We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with Woods Hole Passage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woods Hole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woods Hole Passage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Woods Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed with Woods Hole Passage”
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed at Woods Hole Passage because of its proximity to the Marthas Vineyard Ferry. The room was clean and comfortable with no TV or phone and the owners were friendly. However when we returned in the evening after our trip we found the bed had not been made and a used glass just left.
Our first morning the breakfast was very nice but the 2nd day it was very sparse consisting of 2 slices of french toast with a banana filling and a 'small' amount of fresh fruit and compared very poorly with the other excellent breakfasts we had on our 8 day trip.
This was the most expensive stay....but certainly not the best.

  • Liked — Close to Marthas Vineyard Ferry and Great Garden
  • Disliked — Bed not being made up and 'lite' breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RioTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaJulie, Owner at Woods Hole Passage Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2017
Please note that this review was before Martha and Julie owned the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
114
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keighley
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

There is a real skill in being a good host, taking an interest in your guests and not being obtrusive. Deb has this off to a fine art. Using her extensive knowledge of the Cape Cod area she advises/guides/informs hapless guest like us on how to make the best of our six days there. We were pointed towards some beautiful walks from the house and the area is well served with really good quality cycle paths.

The accommodation is wonderfully New England with a large breakfast/sitting room overlooking a spacious garden. The breakfasts were inventive and varied.

Although a road passes within a few yards of the house it did not disturb us (probably depends which room you are in).

Very handy for Woods Hole and Falmouth the latter having shops for all needs.

  • Liked — Homeliness Friendliness Location Food
  • Disliked — Can't safely walk to nearby towns on the busy road.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaveSKeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

This is a very decent B&B: clean, wireless access, great breakfast, very helpful owner. However, we stayed in the Fish Room and our matress was too soft, the furnishing too basic and the road is too noisy to merit a better rating. It's very well located for visits to Martha's Vineyard.

  • Liked — The owner and the breakfast
  • Disliked — The road and the matress
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sebx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaJulie, Owner at Woods Hole Passage Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2017
Please note: this was before Martha and Julie were owners of Woods hole Passage B&B Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

There are not enough nice words to describe beautiful Woods Hole Passage Bed & Breakfast Inn. The inn and surrounding property are beautiful and just what you'd expect out of a Cape Cod bed and breakfast.

The breakfasts are inventive, fresh, delicious and large enough to hold you off until a late lunch. The innkeepers are beyond accommodating -- they graciously and happily provided us with chairs and a cooler for the beach, refrigerator space, directions, ideas of things to do and even printed out our boarding passes for the flight home. The rooms are cozy and are stocked with anything you'd need, including comfy robes. We even purchased one to take home! The private outdoor shower is a great feature -- especially after a day at the beach!

The B&B has accommodations perfectly suited for a child. We had our 3-year-old daughter with us, and she was made to feel most welcome. Actually, she was made to feel incredibly special -- a rarity when it comes to Cape Cod inns' reputation for welcoming kids.

We would absolutely choose this B&B again. In fact, we cannot wait to go back!

  • Liked — Beautiful property, accommodating innkeepers
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OHfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed for a week at this superb bed and breakfast inn. It is clean, comfortable and the breakfast provided is wonderful, we didn't have the same dish during our stay there. The owner is more than helpful regarding days out, restaurants and driving routes without being overbearing. We were also lucky enough to loan bicycles that were made available to us. There is a flat purpose built cycle route between Woods Hole and Falmouth and there are also a number of other safe rides from the inn. Beach towels are also available if required, there are many stunning beaches within easy reach. There is a good range of restaurants within a short drive from the inn to suit all budgets and you are able to eat a takeaway in the inn's lounge if you wish. Overall a great experience and we would certainly stay here again should we visit Cape Cod.
Alun & Becky, Weston super Mare, U.K.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Alun1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

We stayed here 3 nights in May. We had a good experience: nice room, helpful owner, good breakfasts. The setting is very pleasant with a good back garden. Its convenient for trips to Martha's Vinyard, and a reasonable location for touring up Cape Cod.

  • Liked — Pleasant setting, helpful owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

We stayed at Woods Hole Passage at the end of our trip around New England and we wish we had longer to stay here. The B & B is just outside Falmouth and a short drive to Woods Hole.

The room we had was lovely and beautifully decorated. There was a comfy bed, a nice very clean bathroom, with lovely soaps and bathrobes. (There is no TV in the rooms so it is lovely and quiet, there is one in the main house)

The breakfast was home made and one of the best! We were treated to crepes with blueberries, warm scones with fruit and a delicious and hot frittata with veggies. Plus you can have tea in the main house with homemade cookies in the afternoon if you get a bit hungry!

Our hosts were the most helpful and even booked the Landfall restaurant for us so we could get a table. (I recommend it here, we had a lovely meal) We also when to La Cucina, the Italian place in Falmouth. Beware the portions are huge! There is a great cafe in Woods Hole called Coffee Obsession which has free internet access too

This was a lovely base and a perfect spot to travel around the Cape and to Martha's Vineyard.

  • Liked — Wonderful service and very pretty rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristolites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#9 of 20 in Falmouth
648 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
1.3 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#2 of 9 in Falmouth
438 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
967 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Hole Passage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Passage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Woods Hole Passage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 186 Woods Hole Rd, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02540-1670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100-year-old carriage house sits on spacious grounds adorned by shade trees and flower gardens. The Inn is located close to the Shining Sea Bikeway, Martha's Vineyard, Nobska Lighthouse, the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, and the many beaches of the Cape. Rooms have private baths and are graciously appointed in a comfortable, clean, airy atmosphere. We are a 'Green' property with free WIFI. Open year 'round. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing