We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing "Specials"”

Joe's American Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe's American Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 133 Restaurants in Woburn
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Washington
Description: Joe's American Bar & Grill was opened back in 1984. The concept is simple...serve fresh, homemade traditional American food at a reasonable price without compromising quality. We strive to have an elegant, yet casual feel that is welcoming to all.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nothing "Specials"”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have been a fan of "Joe's" for a number of years, especially their specials. They just re-did their menu. Really pared it down. I took two friends and wanted to 'show off' this restaurant. Surprise Surprise, No specials; No dinner specials, and the three entree's we ordered were nothing special either. I hope this ship rights itself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Bill,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit to Joe's!
I can appreciate your comments about not having any specials, but we wanted our guests to be able to enjoy the different items we have added to the menu. I would love to hear what some of your past favorite specials were and possibly have them submitted to be placed on an upcoming menu as we will be trying to do two menus a year (a fall winter, and a spring summer).
Thanks again for your feedback!
Gary Silver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    93
    53
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Burger craving”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our family went for an early dinner with an urge for burgers. The special BBQ burger was fantastic - the other two were cooked exactly to order and used fresh ingredients and were also very good. Service was efficient and friendly. Atmosphere is pub like but quiet. We really enjoyed this meal at Joe's - we've bee na few times over the past few years and the new menu update seems to taken their food quality up a notch.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dupetersentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you, so much for your great review! Its always nice to hear when someone appreciates all the hard work we put into making sure our guests enjoy themselves, and especially heartwarming to see when guests take time out of their day to let others know how much they enjoyed themselves here! We are going to be seasonally updating our menu from here on out so please come back often and check out some of the new dishes we are preparing!

Gary Silver
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

I ate here with a colleague while traveling on business.

We were staying at the adjacent Hampton Inn, so we received a 10% discount.

Service was good, and the ambience is above average.

I started with the crab cakes, which were tasty. I had the rib eye, which was nicely marbled and cooked the way I ordered it. My colleague's ribeye wasn't cooked the way he ordered it, but our server replaced it cheerfully and quickly.

The wine by the glass seems a little overpriced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ARWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review of my restaurant! I'm glad you were able to enjoy a discount while staying at the neighboring hotel, and that you enjoyed your experience here. We do make it a point to make sure we go out of our way to correct any mistakes we may make, and certainly happy to see that our high standards in training saved the day for your colleagues meal! I hope next time you are visiting the area you will make another stop in for a great meal.

Gary Silver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick Dinner, but great”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stopped by for a quick late evening dinner when by brother was in town and the service was quick and friendly. Warm crusty bread was served right away and we both order the Honey Chicken Salad with grilled,angel hair pasta, wontons, tomatoes, sesame seeds and honey mustard dressing. It was perfect for a lighter meal, but actually quite big and delicious. We've been to this restaurant before and have always had good service and above average food quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BertaAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soundslikeG, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thanks for stopping in again during your stay! We certainly appreciate your patronage and your kind words on here! Hopefully will we see you again on your next trip up!

Enjoy your holiday season and come back to Boston soon!!!

Gary Silver
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Pricey... small portions”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Well, times they are a'changin. Been here on previous trips and was exited to go back but... the food portions are getting smaller and so are the glasses of wine. Understand its belt tightening times for all but smaller portions, and wine pours below the "J" logo are not really necessary, are they? As I said, times have changed!! Its too bad : ( When in town, I'll find somewhere else to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alps110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soundslikeG, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
I am sorry to see your visit wasn't up to your expectations! I wish we could have fixed things for you during your visit, because we haven't changed portion sizes on any dishes and beverages at all. As you have been a guest of ours before you know we serve only high quality product and aim for exceptional service for our prices. Hopefully on your next trip up to the Boston area you will choose to dine with us again.

Gary Silver
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's American Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joe's American Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing