We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”
Review of Woods Hole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woods Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Woods Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Woods Hole Inn for a wedding and it was well worth it. We don't usually stay at bed & breakfasts/inns, we're more the big name hotel type, but at the bride and grooms recommendation (they stayed there too) we went for it. And we are so glad we did! The Inn itself was immaculate. The decor is modern but still quaint and the bed was so comfortable. The staff was super friendly and very accommodating. We were a little nervous when they showed us to our room right off the common area but it was not an issue. We never heard noise from other guests and rarely saw any other guests for that matter. The Inn provides bikes for the guests to take advantage of the bike trail that is just feet from the inn...which we highly recommend. Free parking onsite with a valet that is always there to help. Again, we're not the bed and breakfast type so we were planning to skip the breakfast provided and find a nearby restaurant. As we walked through the kitchen/eating area to exit the staff welcomed us and shared the morning menu - eggs, sausage, fresh fruit and yogurt, homemade granola and an assortment of fresh baked goodies. We couldn't resist! The food was delicious and we were able to sit at a table overlooking the harbor and there were no other guests there at the time so it was as if we had our own private chef and dining room. Not a bad way to start the day! All in all a great experience. If I had to note any negative of our stay it would be the window air conditioner. We are used to central air at home so the noise of the window air conditioner was a bit loud. However, most nights on the Cape you can sleep with the windows open so I wouldn't let this stop us (or anyone) from enjoying a great stay at the Woods Hole Inn!

Room Tip: There is a room right off the front porch that has a separate entrance that could be great for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Hi Philly Mom!

Thank you for commenting on our comfortable beds and harbor views. We so appreciate this kind review, and hope to see you soon in Woods Hole.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 798 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first time in Cape Cod, and although the weather didn't cooperate, our stay at the Woods Hole Inn was very nice. They take the name "bed and breakfast" seriously here, because those were the two best things at the inn...an incredibly comfortable bed, and a delicious breakfast every morning. We stayed in room #4, and it was clean and comfortable, with a view of the harbor. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, too. The inn is across the street from the Martha's Vineyard ferry which is convenient, but a little noisy.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Woods Hole Inn...you will be well located, well treated, and well fed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods-Hole-Inn, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are so happy your first trip to Cape Cod was a good one. We are in the middle of everything here, and glad you enjoyed the view of the harbor with ferry boats coming and going, plus waterfront restaurants and shops all around. I hope the air conditioner in the room helped to mitigate any street noise once you were ready to go to bed.

Thanks again for coming and we hope to see you soon!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
woodsholeinn@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have never stayed in a small hotel or Inn before, I'm not a fan of the Bed and Breakfast scene. But Woods Hole Inn may have changed my mind. This old house turned Inn is lovely, super clean and comfortable. The staff is crazy nice. I was there for a visit to WHOI with my daughter and it was a perfect couple of days. Even my teenager agrees!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a front room on the first floor -- slightly noisy late at night if other guests let thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods-Hole-Inn, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate it, and hope to see you soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I don't think I can add much that is useful to the very positive reviews already posted. I will say that the breakfast was outstanding with home-baked goodies as well as eggs and sausages and plentiful coffee. Our room was really beautiful with a mixture of old charm and modern convenience. There was a selection of (free) Cape Cod goodies in the room and the soaps were pleasantly scented and a decent size (no tiny tablets here). Free wifi too. The staff was helpful, and we liked the restaurant they suggested. The room we were (#3) was right on the street side, but we didn't hear any noise at all. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotaVIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods-Hole-Inn, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate it, and hope to see you soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a comfortable stay (Penzance Rm was awesome), hospitable staff { Sara :-) & Amanda :-) } and DELICIOUS food {Angela #onelove} . Directly below is Quicks Hole, A must check out after 5pm, no matter your craving you will find something to suit your appetite ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Morsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I agree with every else. The rooms are beautiful and it is literally a half block to the ferry. However, we did not have the excellent experience others had with the service. We came in around noon. We knew our room would not be ready, but we wanted to know where to park our car in the meantime. There was a young lady at the desk who politely explained that she could not check us in until 3:00. Then an older woman chimed in to tell us that they had a wedding over the weekend...and check in is between 3 and 7! She continued that if we wanted to park our car out back it would be an extra $15. It was a take it or leave it attitude, certainly not warm and welcoming. (She could have told us there was a lot a half block away that charged $3.) The young man who parked our car was very nice. The room was nice. But again, when we were leaving the young lady asked if we could wait to check out because she was running late. My husband told her no. We wanted to get on the road. The breakfast was as good as everyone said it would be. However, I did not feel welcomed. We said, "Good morning" and I think they mumbled it back. This week was extremely hot. The room had AC but the rest of the inn did not so there was no staying in the rooms at nice, but they do have two nice decks to sit on. Most places to eat in Woods Hole and Martha's Vineyard are not air conditioned. But, almost all have a deck where you can catch a breeze.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a nice room facing the ferry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noraneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods-Hole-Inn, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Kayfrain,

I am so sorry you did not feel appropriately welcomed to the Inn. We so appreciate this feedback as it helps us train and improve our service.

We regret that because of the tight parking space in Woods Hole, we do need to charge for extra parking if you arrive before check in or stay late. Private parking on our street ranges from $25 - $40 per day in season; we are pleased to offer this parking (if we have availability) at $15/day for our guests only.

There is no excuse for not feeling appropriately welcomed, and I offer my sincerest apologies. Please consider emailing me directly so we may resolve this issue with you offline. Great customer service is our number one priority.

sincerely,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
woodsholeinn@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had already seen online that this was a highly recommended spot, however, it absolutely surpassed our expectations. On the night of our arrival, we had a bottle of bubbly on ice awaiting us, the valet took charge of our vehicle and when we walked into our room there was our luggage. I didn't even spot it being taken up and we had a lot of luggage. The owners and staff were so nice to us and were completely sincere. We felt so completely spoilt.

We stayed in the Nobska Room and no expense is spared in the decoration of the room and adjoined bathroom which had a bath and huge walk in shower. The entire place is pro the environment therefore everything is recycled even down to the wall paper on the stairs that had been made from old receipts.

It's location is perfect and looks over to Martha's Vineyard. From our room we watched the ferry's travel to and fro and although can be a little noisy in the morning fits in with the environment. A short walk down the road are numerous bars and restaurants which serve quality fresh foods. We also found ourselves listening to the staff of the many scientific institutes of the area talking about the environment and the seas, reminding us all of our social duty to reduce carbon emissions.

The breakfast was extremely yummy and they come in early in the morning to start cooking and preparing which included baking freshly for breakfast. It was a magnificent start to the day.

It was a beautiful experience and would certainly go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricicle1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods-Hole-Inn, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you so much!

We love welcoming guests from abroad, and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Hoping to see you again one day.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
woodsholeinn@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
3.1 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
544 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
666 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,003 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treehouse Lodge
Treehouse Lodge
#2 of 2 in Woods Hole
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Inn

Address: 28 Water St, P O Box 4, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woods Hole
Price Range: $168 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Hole Inn is located across the street from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. With newly remodeled rooms and suites, award-winning modern decor and a killer breakfast, the Woods Hole Inn is a great place to start your Cape Cod vacation. From her perch over the harbor, the historic Inn offers water views, a broad porch lined with Kennedy rockers and a committment to eco-tourism. Stay GREEN by the deep BLUE sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Woods Hole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woods Hole Hotel Woods Hole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing