servers were excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CousinElmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My son goes to school in Worcester and when we visit we love to go to armsby abbey which serves well prepared local food and great cocktails in a very clean, pubby atmosphere. We were there for brunch a few weeks ago and started with a cocktail at the bar. My blood orange mimosa was a work of art, beautiful to look at and delicious and different. They take their cocktails very seriously at armsby abbey. We all had the breakfast pizza with a side of their incredible bacon. They are known for their craft beer selection but I've never ordered a beer there so can't comment on that. The one downside is that they don't take reservations which can make for a wait at times, although I've found you can usually find a seat at the bar while you wait. The restaurant is small and crowded.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank egslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great for making an impression”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pricey though, so consider yourself warned.
Fantastic beer selection when you're in the mood to try something new, and the food is always capable of turning ones tastebuds on. They even bake their own bread each day just a few doors away and bring it over.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank elleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food and Drink!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned for the second time to the Armsby Abbey on Main Street in Worcester. We went early to ensure we could get a seat and a bite to eat. Once again, the food and drink were wonderful. We sample two different beers, but one was so delicious that we ended up sampling that one again! We had a plate of spectacular pickled vegetables, served with cheese and a hot pepper spread--delicious! Our only complaint was that the pickled jalapenos were too hot to eat! However the pickled shallots, green beans and zucchini were fabulous! We followed our pickles with a brussel sprout and bacon pizza, which again was delicious. The atmosphere is relaxed. The drink and food well worth enjoying. We highly recommend this place--but please don't go too early--we would still like to be able to get in!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sybilsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armsby Abbey also viewed

 

Been to Armsby Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing