We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel - Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel - Perfect Location”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This motel is the perfect lcoation for experiencing classic Cape Cod. It's a short walking distance to shops and restaurants that serve amazing seafood. The ferry to Martha's Vineyard is 3 blocks from the hotel making it very convenient for visiting the island. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The decor is dated, but that provides for an authentice "motor inn" experience. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntBek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
25
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Sands of Time for 5 nights and we loved it. The room was on the second floor with a beautiful view of the harbor. The (small) pool was right down a few steps from our front door and was very private, except for a couple that took a midnight dip the night we got there, I was the only one in it the days we were there. Our room was supposed to have a refrigerator but when we checked in, it wasn't there. I told the front desk and when we came back to the room after dinner there it was. I have to say that the room was one of the cleanest hotel rooms that we have ever been in! Jerry the head of housekeeping was very meticulous about making the guests comfortable and checked with us, in person, to make sure we got our refrigerator and that our room was up to our expectations. The only complaint that we had was that the iron was attached to the ironing board with some kinda security cord (?) and it was really difficult to iron. Other than that minor inconvenience, the stay was great! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nobska513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PixelEye
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

After departing the dirty Nautilus Inn, we checked in at the Sands of Time (conveniently next door). Before transferring to Sands, I spoke to the hotel manager and explained that we were leaving the Nautilus due to cleanliness issues. To ensure that I’d be satisfied with their premises, the hotel manager introduced me to their Head of Housekeeping. Even though they only had one available room, they encouraged me to inspect various rooms. The Sands of Time has two buildings with very different types of accommodations (some quite fancy). We didn’t need a suite or a room with a view. As it was, the lone available room faced the driveway – which was just fine with me, though a bit pricey. It was room and CLEAN and surprisingly, not as noisy as I thought it would be. The bed was comfy and spotless.

All of the Sands staff was extremely nice. The Head of Housekeeping was extremely accommodating when I asked them to refrain from using any scented cleaning products. The room was cleaned daily and without the products I’m allergic to. (BTW, the Nautilus Motor Inn lied about not using scented cleaning products). We stayed 4 nights. Unlike some brave souls, due to the cool, wet September weather, we didn’t take advantage of their heated pool.

The Town of Woods Hole and the Martha Vineyard Ferry is about a ten minute downhill walk from the hotel. We did not have WiFi. Coffee and little doughnuts are self-serve in the lobby. The front desk can even loan you an umbrella (if available).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I lived in Woods Hole 49 years ago and the Sands of Time was there back then. I'd never been there before but the place did not disappoint. It's a straight forward reasonably priced MOTEL. ($170. inc tax) Our second floor room was good sized with a nice balcony and excellent view of Little Harbor and all the marine traffic that passes through Woods Hole. Bathroom was miniscule as reported in another review here but who wants to spend any time in the bathroom? Bed was comfortable, room clean and the service very friendly. There are good restaurants within a 10 minute walk to the town which has no parking facility to speak of except meters and very aggressive meter maids who write $10 tickets. Nobska Beach is a 15 minute walk away and this laid back scientific minded town is a great place to relax and stimulate the mind. Capt Kidd, Landfall and the Fish Monger were good food choices. We'll be back to this place and next time will stay in the Harbor House which is an old home behind and overlooking the motel with better views but no balconies. All in all, the Sands of Time is good value but not a luxury resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danoRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed in the Inn building for a week toward the end of August. The room faced the water and overlooked the very well-maintained swimming pool and the "motel." Very roomy and comfortable. Bathroom perfectly adequate. Turn of the century decor much to our liking. Free computer connection in all rooms.

The people in reception were very welcoming and helpful. They provided maps, walking directions, will sell you ferry tickets, and give you a beach sticker for parking at the closest beach, a ten minute walk from the Inn. Donut holes and coffee in the lobby all day, but good food is only a few minutes walk away. The grounds are beautifully planted and one hardly notices the Nautilus motel which shares the driveway entrance and is on the adjacent property. The Dome restaurant described in an earlier review has been closed for over a year and alas, the Dome sits empty next to Nautilus.

When we extended our stay we were moved (they literally carried our bags) to the other end of the Inn. Our room was beyond our wildest dreams. Four poster bed, fireplace, sitting room with huge windows looking out to the ocean, lovely full bath, and antique furnishings. The housekeeper told us the history of the Inn, where she has worked for many, many years, with great pride.

All together, we would return to Sands of Time in a minute.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asnabalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

room was very big downside was bathroom was tiny shower was microscopic when i took a shower i hit all sides and im not a large person, just so tiny, pool was clean and nice overall not bad of a hotel would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy8810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

I've stayed there dozens of times. Knew the owners. The restaurant next door, The Dome, was built by Buckminster Fuller.
The rooms are highly variable because the hotel buildings are different ages and of differing types. You pays yer nickel and takes yer chances. Ask the inn keeper about the specific room. The view of the harbor includes the famous F. L. Wright Airplane House on Juniper Point, the coupolaed ancient Crane Residence, a swatch of MV and a Coast Guard base, and beautiful boats at moorings there in Woods Hole's Little Harbor. The hotel is walking distance to everything in Woods Hole. All the beaches are Townie restricted, but feet need no "beach stickers". Also long walking distance is Nobska Lighthouse, on one of the most photogenic points in the world, overlooking Martha's Vineyard. The deep grass on the hillside under the lighthouse is a great place to cuddle and smooch after dark. Can't be seen from the road.

Stayed August 2003
Helpful?
Thank Capetocape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
5.8 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
517 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
92 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
951 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House

Property: Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
Address: 549 Woods Hole Rd, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1041
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House Hotel Woods Hole
Sands Of Time Motor Inn And Harbor House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing