We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B & B, great spot, superb breakfast, need help with greeting skill”
Review of Woods Hole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woods Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Woods Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Lovely place, just moments from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard, and walking distance to all the great eating spots. Our rooms were very nice, and everything in the place was clean and well decorated. The breakfast prepared by Sarah was absolutely outstanding, she obviously loves cooking for people and it shows! Our one disappointment was being greeted by a disinterested hostess, who couldn't break off chewing gum long enough to tell us much at all. This was a shame, as I think if we had received a welcome when we arrived such as Sarah gave us at breakfast , we would have rated this as a 100% success destination.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods-Hole-Inn, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2010

We appreciate this feedback and are working with all of our staff to be sure guests are properly greeted with warmth and a smile. Many customers appreciate our nicely decorated common spaces as well as the free coffee and tea we offer around the clock. I hope this customer gives us a second chance to make a better first impression:).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 790 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

Two minute walk from Woods Hole Institute and Vineyard ferry, beautifully remodeled very comfortable and inviting. They had the best breakfast (included) with the best view I have ever experienced at a hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Staying there was like home only better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mshuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Wonderful stay for a 3 day business conference at Woods Hole. The breakfasts were just amazing, with a wonderful and friendly chef. Great location right in Woods Hole, walk to everything. I didn't have a chance to do it, but you're a hop, skip, and jump from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket for a great day trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ampersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We are very experienced travelers along with our children but were disappointed with our stay in the cottage for a few reasons. Our check-in was supposed to be 3pm but because of problems with a prior guest, our check-in was delayed until after 4pm. We received $12 compensation for this. We were also very frustrated to learn that the advertised in-room wifi was actually only available from the outside porch of the cottage and only in good weather. Otherwise, the cottage is small but lovely and well-located but these dissatisfiers detracted from our overall experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iltt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods-Hole-Inn, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2010

We are sorry this guest was not completely satisfied with our facilities and service. We did apologize for the late check in (45 mins later than expected as another guest departed late). As this was the first week of rain this summer, we learned that that wireless internet at the cottage was not as reliable in the rain as it should be. We apologized directly to this customer about the intermittent service, and offered other free wireless locations. We do hope they look past these inconveniences and give us another shot at making their next vacation perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

A very comfortable inn with excellent breakfast, good service and a great location. Right in the heart of town, right next to the ferry terminal to Martha's Vineyard, near to restaurants and across the street from an ice cream place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judgeras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Either of the rooms I stayed in felt as if they were my own and could easily have been home.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank baygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Spent a long weekend here with Hubby and kids. Stayed in the 2 room suite with separate entrance . . . great space and very clean and felt like our own little apartment in town. Breakfasts were scrumptious and service excellent. Lots of great areas to sit and enjoy people watching (front deck with comfy furniture and back patio for watching the ferries go in and out) Easy to walk to restaurants and bike to beginning of bike path.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamsenDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
660 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
3.3 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treehouse Lodge
Treehouse Lodge
#2 of 2 in Woods Hole
15 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Inn

Address: 28 Water St, P O Box 4, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woods Hole
Price Range: $235 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Hole Inn is located across the street from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. With newly remodeled rooms and suites, award-winning modern decor and a killer breakfast, the Woods Hole Inn is a great place to start your Cape Cod vacation. From her perch over the harbor, the historic Inn offers water views, a broad porch lined with Kennedy rockers and a committment to eco-tourism. Stay GREEN by the deep BLUE sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Woods Hole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woods Hole Hotel Woods Hole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing