We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Rest and Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   549 Woods Hole Road, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rest and Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Best piece of Land Between Woods Hole and Falmouth. Very Comfortable and Cozy. Home like. Friendly people, Heated Pool, up kept grounds and Building. AC and Heat. Very Soft /firm Beds to fall right to sleep. Easy Access. Beaches and Ferry to Martha Vinyard right near by. Shopping in near by Falmouth Ctr. and Wood s hole. It is similar to the motor inn in Falmouth , named Flag ship motor inn. But is twice and even nicer than that. Awesome views of Harbor , beach, Ferry and people. I Love this place a lot. It is inviting and friendly. Awesome rooms with satellite tv , Flat screens, twin and king size beds. Multiple Wifi, Radio, lights , power supply , shower , bathroom, and Balcony's to sit out on and look at the ocean. First floor you can walk right out to the lawn. Priced right , recommend 1 to 2 weeks. Even overnight. See you there :)

Room Tip: Single or King size Beds. Either way you can't go wrong. Everything about this place is Very Goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
22
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Arriving a day early on our trip to Martha's Vineyard we decided to stay in woods hole . Most places were booked ,sands of time had a room, a bit pricey 240.00 , clean , view of the port all very nice , but no coffee or refrigerator in the room! We had to leave the a/c on because of traffic noise which was to bad, it was such a lovely night.
Out the back side of the motel is a pool, which is in a nice quit area with beautiful flowers, the owner is a very nice man , helpful with any questions. Just pricey.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rigmarole57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Big Pros: - friendly and helpful staff
- location to downtown core and also to bike path
- view from rooms
- free parking included
- free coffee in reception each morning
- large balcony with 2 comfy chairs and a small table (from most rooms -- ask!)

Cons: - "modern" rooms seem older and smaller than classic rooms
- needs a face lift -- at least new sheets
- pillows are impossibly thick and gave both of us neck problems
- no fridges in rooms
- external balcony lights only go off at 11:30 pm, hallway lights never do -- rooms are neither dark nor quiet

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windows_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This trip was a 2 week 25th wedding anniversary (Bucket List) journey thru vermont into Cape Cod. Woods Hole was the start of our memoriable journey. First, I have to compliment Arnie, I made so many phone calls pre arrival, I think I made him nuts. Upon arrival @ 5:00 pm we received such a warm welcome, a bottle of champaign awaiting us in our room with the most breathtaking Harbor view. Arnie and all the staff ofr our two night stay were very helpful in directing us around. We stayed in Woods Hole to catch the ferry over to Martha's Vineyard and it is really 2 blocks down a hill into the village. We had coffee and pastry's at Pie in the Sky tow morning in a row, adorable local bakery filled with as many danish as the busiest train station in NYC. Arnie suggested LandsFall for dinner and it was wonderful, right on the water at the harbor, great food, service and elegant pub ambiance.The town is filled with professors from the the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute, very cool! Go to Martha's Vineyard, leave your car at the hotel, there are buses going around town as soon as you get off the ferry.Absolutely did not need the car. Edgars Town had beautiful shops, galleries, JUST GO! Arnie, we can't wait to come back, our 25th may just have turned into our new get-a-way. We continued our trip into Chatham, staying at a well known resort for a few more days, it was beautiful however rude and truly stuck up . There, we will not return. Can't wait to return to The Sands of Time.

Room Tip: Ask for the building in back of the office on a high floor with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Four of us took two rooms in the main house of this motel and after we oohed and aahed at our own harbour view, we went into our friends room and gasped at theirs. Just beautiful! Very large rooms, one with a little kitchenette and a very pretty dining area by the double windows where we ate breakfast every morning. Friendly staff with coffee, tea and lovely doughnuts provided in reception. Everything was very clean and there is an outdoor swimming pool and a vending machine for cold drinks. The hotel is about a five minute walk to the town of Woods Hole and the ferry service to Martha's Vineyard and a bus station with connections to Boston and the rest of Cape Cod.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house so can only comment on those and I would want one of those if I was to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I booked #135, an ocean view room in Harbor House, a grand old home which can be seen from the ocean. Graciously proportioned room with a huge comfortable bed, flat screen TV of course, and staff ready to assist with anything. It's a super short saunter into the heart of Woods Hole yet just far away enough to avoid any nightlife noise.

I didn't use it but the outdoor pool looked scrupulously clean and sparkling. Jen took care of my room and did a great job.

I wanted the Cape Cod experience and got it at Woods Hole.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank klmtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a lovely motel, with fantastic views over Little Harbor, Woods Hole; and a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. I have stayed here several times now with various family members, and most recently my fiancé; so it is a motel full of wonderful memories for me! I have always had rooms in the motor inn, and love the balconies overlooking the garden and harbour. The rooms in the house are also lovely (some of my family were staying in the house on our big family trip a few years ago) so I would be happy in any room! I love the little reception area and the mini doughnuts and coffee at breakfast time! The staff are always welcoming and helpful. The pool is well maintained and great to have the option of swimming in the pool at the motel as well as all the lovely nearby beaches! (Be sure to check out Nobska beach and lighthouse - you can walk from the motel) Everything is clean and comfortable. It's a wonderful place to stay!!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratchet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
5.0 mi away
CapeWind Waterfront Resort
CapeWind Waterfront Resort
#16 of 22 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#9 of 22 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 22 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn
Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Woods Hole
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
3.7 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House

Property: Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
Address: 549 Woods Hole Road, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Time Motor Inn And Harbor House
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House Hotel Woods Hole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing