We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the last ferry”
Review of Woods Hole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woods Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Woods Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Missed the last ferry”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My bus got to the ferry late and I missed the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. It was late on a Thursday night. the Woods Hole Inn was a short walk and they couldn't have been nicer. There was a room available and I got a very good walk in rate. I hope to never be in this position again.... BUT if I ever miss the ferry again.... I'm going straight to the Woods Hole Inn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We love welcoming Islanders, and hope that over time Vineyarders will realize that we are a resource to the community. We have an after hours answering service and can take walk-ins until 10 pm, we offer to-go breakfasts for those catching the first ferry in the morning and parking right in the middle of Woods Hole making the morning ferry ride all that much easier.

Although no one wants to miss the ferry, we can take the sting out of it -- so when you miss the boat, don't "miss the boat"!

best -

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    105
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
121
437
55
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great breakfastes everyday. Staff out of the top drawer. A must do again
Found them to be helpful if someone had a special concern. they were willing to do what they Could to help. Rooms were good Size.all you could need is right there in walking distance. Would highly recommend and we are planning to go back as soon as possible. Great place to experience the true cape cod experience

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlfit4083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is a pleasure to serve the wonderful people who come visit Woods Hole and stay at the Inn. We hope to see you soon.

my best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Woods Hole Inn because of the location, and it really cannot be beat. It is steps to the Martha's Vineyard ferry & great restaurants. It's an easy drive to other Cape areas. The staff was welcoming and always helpful. Breakfast was outstanding every day. Our room, room 4, had an excellent water view and was clean and beautifully decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable. If we visit Cape Cod in the future we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We love welcoming people like you here to Woods Hole! See you soon I hope.

my best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was exactly what we wanted for our Martha's Vineyard/Woods Hole experience!! The staff was friendly & helpful beyond our expectations. Breakfast was outstanding! Everything (shopping, great places to eat, Ferry, & water views) was within walking distance. We would definitely recommend Woods Hole Inn and would stay here again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: We were in Rooms 5 & the Nobska Rooms - both were great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dianne -

It was a pleasure meeting you, and we so appreciate your kind comments here on TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you again soon in Woods Hole!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff and services at the Woods Hole Inn were excellent. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Because we wanted to get on an early morning ferry to Martha's Vineyard, the location was the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheldon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us.

We appreciate your calling out our central location, right across the street from the Martha's Vineyard ferry. We also want customers to know we can often arrange longer term parking (for our guests only, and based on availability) should you choose to leave your car behind while visiting Martha's Vineyard. Just call us to discuss this option.

Thanks again. We hope to see you soon!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Woods Hole Inn was just lovely, with a very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfasts were fragrantly awesome and delicious! We only wish the weather was better for us to borrow the bikes for a trip on the bike path.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I am so sorry the weather kept you from exploring the Shining Sea Bike Path with our free bikes! This is one of the most popular activities at the Woods Hole Inn, and many say this 11 mile "Rails to Trails" path with its incredible views of both Vineyard Sound and Buzzards Bay is the best in New England. We sure would love to have you back to check it out! Hope to see you soon.

sincerely,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A friend and I were in town to attend a wedding. The Woods Hole Inn was perfect for us. It's in a charming little town with great places to eat and get a drink literally across the street. I'm a runner, so easy access to the senic bike/running path was a real plus. All but one person at the Inn was super friendly and helpful. We felt welcome and comfortable and could come and go as we pleased. The bed was comfy. The breakfast was fantastic. It's so much nicer than staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sterlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments here, and five stars which we really appreciate!

I am so glad you got a chance to run on the Shining Sea Bike Path, with views to Martha's Vineyard from Surf Drive beach. Having that resource right at our front doorstep is a huge asset to our guests, and we are super thankful to the Town of Falmouth for converting the old railroad tracks and connecting our little village to the rest of Falmouth in such a green way.

I am glad you felt welcome, but please know that we strive for ALL staff interactions to be TOTALLY positive, so we appreciate this feedback and will use it in our staff meetings to review best practices.

Thank you for your comments!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#9 of 20 in Falmouth
648 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treehouse Lodge
Treehouse Lodge
#2 of 2 in Woods Hole
5 reviews
4.2 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Inn

Property: Woods Hole Inn
Address: 28 Water St, P O Box 4, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Hole Inn is located across the street from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. With newly remodeled rooms and suites, award-winning modern decor and a killer breakfast, the Woods Hole Inn is a great place to start your Cape Cod vacation. From her perch over the harbor, the historic Inn offers water views, a broad porch lined with Kennedy rockers and a committment to eco-tourism. Stay GREEN by the deep BLUE sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Woods Hole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woods Hole Hotel Woods Hole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing