We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy way to get to Martha's / Nantucket”

The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serving over 2 million travelers to Martha's Vineyard, the Steamship Authority is the largest ferry provider on Cape Cod, offering the lowest fares, the most departures and year-round service for passengers, vehicles and trucks. We offer off-site parking and free shuttle service to our Woods Hole terminal. Check our mobile site for current parking and trip status. Whether you come for a day, or a longer stay, the Steamship Authority is the Way to Go with our spacious ships, the most frequent daily departures, and U.S. Coast Guard-certified crews to get you there safely. From the moment you step on board, you'll have that vacation feeling. Sit outdoors for the sea breezes and spectacular ocean views, or find cozy, comfortable seating indoors. For your enjoyment, our snack bars offer beverages including beer, wine and mixed drinks, as well as hot and cold menu items. Pets are welcome to travel with you in designated areas on-board. The seven mile trip from Woods Hole to beautiful Martha's Vineyard takes just 45 minutes. And you have your choice of two ports for your arrival: Vineyard Haven or Oak Bluffs (May-October). From magnificent beaches to wind-swept dunes to historic town centers, a trip to Martha's Vineyard will always be memorable.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Easy way to get to Martha's / Nantucket”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a well-oiled operation. We left promptly for our departure, and we were able to get onto a trip back to the mainland 5 hours earlier than our reservation.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank C_K_B_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    171
    40
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dover, NH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Ride”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I and another couple took the 8:15 am ferry from Wood's Hole to Vineyard Haven on Martha's Vineyard. Boarding was easy, the boat was nice, the bathrooms were clean, and the boy at the snack bar was very friendly. Departing the ferry was quick. We took the ferry from Oak Bluff's back to Wood's Hole. No issues, nice ride.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cinderella96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Steamship Authority, Woods Hole”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you're fortunate enough to visit Falmouth or Woods Hole on Cape Cod, don't miss the chance to visit lovely Martha's Vineyard. It's a lovely ferry crossing, and Martha's Vineyard has many charms of its own.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank petrea829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Public Transportation”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good Schedule. You can leave MV from any SA location on the island.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jacatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's about location”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The SSA is organized and the ferries are on schedule. The crew is professional and experienced. The facilities are uncomfortable so don't get there too early. The SSA offers hard benches and no concessions. During our wait, the bathrooms were shut down for cleaning.

We arrived a couple of hours before departure at Oak Bluff and were uncomfortable. It was a hot day and all the shops had their doors open. We couldn't even cool down in an ice cream shop.I couldn't believe the convenience stores and ice cream shops wouldn't accept credit cards. Do these folks have any clue what it means to be in the tourist business?



Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard also viewed

 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing