We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SA was our choice”

The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serving over 2 million travelers to Martha's Vineyard, the Steamship Authority is the largest ferry provider on Cape Cod, offering the lowest fares, the most departures and year-round service for passengers, vehicles and trucks. We offer off-site parking and free shuttle service to our Woods Hole terminal. Check our mobile site for current parking and trip status. Whether you come for a day, or a longer stay, the Steamship Authority is the Way to Go with our spacious ships, the most frequent daily departures, and U.S. Coast Guard-certified crews to get you there safely. From the moment you step on board, you'll have that vacation feeling. Sit outdoors for the sea breezes and spectacular ocean views, or find cozy, comfortable seating indoors. For your enjoyment, our snack bars offer beverages including beer, wine and mixed drinks, as well as hot and cold menu items. Pets are welcome to travel with you in designated areas on-board. The seven mile trip from Woods Hole to beautiful Martha's Vineyard takes just 45 minutes. And you have your choice of two ports for your arrival: Vineyard Haven or Oak Bluffs (May-October). From magnificent beaches to wind-swept dunes to historic town centers, a trip to Martha's Vineyard will always be memorable.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“SA was our choice”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were debating a lot whether we should pay the extra and go on Island Queen or just stick to SA ferry to Martha's Vineyard. I am glad we did not shell out the extra to go on IQ. SA ferry was comfortable, there was a neat cafeteria to buy snacks and coffee and it was smooth ride to Martha's Vineyard. Right from the time we parked at Cataumet lot and took the shuttle to the Ferry Dock until we reached MV it was a super comfy ride. Lot of guide books and reviews said that you needed cash to buy your ferry tickets and so I was prepared, but surprisingly there is a ticket vending machine that lets you use credit cards to buy tickets and I think even at the counter they accept cards now. SA is a safe value for money bet!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    160
    40
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Easy and convenient”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were planning a day trip to Martha's Vineyard and were confused by the different choices of ferries and ports. This one was recommended to us and it worked great! The first lot was full but the second was easy to find and the bus was there waiting for us. We couldn't believe how reasonable the parking and ticket fees were. So nice that the boat docks right downtown in Martha's Vineyard, with buses and tours right nearby. Our only complaint was that we were visiting MV on the one day of the year that the Illumination night was happening. It is truly special. Thousands of people come to see and experience it. The light up starts at 8 but the last ferry leaves before. We were very disappointed. We thought for sure that the ferry schedule would be altered or an extra sailing would be added so that tourists could take part in this special evening. This really should be the case. Otherwise, this service met our needs very well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fourbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vacation Disaster”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Each year our 4 sisters try to have a memorable vacation together. We are ages 70 - 82 years old. This year we scheduled a trip to Martha's Vineyard. Our trip on 7/16/2013 by ferry to from Woods Hole to Martha's Vineyard was a complete disaster. During the loading process, the attendants in their zeal to load one extra car, directed our car to be loaded on the freight ferry containing large trailer trucks. We were directed to park about 6" from the wall to the drivers' side door. They immediately loaded an 18 wheeler 6" from the passengers side. The attendant slammed my rear view mirror in order to load the truck. Another 18 wheeler came up behind us trapping us in the vehicle. Before we could get out of the vehicle the attendant had gone. The temperature in the car soared immediately approaching 100 degrees. Needless to say we were panicked. We finally were able to open the rear hatch and we climbed out. My 82 year old sister had to navigate three rows of seats which was most difficult. We had to squeeze out through the trucks to find open air. At that point we encountered the attendant who expressed surprise that we had gotten out at all. If we had not gotten out of the vehicle it would have been our final resting place! We did not land in Vineyard Haven as planned but were diverted to Oak Bluffs causing a disconnect with the parties scheduled to meet us. In summary, the ferry transport was a disaster and could have been fatal. Additionally, the attendant directing us was rude and completely unconcerned about our situation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Boat Ride is as Much Fun as the Island”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Steamship Authority runs a tight ship. Their new ferry, Our Island Home, is huge, seating about 1500 people (plus cars, of course). It's spotless, has flat TV's, and a nice concession. You can get donuts, coffee, yogurt, sandwiches, etc. and it's all good. We like to board early, pick a booth near the concession, get coffee and a snack and just enjoy the TV and newspaper. Or sometimes we like to sit outside at the bow and enjoy the scenery. Every employee is friendly and helpful and it's very relaxing. The trip is about 30-35 minutes to get to the Vineyard. It takes a few minutes to disembark, so figure that into your schedule if you have any kind of deadline.

When you get to the Vineyard, there are plenty of taxis waiting at the boat. Buses are available; a bus pass is a good deal for getting around the island.

Vineyard Haven has a lot of restaurants, fun gift shops, a bookstore called Bunch of Grapes, a bead store called Beadniks, and even an office supply store with art supplies, etc.

Keep a copy of the boat schedule with you and enjoy the trip!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank capesafetyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,857 reviews
265 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 964 helpful votes
“Excellent... On Time, Comfortable, Smooth Sailing”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

They do a great job. Took our vehicle over and back... efficient, friendly service... and even OK food at the snack bar. Reservations on line are easy. I go for the larger ships.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WINEandTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard also viewed

 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing