We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked Fresh and they are not kidding!”

Quicks Hole Taqueria
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Quicks Hole Taqueria is open in the summertime in Woods Hole, close to the ferry terminal to Martha's Vineyard. With lobster tacos, fresh salads, burritos and more, Quicks Hole is a great place for a quick bite. Free music on summer weekends, sangria, Cape Cod beer and a nice view of the water from the deck all make the Taqueria the place to be! Also check out our new churros with dipping sauce, a customer favorite. Our home made Quahog Chowder was named one of the best on Cape Cod by readers of the Cape Cod Times in 2013 and 2014.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wicked Fresh and they are not kidding!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Last summer we were wandering around the Cape just getting reacquainted with the area. Time during past visits had always been consumed with "family", and had never allowed enough opportunity to wander and explore to see what had changed. Woods Hole had always been a favorite spot - so off we went. It was early June - and the tourist hoards had not yet invaded (- as a former "summer local" - I don't count myself among them!), but there were certainly a respectable number of other retirees enjoying the pleasant brisk weather. We were hungry, and the name of the place caught our fancy - and comments heard from those leaving did too. It did not disappoint - it was fantastic. We had a really hard time deciding between their unique offerings, some of which were predictable for the area - lobster, 'chowda' (the real quahog kind), lobster roll - but no fried clams! The menu was definitely way above average fare for ANY type of place, - like a yellow fin tuna BLT - and the BEST lobster tacos and no-tortilla cod or lobster burritos you could only dream about! The staff was very friendly, the service very good, and all knew their food and sources. They had a busy trade in TO GO - but the food selections and quality is definitely NOT your typical "fast" stuff. The beef and wine selections were great, too. The small eating area was definitely informal, and the outside deck inviting. Not 'fine dining' atmosphere - but the food definitely WAS. They are open from 11 am - 10 pm during the 'season" (Memorial Day - Labor Day), and said to call ahead in the off season. Our next trip Cape will most likely be in the "off season" - but we are to call to see if they will be open! For us - this eatery is a MUST stop for every Cape visit. Chef Stephanie Mikolazyk was very happy to visit with us and share the philosophy of their specialties - great seafood in unique recipes, exquisite fresh produce,and a healthful menu. She has achieved her objectives!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Quicks Hole Taqueria, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We hope to see you back in Woods Hole someday soon.

--Beth Colt
owner Quicks Hole
6 Luscombe Ave
Woods Hole MA 02543
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    87
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Different kind of food.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were there about 3 P.M. I had the quesadillas and my wife had the lobster mac and cheese. I finished mine but my wife could not finish hers. You order from a counter and then sit down and they bring you your food. There is a lot of outside seating. Staff very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seawolf60viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Quicks Hole Taqueria, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We hope to see you back in Woods Hole someday soon.

--Beth Colt
owner Quicks Hole
6 Luscombe Ave
Woods Hole MA 02543
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Another local hangout”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

For my first night in Woods Hole on business, had a glass of wine and lobster roll. Sat on the southern deck and watched the sea traffic. Great little place for a 'local feel' to the village.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank carylanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Quicks Hole Taqueria, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments!

We hope to see you back in Woods Hole someday soon.

--Beth Colt
owner Quicks Hole
6 Luscombe Ave
Woods Hole MA 02543
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Blissful lobster overload!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate at Quicks Hole twice during a two-day visit. The food is simply delicious, "wicked fresh", and reasonably priced. We had the lobster tacos (twice), and the lobster mac and cheese. Both were excellent, and they were served quickly and by friendly staff. Next time I'm in Woods Hole, I will make sure to have extra time for Quicks Hole!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmcsills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Quicks Hole Taqueria, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments!

We hope to see you back in Woods Hole someday soon.

--Beth Colt
owner Quicks Hole
6 Luscombe Ave
Woods Hole MA 02543
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Comfort Food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were biking on the Cape and passed Quicks and stopped to look at their menu. They had a sign in the window for 3 cheese grilled cheese with heirloom tomato soup and lobster Mac and cheese. We couldn't stop at that time because we had too far to bike. However we decided to drive back to Woods Hole to see if we could find Quicks. We found it and ordered one of each of the specials. They were both great. My wife had the grilled cheese/tomato soup. She thought it was great. I had the lobster mac and cheese and it was truly outstanding. It was Mae with ziti with a light cheese spice with great seasoning, plenty of lobster and panko breadcrumbs. It was delicious. You find your own seat in their seating area and they bring you your food when it is ready. Very casual with great food. We highly recommend trying his place...you'll come back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Quicks Hole Taqueria, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks so much for coming back after your bike ride to enjoy our home-made Mac and Cheese! This time of year, people really enjoy a hearty fall meal. Glad you we able to find us, and hope to see you again soon.

--Beth Colt
owner Quicks Hole
6 Luscombe Ave
Woods Hole MA 02543
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quicks Hole Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Quicks Hole Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing