We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bath I've ever taken”
Review of Woods Hole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woods Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Woods Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best bath I've ever taken”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The combination of luxurious bedding, a stellar mattress, and the gorgeous bathroom (w the best clawfoot tub I've ever had the pleasure of knowing) makes this place a must-stay - in addition to the beautiful views, great location, and delicious goodies/breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Penzance Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actorsdiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
The Woods Hole Inn was honored to receive a visit and this generous review from prodigious blogger and actress extraordinaire Lynn Chen AKA "the Actors Diet" Thanks to Lynn and Abe for visiting us all the way from Los Angeles, and taking such lovely photos of the Penzance Room. Please come back soon!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    105
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
119
434
55
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Upon arrival they upgraded our stay to a lovely room with a fantastic view of the harbor. The ladies of the inn were so very thoughtful, helpful and kind. We totally enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Nothing makes us happier than seeing guests like you come back year after year.

To encourage this, we are launching a new special called "Same Time Next Year" offering you the chance to write yourself a private letter which we will hold safe for you until your return. Couples find it a helpful way to check in on themselves and their relationships combining the beauty of the written word and travel. Ask us at the front desk at checkout, and we will tell you about the special offer that comes with this letter writing opportunity to see you, same time next year.

Thanks for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a great time at the Woods Hole Inn this past weekend! The inn is beautiful, the breakfasts were delicious and the inn is very conveniently located across from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. There is not one bad thing to say about it. I hope to go back! You should too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZamboniQueen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so grateful to customers like you who take the time to share about your positive experience at the Woods Hole Inn! I am sure we will see you soon, and we all look forward to it.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014

So nice to stumble into a very warm and lovely Inn! Ferrys were canceled and we scrambled to find an available bed on a stormy nite. W H I was wonderful in very way including keeping the kitchen open later for us latecomers! Thank you many times!

Room Tip: All rooms seem great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Josie -

It was a pleasure offering you a warm bed as the ferries were cancelled for stormy weather, and I was happy that the new Quicks Hole Tavern was still open for you to grab a bite to eat before you headed to bed.

I hope your business on Martha's Vineyard was fruitful and that we see you again one day in Woods Hole.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great breakfast and the rooms were spacious and clean . Would definitely go again
Staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to see. Beds were very comfortable and the sheets were very smooth and soft. Great night sleeping. Overall would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for this nice review! Hope to see you in Woods Hole one day soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just spent a wonderful weekend at the Woods Hole Inn. The accommodation were perfect; bedding was extremely comfortable; the rooms and inn was spotless; loved the comfort of the common areas; and the breakfast was outstanding. All of the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. In particular, Rachel offered great suggestions on where to eat and what to do. Although my husband and I have stayed here before, it was a first for our friends. They have raved about our whole weekend since we've returned. We all hope to return again soon. I would most definitely give the Woods Hole Inn my highest recommendation... you will not be disappointed if you have an opportunity to spend some time at this superb inn. Cheryl H.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Nothing is more satisfying than meeting guests who then bring their friends along for the next visit! This is the kind of amazing word of mouth that makes us cherish our guests. We are so grateful to you for this lovely review and your implied endorsement in bringing your friends along too.

We look forward to seeing both of you soon!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
224 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We found Woods Hole Inn through Living Social. It was definitely well worth the price we paid. The Inn has a nice old time feel and is well kept. The location is great with many restaurants, bars and shops in walking distance as well as Falmouth 5 minutes up the road. We did visit during off season and a lot was closed. We ended up walking across the street and taking the ferry to Martha's Vineyard which is surprisingly inexpensive. The positive side of traveling off season is conversations with the locals and learning more about the area. We met Norm at the Woods Hole Tavern who made a few suggestions which we used the following day to make the most of our time that weekend. The breakfast at the Inn was unique and very satisfying. The Tavern was well done and the service was friendly. You could tell is was ramping up for the busy season as some bartenders and wait staff were inexperienced and learning their bar. It didn't take away from the atmosphere and relaxation we were looking for on our weekend trip. I would recommend the Inn and Tavern and likely visit again.

Room Tip: From what I could tell the King Rooms were on the main floor and near the common rooms and breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosedive225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks Nosedive225! We appreciate your coming to see us in the shoulder season, just as things are "waking up" down here on the Cape, and are glad to hear you found plenty of interesting stuff to do including the ferry to Martha's Vineyard which is conveniently located across the street. Do come back sometime in summer just to experience the contrast!

Hope to see you soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
3.1 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
517 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
642 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
3.2 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
363 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Inn

Property: Woods Hole Inn
Address: 28 Water St, P O Box 4, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Hole Inn is located across the street from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. With newly remodeled rooms and suites, award-winning modern decor and a killer breakfast, the Woods Hole Inn is a great place to start your Cape Cod vacation. From her perch over the harbor, the historic Inn offers water views, a broad porch lined with Kennedy rockers and a committment to eco-tourism. Stay GREEN by the deep BLUE sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Woods Hole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woods Hole Hotel Woods Hole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing