We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We really liked this quaint,old fashioned motel.although dated outside, the rooms are up to date, large and very comfortable..the location is great for catching a ferry to Martha's Vineyard.walking distance to ferries and downtown Woods Hole restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KRSWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 87 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

The rooms in the motel are front to back so everyone has an ocean view. Within walking distance to the restaurants and the ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. Nice decks to view the ocean. We have been here several times and never disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The best hotel for me in the Falmouth/Woods Hole area of Cape Cod is Sands of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House.

First on my list of reasons is location. It sits right around the corner from the delightful village of Woods Hole. If you turn right at the driveway a five-minute walk brings you to "Pie in the Sky" a laid-back outdoor spot featuring umbrella-shaded tables and a counter for solo travelers like me where you can get delicious coffee and snag one of their to-die-for brioches or other breakast treats. The eponymous pies are there, too, and great to take out. Right across the street is one of my favorite shops, "Under the Sun," which offers an array of special gifts, including nautically-themed jewelly and the prettiest sun catchers I've ever seen. Home to the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and the Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole is where Robert Ballard launched his successful voyage to find the Titanic. Shop-owners provide lovely flower boxes and thougtfully place doggie water bowls on the sidewalks for the canine companions of locals and tourists. Top resturant choices include Landfall, with its buoys hanging from the rafters along with an array of nautical trappings -- and close views of the ferries, and Captain Kidd, where you can dine on a boardwak/deck overloooking Eel Pond. There is a good variety of attractions including the iconic drawbridge, the aquarium and other places you can learn about from the guidebooks back at the hotel's office.

Back to the hotel, let me say that the rooms in the Motor Inn are a great choice in summer as they provide private balconies with pretty chairs and a table overlooking colorful, well maintained gardens. You can look look straight across Little Harbor to Frank Lloyd Wright's "Airplane House," another attraction where tours are conducted. You can also watch the Steamship Authority's ferries plying their way between Woods Hole and Martha's Vineyard. Do make time for a delightful ferry ride and a visit to the Vineyard.

I've stayed both times on the second floor of the Motor Inn for the great views. The rooms have been updated to include tastefully upholstered armchairs, good reading lights, very comfortable beds and effective air-conditoners. Everything is immaculate and fresh, including the plush carpeting. Bathrooms are fairly small, but also updated, with thick towels that are changed regularly, nice toiletries and built-in hair-dryers. Your bed-side alarm clock will play a selection of sounds such as waves breaking on the shore.

As for storage, there is an armoire across from the single King bed or two Queens. The top level contains a satellite TV, under which are four drawers. If you're lucky enough to be staying longer than I could this year, another cabinet contains more drawers as well as an open closet, and ironing board with iron. The drinks tray that sits atop the cabinet contains wrapped plastic glasses and an ice-bucket (ice is always availabe from a large chest just downstairs between the first-level rooms). One thing I'd like to see is a notepad and pen on the nightstand for jotting down phone numbers or directions. A mini-fridge with space to keep your cold drinks would be nice, too, but this is the Cape, with a homey feel -- not the Four Seasons, and the rates during the high summer season are reasonable. Behind the Motor Inn and the handsome Harbor House is a pleasant and clean swimming pool. If I visited in winter, I think I'd choose the Harbor House, especially for its cosy fireplaces.

Management is always friendly and accommodating, and adds to the homey feel. To visit Falmouth you turn left out of the driveway, then make a quick right turn onto a glittering shore road that takes you past Nobska Beach and its historic lighthouse right to Falmouth Harbor -- a ten minute ride. If the day is warm and sunny, the hotel's management will give you a parking pass for your car so you can hang out on the beautiful beach with the locals. Falmouth Harbor is full of luxury yachts: Dining at The Flying Bridge is a treat: this year my family and I enjoyed an alfresco lunch under an umbrella-shaded table with eye-popping views of the harbor. A great local institution is the "Clam Shck" for belly clams -- not just the strips. Hamburgers and hot-dogs are available to those who don't want shellfish as are fries and onion rings. There's a great deck above the Shack with splendid views of the sea and passing ships.

If you're a cyclist or a family with bikes, make sure to bring them along so that you can enjoy the extended shore-hugging bike path. Another place you must see while in Falmouth is the typical New England village green. It connects more directly to the Sands of Time via the Woods Hole Road.

Room Tip: As already mentioned I'd vote for the second floor Motor Inn rooms in summer, and the spacious w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petrea829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here only because our ferry back from MV to got to Woodshole super late. Too late to drive home, so we stayed here for the night..slept like 4 hours and got up early and hit the road. We stayed in the motor inn portion and that part is so dated its a bit scary. It is clean, but you feel like you are stepping back in time to like the 1960s...but not in a good way. For just catching some zzz's before driving it was fine. Woodshole is really cute.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CtTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

If the only thing available is the motel part of this place, then stay away (unless they have updated, which I doubt.) The old house up on the hill is charming and I loved it- and can't wait to return! The upper rooms are nicer - better view - especially the top floor room (a bit smaller, but better views). They were spotless (we moved to the top floor for the better view) and very, very nice. This is a classic Cape Cod house, so if you are looking for urban amenities - go somewhere else. The internet was good, and I loved the window seat with the little table tucked in it. I did work from there with a stunning view.....

There is no "breakfast" - so this is misclassified in this way - although they do have coffee and little donuts in the lobby. Don't bother - just walk a block or two into town and eat there.

No problem with parking. The pool was closed for winter so I cannot comment on that. Avoid the ground floor room in the Harbor House unless you are really just going there to crash at night. It is dark with tiny windows (below grade type). I really like this place - and frankly, with the slim pickings for lodging in the area, I choose this one.

Room Tip: Go for "grandma's room" on the top floor. Avoid the room on the ground floor unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fitzgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

my wife and i spend a couple of days every year in woods hole,this year we tried the sands of time.our stay was very pleasant the staff was very hospitable,the rooms were very clean and with a great view if you request one with an ocean view.over all excellent experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnyrodn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Other reviews indicate that the room options at the Sands of Time are 'variable'. The Harbor House looks entirely respectable. The Motel room we had for three nights (@ $270+/night) was well beyond needing a major makeover. The room had a mildew smell and had me me sneezing each and every time I walked in. The linoleum in the bathroom was not only circa 1962 but back in 1962 they ran out of linoleum so the last half inch of the tiny bathroom floor was bare floorboard. The towels were just this side of cardboard. OK, call me a picky, next we'll be looking for alternative accommodations in quaint Woods Hole.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LevGonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
2.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
544 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
828 reviews
12.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
3.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
665 reviews
7.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House

Address: 549 Woods Hole Rd, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1041
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Price Range: $217 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House Hotel Woods Hole
Sands Of Time Motor Inn And Harbor House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing