We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A terrific experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woods Hole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woods Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Woods Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A terrific experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I don't think I can add much that is useful to the very positive reviews already posted. I will say that the breakfast was outstanding with home-baked goodies as well as eggs and sausages and plentiful coffee. Our room was really beautiful with a mixture of old charm and modern convenience. There was a selection of (free) Cape Cod goodies in the room and the soaps were pleasantly scented and a decent size (no tiny tablets here). Free wifi too. The staff was helpful, and we liked the restaurant they suggested. The room we were (#3) was right on the street side, but we didn't hear any noise at all. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotaVIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods-Hole-Inn, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate it, and hope to see you soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    102
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
118
429
54
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a comfortable stay (Penzance Rm was awesome), hospitable staff { Sara :-) & Amanda :-) } and DELICIOUS food {Angela #onelove} . Directly below is Quicks Hole, A must check out after 5pm, no matter your craving you will find something to suit your appetite ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Morsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, NJ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I agree with every else. The rooms are beautiful and it is literally a half block to the ferry. However, we did not have the excellent experience others had with the service. We came in around noon. We knew our room would not be ready, but we wanted to know where to park our car in the meantime. There was a young lady at the desk who politely explained that she could not check us in until 3:00. Then an older woman chimed in to tell us that they had a wedding over the weekend...and check in is between 3 and 7! She continued that if we wanted to park our car out back it would be an extra $15. It was a take it or leave it attitude, certainly not warm and welcoming. (She could have told us there was a lot a half block away that charged $3.) The young man who parked our car was very nice. The room was nice. But again, when we were leaving the young lady asked if we could wait to check out because she was running late. My husband told her no. We wanted to get on the road. The breakfast was as good as everyone said it would be. However, I did not feel welcomed. We said, "Good morning" and I think they mumbled it back. This week was extremely hot. The room had AC but the rest of the inn did not so there was no staying in the rooms at nice, but they do have two nice decks to sit on. Most places to eat in Woods Hole and Martha's Vineyard are not air conditioned. But, almost all have a deck where you can catch a breeze.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a nice room facing the ferry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noraneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods-Hole-Inn, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Kayfrain,

I am so sorry you did not feel appropriately welcomed to the Inn. We so appreciate this feedback as it helps us train and improve our service.

We regret that because of the tight parking space in Woods Hole, we do need to charge for extra parking if you arrive before check in or stay late. Private parking on our street ranges from $25 - $40 per day in season; we are pleased to offer this parking (if we have availability) at $15/day for our guests only.

There is no excuse for not feeling appropriately welcomed, and I offer my sincerest apologies. Please consider emailing me directly so we may resolve this issue with you offline. Great customer service is our number one priority.

sincerely,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
woodsholeinn@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had already seen online that this was a highly recommended spot, however, it absolutely surpassed our expectations. On the night of our arrival, we had a bottle of bubbly on ice awaiting us, the valet took charge of our vehicle and when we walked into our room there was our luggage. I didn't even spot it being taken up and we had a lot of luggage. The owners and staff were so nice to us and were completely sincere. We felt so completely spoilt.

We stayed in the Nobska Room and no expense is spared in the decoration of the room and adjoined bathroom which had a bath and huge walk in shower. The entire place is pro the environment therefore everything is recycled even down to the wall paper on the stairs that had been made from old receipts.

It's location is perfect and looks over to Martha's Vineyard. From our room we watched the ferry's travel to and fro and although can be a little noisy in the morning fits in with the environment. A short walk down the road are numerous bars and restaurants which serve quality fresh foods. We also found ourselves listening to the staff of the many scientific institutes of the area talking about the environment and the seas, reminding us all of our social duty to reduce carbon emissions.

The breakfast was extremely yummy and they come in early in the morning to start cooking and preparing which included baking freshly for breakfast. It was a magnificent start to the day.

It was a beautiful experience and would certainly go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricicle1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods-Hole-Inn, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much!

We love welcoming guests from abroad, and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Hoping to see you again one day.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
woodsholeinn@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This must be at the very top end of what is called "bed and breakfast". They have wonderful breakfasts and the owner has poured a fortune into the rooms to bring them up to modern standards while still retaining an inn feel. The rooms have wonderful views of the harbour (we stayed in Nonamessett, which has a great terrace). The staff are friendly and let me work in the lounge all day on some work I had to get done.

So why isn't it perfect? Because I wasn't allowed to smoke my cigars on the terrace next to our rooms. So, smokers be forewarned, there is no smoking anywhere, even on their front terrace, at the Woods Hole Inn - not inside or outside. I find this intolerance of others almost as bad as smokers who blow smoke over others. If you don't smoke, you will love it.

Peter from London

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you don't mind paying the price. The harbour is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
434 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed over a July 4th long weekend. We stayed in Room #3 for 1 night and Room #10 for 3 nights. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff at Woods Hole Inn was terrific: the great ease of making our reservations; checking in; moving from room 3 to 10 (a single room was unavailable on the dates we wanted); helping us find our way to Hyannis and the ferry to Nantucket. A great touch was the bikes they loan to guests so they can ride the Shining Sea bikeway; it was a great ride to Falmouth and back, with great views of the shore (but not the complete bikeway). The breakfasts were excellent and delicious, with a number of hot dishes every day, and a nice variety (not the exact same selections every morning). The location is the main reason I wanted to stay here in the first place, and I was not disappointed; walking distance throughout the town center of Woods Hole, including the Steamship Authority ferry to Martha's Vineyard. Being right in the town center, the street noise is sometimes loud, but you can't have it both ways; the location is so convenient. I definitely recommend Woods Hole Inn for Cape Cod visitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roobydoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our nine year old daughter chose the word "heavenly" to describe our stay at Woods Hole Inn. We loved our room, spacious, well decorated and super clean. Great accommodations with nice patios to enjoy a take out meal or a glass of Proseco! Miss Angela spoiled us with the most delicious breakfast of sweet and savories each morning and we enjoyed eating while taking in the waterfront view. All the staff were superfriendly and assisted us with mapping out our daily excursions! The Inn is centrally located, walking distance to the ferry and bus depot as well as many great restaurants and cafes, the Aquarium and the beach. Our family highly recommends Woods Hole Inn and are hoping to go back there again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsiehmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
5.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
12.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.2 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Inn

Property: Woods Hole Inn
Address: 28 Water St, P O Box 4, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Hole Inn is located across the street from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. With newly remodeled rooms and suites, award-winning modern decor and a killer breakfast, the Woods Hole Inn is a great place to start your Cape Cod vacation. From her perch over the harbor, the historic Inn offers water views, a broad porch lined with Kennedy rockers and a committment to eco-tourism. Stay GREEN by the deep BLUE sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Woods Hole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woods Hole Hotel Woods Hole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing