We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woods Hole Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woods Hole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woods Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Woods Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had the opportunity of staying at the Woods Hole Inn last weekend 6/6 to 6/8/14. It was absolutely awesome. We traveled in from downtown Boston on Friday, which took approx. 2 hrs. Arriving at the Inn, we checked into the most beautifully decorated Penzance room. Which included our own private deck with scenic views of the water. We had dinner at Quicks Hole restaurant - a short walk from Inn and a must try. Spent the remainder of the evening watching the Steam Authority Ferry come in and leave for Martha's Vineyard, it was relaxing and picturesque.

The next morning we got up early had the most delicious breakfast of home made granola, bread pudding and quiche with coffee, teas and juices. Then a stroll to take the Ferry to Martha's Vineyard for the day. Ferry took about 45 mins and the island did not disappoint.

The staff at Woods Hole Inn is exceptional, friendly, and goes above and beyond to ensure our visit was memorable. On Sunday, after another fabulous breakfast, we were offered bicycles to ride to the light house about 1/2 mile away but opt for a short walk down to the shore line where my niece built a sand castle instead.

We will definitely be returning. If my 7 yr old niece had her way, it would be every weekend!

Room Tip: View from the Deck is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you DB -- I am so glad you enjoyed the water view deck with the ferries coming and going, plus the easy commute over for a day trip on Martha's Vineyard and the sandy beach within walking distance. We love sharing the beauty of Woods Hole with guests like you and sincerely hope you and your niece will be back soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    101
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
118
426
53
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Super location, friendly staff, great breakfast, we made this a stop on our way to Martha's Vineyard. The ferry is steps away and nice places to walk and eat near by. We would recommend
the Woods Hole Inn to everyone!

Room Tip: Room #4 overlooks the water and boats, very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Scott -

So glad you were happy in room 4 with the great waterviews over the ferry terminal and all of Woods Hole. Thank you for these generous comments. We sincerely hope to see you again soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night this past Memorial Day weekend for a quick visit to Woods Hole. We stayed in room 2 which is small (the bathroom is very small) but comfortable. The bed was very nice and the room was very clean. We were going to stay in room 4 but the manager told us because of the bar across the street it could be very noisy during the late night. It was appreciated that she was upfront with us. Breakfast was very nice the next morning with a good selection. The Inn is right in the heart of The Hole and is perfect to stay in for visiting that area. It is right at the end of the Shining Sea bike path which is highly recommended and our favorite bike path of all! Overall a very nice stay and we will visit again!

Room Tip: Room 4 is going to be noisy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcchocolat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi HappyCamper!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Room 2. We appreciate your comments, and look forward to welcoming you back to Woods Hole some day soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were upgraded upon arrival. Room was lovely, very comfortable and elegant. Breakfast was delicious. Tea, cookies, coffee, water all available in the afternoon. Thoughtful and friendly woman at reception. Not cheap -- but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Amanda -

Thanks so much for this kind review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Woods Hole sometime soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I come to the Inn annually to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff is welcoming, the room handsomely appointed, and the breakfast delicious. The location couldn't be better--within walking distance of the MV ferry, restaurants, shops, etc. This is truly one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed at!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you NBJ for coming back year after year, and for sharing this excellent review with us here on TripAdvisor. We are so grateful to have guests and friends like you!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The combination of luxurious bedding, a stellar mattress, and the gorgeous bathroom (w the best clawfoot tub I've ever had the pleasure of knowing) makes this place a must-stay - in addition to the beautiful views, great location, and delicious goodies/breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Penzance Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank actorsdiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
The Woods Hole Inn was honored to receive a visit and this generous review from prodigious blogger and actress extraordinaire Lynn Chen AKA "the Actors Diet" Thanks to Lynn and Abe for visiting us all the way from Los Angeles, and taking such lovely photos of the Penzance Room. Please come back soon!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Upon arrival they upgraded our stay to a lovely room with a fantastic view of the harbor. The ladies of the inn were so very thoughtful, helpful and kind. We totally enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Nothing makes us happier than seeing guests like you come back year after year.

To encourage this, we are launching a new special called "Same Time Next Year" offering you the chance to write yourself a private letter which we will hold safe for you until your return. Couples find it a helpful way to check in on themselves and their relationships combining the beauty of the written word and travel. Ask us at the front desk at checkout, and we will tell you about the special offer that comes with this letter writing opportunity to see you, same time next year.

Thanks for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
5.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
12.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.3 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Inn

Property: Woods Hole Inn
Address: 28 Water St, P O Box 4, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Hole Inn is located across the street from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. With newly remodeled rooms and suites, award-winning modern decor and a killer breakfast, the Woods Hole Inn is a great place to start your Cape Cod vacation. From her perch over the harbor, the historic Inn offers water views, a broad porch lined with Kennedy rockers and a committment to eco-tourism. Stay GREEN by the deep BLUE sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woods Hole Hotel Woods Hole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing