We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service During Renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Woburn/Burlington
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Woburn
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga County, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Poor Service During Renovations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'm a Courtyard fan, and have stayed at this Courtyard two times before. However, this trip will be my last. The main problem is that this property is renovating their lobby and restaurant, and they decided to "hide" that fact from their customers. Knowing that reservations in this area can be hard to get at the last minute, especially at reasonable rates, I made my reservation here about two weeks ago. Then three days before my arrival, I get an e-mail announcing that their breakfast restaurant is closed due to the renovations.

When I complained about the short notice I was informed by the manager that there is an announcement on their web site. After some searching I did find the notice, right under the big photos of the lobby and restaurant that no longer exits, and just above the part of the web page that tells potential customers about their wonderful breakfast, including custom eggs, a service they do not provide during the renovation.

The hotel does have a "free" continental breakfast in a dingy room on the second floor, but there are few selections and some items are not properly refrigerated. Who thought this would be a reasonable substitute for the normal restaurant? Who decided to leave the old photos and descriptions on their web site so their customers would probably not find the notice about the renovations and lack of those pictured services until they had not other reasonable options? It's hard to believe these people are in the "hospitality" business. Next time I will choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have very noisy heating/AC units, so check the one in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highcountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig R, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Woburn/Burlington, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor communication you received regarding the renovations taking place and the changes taking place surrounding our breakfast at the time of your visit. Also, please pardon my delayed response to your review. While I am new to the property, it does not excuse the poor communication you experienced. Admittedly, changes to our website were not as timely as they should have been and misrepresented our offerings at the time. For this, I completely understand your frustration and I do apologize. Now that our renovation is complete and our website has been updated, I hope that you will give us another chance to provide the service you expect from Marriott. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with your reservation so that I can personally take care of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    89
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
50
46
10
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We had to stay there for more than a week. During the hurricane sandy we informed from the manager that we might evacuate the place due to the lack of generators . The linens need some update especially the towels and the comforters . They did not have a VCR player and they give you a device to plug in when you ask them and a collection of old video movies. Personnel polite .it was a good choice because it is close to winchester hospital where I had a surgery, otherwise there are not so much to do in the hotel or around.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

our sixth stay in this Marriott . as always easy parking, fast checkin and out, spacious rooms, excellent beds and linen, fine bathroom, and a great breakfast, simple , but lots of choice and super friendly cook making great omelets , eggs any style.
the ladies behind the reception are welcoming, service minded and genuine.
price for Boston standards is unbeatable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Baba1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Its a Courtyard, if you are staying here its not because of the excellent restaurant (it doesn't have one), massive gym (its tiny and basic) its because its cheap and clean and the WiFi is free. The Pub next door is the evening option for food if you don't want to go out and they are well set up to take an order and have it ready in 15 minutes so its a minor walk.

Best about this place though is the staff. Every time I've stayed they've been friendly and welcoming and more than happy to help.

Its a good Courtyard and if you are working in Woburn its a straight forward choice.

Room Tip: There aren't really any 'rooms with a view' in the hotel but I'd recommend asking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat62A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is not a large hotel, no indoor pool. So if you are looking for large hotel with in-house restaurant and pool this is not for you. Very quaint, friendly staff, and easy to get to. On more than one occasion I observed staff walking patrons to locations when they were lost. Customer service goes a long way! The rooms were decent size but VERY clean (I always look for a clean hotel). The front desk staff was very helpful in suggesting places to eat. Only downfall is no free continental breakfast, but you can get a hot breakfast for about $11 per person. There is not a restaurant on-site, but a good beer pub/restaurant next door. Very close to the highway, easy to get to. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfersDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We needed a room for one night,as we were attending a concert in Boston.We decided to try Woburn this time. What a treat! The hotel had a New England charm,the rooms were good- sized and super clean. The bathroom was absolutely spotless.The front desk people were very nice. The hotel itself is set apart from the other areas of town,surrounded by large pine trees,and had gaslight type street lamps. Very quiet.
Great stay!

Room Tip: great location ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, me
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were seeing the sights in Boston and decided to stay outside of the city. We got to the hotel before 12 noon. I did not know the check in time but our room was ready so we were able to get into our room. The room looks like the picture on the website. We asked for a fridge in the room. There is also a microwave in the room which we did use for leftovers from dinner. The sheets were soft, the pillows mushy (like all hotels). The room was clean except for one thing. After being in the room for about an hour I used the bathroom. I noticed on the floor under the shower curtain a few hairs. My family used the bathroom before me and they did not notice it. You had to move the shower curtain to see it. I don't think it was my family's hair. I can understand how this was missed since it was under the shower curtain. There was also one hair in the shower. The days following the room was cleaned to my satisfaction. This hotel has mostly business travelers. It was absolutely quiet during the day and the overnight hours. We heard a couple of doors close and a couple of people talking in the hallway and that was it. There was a nice living room with a computer and games. In the lobby by the front desk was a cooler of ice water with lemon/oranges slices, lemon-aid packets, and a bowl of apples. The ice water was very refreshing after walking the warm streets of Boston. The cooler was there all the time. The pool was nice and refreshing also. The had a small restaurant but chose not to eat there. They had a continental breakfast but at a $9 charge. Overall it was a good stay.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor over the restaurant looking out onto the pool/patio area. This was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woburn hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Boston Woburn/Boston North
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston Woburn
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Boston Woburn/Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn
1.0 mi away
Hilton Boston / Woburn
Hilton Boston / Woburn
#3 of 11 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston North-Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Woburn/Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Woburn/Burlington

Property: Courtyard Boston Woburn/Burlington
Address: 240 Mishawum Rd, Woburn, MA 01801-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Woburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Woburn
#3 Family Hotel in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Woburn/Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Boston Woburn/Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Woburn / Burlington Hotel Woburn
Courtyard Boston Woburn
Courtyard Woburn
Woburn Courtyard
Woburn Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing