We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ride”

The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serving over 2 million travelers to Martha's Vineyard, the Steamship Authority is the largest ferry provider on Cape Cod, offering the lowest fares, the most departures and year-round service for passengers, vehicles and trucks. We offer off-site parking and free shuttle service to our Woods Hole terminal. Check our mobile site for current parking and trip status. Whether you come for a day, or a longer stay, the Steamship Authority is the Way to Go with our spacious ships, the most frequent daily departures, and U.S. Coast Guard-certified crews to get you there safely. From the moment you step on board, you'll have that vacation feeling. Sit outdoors for the sea breezes and spectacular ocean views, or find cozy, comfortable seating indoors. For your enjoyment, our snack bars offer beverages including beer, wine and mixed drinks, as well as hot and cold menu items. Pets are welcome to travel with you in designated areas on-board. The seven mile trip from Woods Hole to beautiful Martha's Vineyard takes just 45 minutes. And you have your choice of two ports for your arrival: Vineyard Haven or Oak Bluffs (May-October). From magnificent beaches to wind-swept dunes to historic town centers, a trip to Martha's Vineyard will always be memorable.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful ride”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was the first time on a ferry on the ocean. I loved it. It was so relaxing. The scenery was beautiful. I only had a beer. Which was good. Wish I had tied the clam chowder.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank teresah634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    171
    40
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spacious, relaxing Woods Hole to MV ride with internet and chowder.”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Lots of different seating inside and outside in different sections of the boat. I always have to get a cup of chowder when I head to MV from Woods Hole because it's so good but I noticed this time the cup is 5.95 which I think is too much for the size. So no cup for me upon return. It's just a dollar or buck and a half too much to do twice. Quite the shame. There are plenty of other choices for food and they also have beer and wine. There's free wifi available and power outlets throughout during the 45 minute trip but that's always been the case for as long as I've been using the ferry. The staff are always polite and helpful and they move the cars/trucks in promptly and get them off efficiently. The ferry always brings back good memories. If you are bringing a car over then reserve a spot at their web site. I believe it's 169 USD roundtrip now. If you get there earlier they'll put you on an earlier ferry if there's room. You might also have the opportunity to get on the commercial ferry that loads next to the main ferry if you get there earlier than your reserved time. However, that doesn't have the concessions with the chowder so it only helps if you need to get to the Vineyard soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4TTdotME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“"Never Again"”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This company needs a major upgrade. Dirty shuttle buses with bad smell which take you from parking lot to the terminal. The boat itself was not clean at all. On our way back from Martha's Vineyard to cape, boat was filled with pets and could see and smell animal dirt on board. Seats were torn and dirty too. Overall it was not a good experience at all. Try to take other ferries between cape and vineyard.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anjum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“long ride to island”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

45-minute steam ride to Martha's Vineyard. Its nice to sit and relax. Note: no entertainment on the ferry. If you come during season (June-July-August), take the faster boat which takes 15-20 minutes and arrives in Oaks Bluff.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jadefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Martha's Vineyard”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a nice 45 minute ride to the vineyard on the ferry. Was so smooth that you didn't even realize that you were moving. Great trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geri48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard also viewed

 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing